Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Rice

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2013

      This is a good base recipe to start from if you're looking for a delicious vegetarian taco filling.

      To start, cook the two cups of rice. There's a perfect recipe for cooking brown rice here (http://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Perfect-Brown-Rice) that makes it come out perfect every time.

      The recipe is on the bland side, so to make it taste delicious I saute my onions with a can of diced chile peppers (4.25 oz) and an 11 oz. can of Green Giant white chipotle corn (or you can use Mexicorn) and add that into the cooked rice along with the taco seasoning and a can of salsa (16 oz) instead of the diced tomatoes. I also add about 4 oz of Taco Sauce and a can of black beans (rinsed) instead of beef. I use about 1 cup of cheese instead of two. You won't need to simmer it, but I put it in a dish and throw it in the oven to keep it warm. The changes make this recipe delicious when it's otherwise on the bland side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      This was fabulous! I added a can of refried beans to mine and ate it wrapped up in warm flour tortillas with a little cheese. I'd really like this on lettuce as a taco salad too. Great recipe - easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I tripled this to put in the freezer. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't use the onion and I used crushed tomoatoes instead of diced. I used brown rice and mexican blend cheese. I took some for lunch today and it reheated nicely. I liked some of the other reviewers ideas and will try this with nachos and in a wrap. I froze in 2 cup containers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Turned out great. I added a little more meat and had it as a main course for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      great stuff quick to make and deliscous

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      It was ok i had to add some salsa to it though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      I made this for supper last night. This was actually very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      My husband and I ate this wrapped up in tortillas. It was delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      This is delicious. I always make rice this way. Love that taco seasoning packet! Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      I tried this for luch one day and it was great. I used salsa instead og tomatoes and we wrapped them in tortillas. They were very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2004

      This was well received by my family (even Lyndsay, the FUSSY one). I used basmati rice and PC Taco seasoning. The next day it wrapped well in a tortillia shell. Next time I make it I'm planning on using brown rice and maybe adding green pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      I made this because I had some left over taco meat (approximately 3/4 pound). It was too much to throw out but not enough to feed my crew. It was a great way to use up the leftovers served with a salad and Doritos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2003

      I serve this over tortilla or corn chips with extra salsa available. Easy quick week day meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2002

      I used Uncle Ben's brown rice and didn't use cheese (forgot). I also boiled the beef as mentioned in the intro to the recipe and ate it like a burrito. I found this quite tasty and my husband enjoyed this as well. It is similar to a burrito a regional mexican fast food chain (Taco Mayo) makes. I'm seriously thinking about making this again with chicken. Fairly simple to make and good to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Brown Rice Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 566.8
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    38%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 90.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 293.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco seasoning mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites