60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Laudee, This was really good!!! I love mexican food better than any other! This was really good with a salad & some refried beans. Thanks for the great recipe. Darlene Summers

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers October 27, 2002

Nothing but pluses for this one. Doesn’t get any easier and quicker than browning some beef and opening a couple of cans. Except for the refried beans, that is – I used Di Neal’s refried beans, having vowed never to buy canned again. And what an unusual but absolutely delightful combination of green enchilada sauce and mushroom soup – whoda thunkit? I was doing the happy dance at the store when I found that Campbell’s now has a reduced-sodium version of their ‘shroom soup. The only thing I added were some chopped caramelized onions to the meat mixture and a little cumin for seasoning, simply because I was using all low-sodium or sodium free ingredients; and at the very end of the baking time, I put the dish under the broiler for just a few minutes to get a few of those lovely little brown bits on the bubbling cheese. Went back for seconds, so we did. You really ought to try these.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® June 30, 2003

I have two picky eaters...a 7 year old and a 10 year old. It's hard to find meals that both my children and my husband and I all agree on. When I set these on the table my kids were skeptical because of the green sauce (we're red sauce eaters) and my daughter saw that I had used a can of cream of mushroom soup in them. They reluctantly tried them, then went on to eat an entire burrito each. Both my husband and I also liked them, so this goes down as one of the rare recipes that will please my entire family. The recipe doesn't mention which size tortillas to use so I used the burrito size and came out with 7 burritos total. I also used reduced fat mexican cheese blend instead of monterey jack and cheddar. If you have picky eaters that enjoy ground beef, I would definitely give this a try. QUICK and tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanny California October 02, 2008

These were really good. I added some chopped onion and chopped chipolte peppers to the meat filling, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This made a lot for just two people, so I sent about half of it to my Mom's and she loved it too, and requested the recipe. Great dish here, that is simple to make, and a nice change from a regular weeknight dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty March 10, 2004

Very good recipe! I have to echo Miller on the unusual but truly delightful combination of mushroom soup and green enchilada sauce. I was surprised! The only thing I did differently was adding the onions to cook along with the ground beef. I think I might try the mushroom soup & green enchilada sauce mixture to top some chicken enchiladas. Sounds good to me!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas July 04, 2003

Hi Laudee. This is a wonderful dish and we love the sauce!!!! It's a simple dish to make and oh so flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing this. A copy is now in my "keeper" notebook. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot December 17, 2002

I've made this a couple of times, its easy and we like it. All the tastes of Mexican food that we like. I use red enchilada sauce, because I'm afraid of the green, why?, I don't know. It's Good stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berly333 January 18, 2010

This was very good. I used 8 tortillas but I think 12 would have been better. Other than being a little bit to saucy this was very good. I served with spanish rice and corn. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adena mangis July 14, 2009

Was bland for us. If I made this again, I'd add some taco seasoning mix to the meat/bean mixture, or possible some salsa. We had to add a lot of toppings to make this taste better. I give it 3 stars because it is easy to make, directions were written well & kids might like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet December 21, 2008

Dh gave it a 5; dd gave it a 3 because it was too spicy for her. We settled on a solid 4. Made a few changes; added S&P, minced dried onions, a bit of chili powder, cumin and oregano to meat. For the sauce to cut down on the spiciness, I used one can of green enchilada sauce, mixed it with mushroom soup and added a soup can of water and mixed well. We'll make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TransplantedHusker September 23, 2008
Taco Ritos