Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Salad

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2004

      i haven't made this yet, but tasted it this last week when my aunt made it, she used catalina dressing and it was wonderful. she told me she has also made it using ranch and salsa mixed together instead of catalina dressing and was good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      We have made several versions of this from various recipes on recipezaar. We like this one because it is easy to add extras with little change. We like to add a diced avacado, a can of kidney beans, and salsa in place of chopped tomatoes for extra convenience! We also sometimes make tortilla bowls by microwaving flour tortillas instead of using Doritos. Whole family loves this salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      This was pretty yummy and very easy for a nice one dish meal. I am not a big fan of Thousand Island dressing and thought it was OK in this recipe (but I am very picky about dressings). I only put half a bottle in and thought it was still a bit too much. I did use fritos instead of the doritos because my daughter and I have a milk allergy and of course omitted the cheese. I added olives and sliced avocado. My husband added cheese and sour cream to his. I will make again, but will use a different dressing. Oh, I actually recommend adding the fritos right BEFORE the meat because they absorb the taco sauce and blend in better texture-wise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      My husband made this for dinner one night and it was a huge hit! He said his mom made something similar when he was younger. I was a bit skeptical about the thousand island dressing until I tasted it- WOW! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      loved this. I didn't have any store bought thousand island dressing in my fridge so I found a recipee off recipezaar and made it from scratch. It was delicious. (By the way I'm making all my 1000 island from scratch from now on. Unbelievably better and cheaper than store bought)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      I have to agree on this one. I was also a little skeptical about what it would taste like with the 1000 Island dressing, but it all tasted great together! We used sharp cheddar cheese with this because we prefer the taste, Very good recipe, thanks Jill!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2003

      This is THE BEST taco salad I have ever had. I was a little skeptical about what it would taste like at first with the 1000 Island dressing. But it turned out delicious! It was also very easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      This is a very good salad recipe. I made it for DD's slumber party and we all enjoyed it vary much. I used taco doritos instead of Nacho but otherwise followed the directions. Thankyou for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I used to make this recipe years ago. Great for potlucks! The only thing different is that I used creamy Caesar salad dressing...it is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      This is a 4.5 star recipe because of the mixed reviews from my family. One son thought it was awesome, others "good." I didn't deviate from the recipe except: I used monterey jack cheese and grape tomatoes, and I put the doritos under the meat, as well as used less than a bottle of dressing. This recipe could be improved by giving the sizes of the bag of Doritos, the dressing and a measurement for the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I made this for an impromptu dinner for family and it was a BIG hit. Thanks so much. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

    • on June 11, 2008

      This was great. I added a can of ranch style beans. So easy to make and the family loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Love this salad. I add 1 T of the taco seasoning in with the Thousand Island, and I also add green papers and black olives to the salad. Yummmm.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      This is exactly how to make taco salad! I love this and so do my children. To switch it up sometimes I use refried beans and sour cream and black olives. But the Doritos are what really give it its crunch! THANKS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Very yummy. Sometimes I use ranch dressing instead of thousand island.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Mom you know I love your Taco Salad!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This is a great recipe. My mother has made this as long as I can remember..it was one of our favorites for BBQ's. The only difference is that she uses an Italian dressing instead of thousand island...but the rest is exactly the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      I've been making a similar recipe for years with great sucess. The difference is, I omit the onion and instead of thousand island, I use half a can of spicy Mexican tomato paste and three spoons of mayo. YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I adore this! Many years ago when I was nursing one of the girls on my shift brought it in and I was hooked! I lost the recipe for many years and thank you for posting exactly what I have been looking for. A HUGE KEEPER! Just as a by the way, Ms HB, I do not appreciate those who wish to alter a recipe for themsleves( fine by me) but then presume to tell me or others how to completely 'remake' something to suit your tastes, simply because you don't like the recipe. Honest reviews are one thing and complete overhaul 'suggestions' quite another. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (564 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1021.4
     
    Calories from Fat 613
    60%
    Total Fat 68.1 g
    104%
    Saturated Fat 26.6 g
    133%
    Cholesterol 308.4 mg
    102%
    Sodium 302.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 85.3 g
    170%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    garden salad

    nacho cheese flavor Doritos

    thousand island dressing

    taco seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes