32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i havent made this yet but plan to -- my kids will love these! Just a tip on cutting the rolled dough -- I use Dental floss to cut the soft dough when I make cinnamon rolls. You take a long piece, slide it under the roll to the thickness you want to cut, then cross the ends above the roll and pull quickly but firmly keeping the ends crossed -- and it will slice without all the mess and squishing!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brenda_v44 September 08, 2010

Just a tip, best way to cut the rolled dough is by placing thread or dental floss underneath, bringing them around to the top and crossing them. Quick, easy, and clean.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noletsgirl September 16, 2010

I thought these were great! I used Taco Seasoning Taco Seasoning instead of the packet. The only thing I would caution - I used the Pillsbury refrigerated dough, since I couldn't find the frozen kind, and I would highly suggest cooling the meat completely before trying to put onto dough and roll. Other than that, I thought this was a great recipe! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bug'sMom December 30, 2008

These are really good! Inspired by another reviewer, I mixed about 4 oz of cream cheese with 1 tablespoon of sour cream and slathered that on as the first layer before adding the beef. I think next time I may double that amount. I had to freeze the jellyrolls for about 30 minutes before I could neatly slice them. My husband and I made lunch out of these rolls, serving them with sour cream and salsa. We still have plenty left for later! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistydisa October 16, 2009

DELISH! I used ground turkey, low fat cheese, and pizza dough. The taco seasoning was "Taco Bell: Chipotle Flavor" which I think made a huge difference. This was soooooooooo good. DH kept going back for more and more. We loved it! We froze the rest and are looking forward to snacking on them later. Thank you so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ October 11, 2009

These were really great! I'm a working Mom (like many of us!) so I need something that is pretty quick to pull together on a weeknight. These were super easy to make and it yields way more than a regular taco kit does, the beef mixture really goes far. I used the frozen pizza dough (from Sobeys). I served them with chopped tomato, shredded lettuce, salsa, sour cream and some guacamole. We just topped them as we pleased. My daughter took them in her lunch the next day -- perfect for the lunchbox! I knew I had some leftovers, went in the fridge to get them for leftover night and they had disappeared! The kids ate them after school for snack! A quick reheat in the microwave for a few seconds was all they needed. For sure will make these again. They look to freeze well .. if you have any leftover that is! Really excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deena W. January 18, 2015

I made this using some leftover pork tenderloin I had. I diced up the tenderloin and sprinkled a packet of taco seasoning on it then browned it in a skillet. I also used Pillsbury Thin Crust Refrigerated Pizza dough as my dough base. I just sprinkled on the pork, then topped with cheese. After rolling it up, I brushed it with an egg wash and left it whole to bake. It baked up very nice and sliced easily. I served it with some shredded lettuce, tomato and salsa. Even my picky 6 year old ate it up! This was quick to put together and would be great served as an appetizer too! I've already been dreaming up new combinations to make with this recipe. Thanks for sharing it. It's a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loricrenshaw October 05, 2010

Excellent! We loved this. I used the wrong kind of bread dough and it was difficult to work with. But OH MY GOSH these were tasty. I added cream cheese as the bottom layer before adding the meat and cheese and it was tasty. Next time I'm going to add more cream cheese, and a bit more garlic to the beef mixture. Very yummy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SargesMom February 14, 2009

Loved these! Great with sour cream and salsa. Thanks for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lolliegirl February 09, 2009

This is so good and easy to do. I used the tubes of ready made bread stick dough. It actually made it quite easy to slice them once it was rolled. Followed other reviews suggestions to cool the meat before placing it on the dough and this worked really well. Took them to work and had both gals I work for ask for the recipe and then tell me that both their families loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiggrr February 08, 2009
Taco Roll-Ups - OAMC