Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Ritos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Ritos

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2002

      Laudee, This was really good!!! I love mexican food better than any other! This was really good with a salad & some refried beans. Thanks for the great recipe. Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      Nothing but pluses for this one. Doesn’t get any easier and quicker than browning some beef and opening a couple of cans. Except for the refried beans, that is – I used Di Neal’s refried beans, having vowed never to buy canned again. And what an unusual but absolutely delightful combination of green enchilada sauce and mushroom soup – whoda thunkit? I was doing the happy dance at the store when I found that Campbell’s now has a reduced-sodium version of their ‘shroom soup. The only thing I added were some chopped caramelized onions to the meat mixture and a little cumin for seasoning, simply because I was using all low-sodium or sodium free ingredients; and at the very end of the baking time, I put the dish under the broiler for just a few minutes to get a few of those lovely little brown bits on the bubbling cheese. Went back for seconds, so we did. You really ought to try these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2004

      These were really good. I added some chopped onion and chopped chipolte peppers to the meat filling, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This made a lot for just two people, so I sent about half of it to my Mom's and she loved it too, and requested the recipe. Great dish here, that is simple to make, and a nice change from a regular weeknight dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      Very good recipe! I have to echo Miller on the unusual but truly delightful combination of mushroom soup and green enchilada sauce. I was surprised! The only thing I did differently was adding the onions to cook along with the ground beef. I think I might try the mushroom soup & green enchilada sauce mixture to top some chicken enchiladas. Sounds good to me!! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      Hi Laudee. This is a wonderful dish and we love the sauce!!!! It's a simple dish to make and oh so flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing this. A copy is now in my "keeper" notebook. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      I've made this a couple of times, its easy and we like it. All the tastes of Mexican food that we like. I use red enchilada sauce, because I'm afraid of the green, why?, I don't know. It's Good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      This was very good. I used 8 tortillas but I think 12 would have been better. Other than being a little bit to saucy this was very good. I served with spanish rice and corn. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Was bland for us. If I made this again, I'd add some taco seasoning mix to the meat/bean mixture, or possible some salsa. We had to add a lot of toppings to make this taste better. I give it 3 stars because it is easy to make, directions were written well & kids might like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      I have two picky eaters...a 7 year old and a 10 year old. It's hard to find meals that both my children and my husband and I all agree on. When I set these on the table my kids were skeptical because of the green sauce (we're red sauce eaters) and my daughter saw that I had used a can of cream of mushroom soup in them. They reluctantly tried them, then went on to eat an entire burrito each. Both my husband and I also liked them, so this goes down as one of the rare recipes that will please my entire family. The recipe doesn't mention which size tortillas to use so I used the burrito size and came out with 7 burritos total. I also used reduced fat mexican cheese blend instead of monterey jack and cheddar. If you have picky eaters that enjoy ground beef, I would definitely give this a try. QUICK and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Dh gave it a 5; dd gave it a 3 because it was too spicy for her. We settled on a solid 4. Made a few changes; added S&P, minced dried onions, a bit of chili powder, cumin and oregano to meat. For the sauce to cut down on the spiciness, I used one can of green enchilada sauce, mixed it with mushroom soup and added a soup can of water and mixed well. We'll make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      This was a real hit with my kids! If I make them again, I would definitely use about 1/3 - 1/2 the sauce you pour over the top, otherwise it is just too soggy for my preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      This was good, Laudee. I made it exactly as written and then I had a ready made Fiesta dip with sour cream, gaucamole, black olives, cheese etc. so I just spooned that over it, it was delicious !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I've made these twice now. We love them! They are a quick and easy dinner to make when I get home from work. Leftovers taste great the next day too! Thanks Laudee for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This was really good. I halved the enchilada sauce mixture, and I thought it was more than enough sauce. I made it in a square pan (about 9x9). I made 8 tacos, but had meat leftover. They were just a smidge too spicy for my younger kids, but I really liked it. I didn't use the amount of cheeses specified, just enough to cover my tacos. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      DH Approved! (that's HUGE!) He said he liked it better than tacos! Great Man-food. I made as directed, with the exception of adding the onion to the ground beef before browning, and I doubled everything except the sauce. I have plenty for leftovers, and am looking forward to having it again tonight! I Topped with Pico De Gallo, Sour Cream, and Black Olives. The only thing I might change, is next time I want to try baking these without the sauce, warming the sauce up, and pouring it over the top, and then adding the cheese. I think I might achieve the firmer, crispier texture I find myself looking for. I'll update my review once I have tried it. Thanks for posting what is sure to become a regular meal around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      I have made these several times over the last year. Since it is just my husband and I, I divide the batch in half and freeze half for a latter date. Usually I thaw it before putting it in the oven. If you are going to freeze half or all, you need to make the amount of sauce recommended so that the tortillas are completely covered and protected once frozen. I season the beef with taco seasoning and I like it that way. Great recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      We had this tonight and it was very good. The only thing I'm planning to change next time is to halve the sauce, as it was pretty soupy. Other than that, it was easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Really easy recipe to throw together if you have all the ingredients at hand...I browned my ground beef (90/10) and added some dried minced onion to it ( too lazy to dirty up a chopping board). Added in a can of FF refried beans and thought it tasted a little bland but did not add anything to it. I rolled 8 tortillas and filled my casserole dish just perfectly. I only had 1 can of green enchilada sauce so I mixed it with 1/2 can of the condensed soup. That was the perfect amount of sauce for us. Two cans would have really made it too soupy... I baked it for 20 minutes and broiled for 5 minutes to brown up the cheese just a bit. When baked all together, it tastes wonderful! I am glad I did not season the beef/bean mixture at the beginning. I did end up with about 1/2 c of that mixture leftover, but had it on some soft tortillas today for lunch!!! A little salty b/c of the condensed soup but I might try substituting my own next time and see how it turns out... Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      It was good as is- but if I were to make it again I would modify it to our families liking..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I pretty much followed this as a guide, I made a couple of changes. I added 2 cloves fresh pressed garlic, about 1/2 teaspoon cumin, 1/2 teaspoon Adobo seasoning, 1/2 teaspoon chili powder and 1/2 chopped onion to the meat as it browned. I did not add the cream of mushroom soup (did not have any) and only had red enchilada sauce in the house only used 1 can over top and mexican blend cheese. Baked at 350 for 30 minutes. Wonderful recipe!!! Defintely will make again and again....talk about YUMMO we all enjoyed this very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Ritos

    Serving Size: 1 (754 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1037.2
     
    Calories from Fat 446
    43%
    Total Fat 49.5 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 21.6 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 131.9 mg
    43%
    Sodium 3477.7 mg
    144%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.3 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 51.5 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites