Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Pie

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2002

      Shari, thank you for a wonderful recipe. this was just too easy to make. The only substitutions that I made were to use reduced fat biscuits and reduced fat cheese. Ohter than that I followed the directions to a T. My family is very picky and they loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      I followed the directions as written and ended up with a doughy mess.<br/>I would suggest pre baking the crust before adding the meat mixture.<br/> Then return it to the oven to melt the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Yum! This was really good. I made it exactly as directed except I used a colby jack cheese blend in place of the cheddar. My hubby and son enjoyed it very much, and so did I. Looking forward to left overs tomorrow for lunch! We will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      My PAC baby, Shari!! You were sooo good to us tonight!! LOL! My bf hardly ever, ever gives out five stars!! I set this in front of him and he said it smelled yummy. Then shortly after I asked him what he thought, and his tone of voice was very obvious as he exclaimed 'It's actually really yummy!', then when I asked him how many stars he said 'OHH 5 stars!' A seriously good compliment from him, as he just isn't fond of providing feedback. For this recipe, I estimated the 15oz of ground turkey from my 1.25lb package (saving the rest for spaghetti night), used half an onion, chopped and half a green pepper, chopped (saved the rest for spaghetti night), I added a dash of worcesteshire sauce and black pepper to the turkey while browning, replaced the beef boullion/water with 3/4 cup chicken broth, used the tomato paste as directed, and used half a package of McCormick Hot Taco seasoning, and half a package of McCormic regular taco seasoning. I was worried this would be too tomatoey, it was perfect!! Bf got half of this with Mexican blend real cheese, I used Cheddar flavor Almond cheese. I baked 10 mins with his cheese on his half, then added mine, for the next 5 mins since I didn't want the almond cheese to burn. I used buttermilk biscuits. This was not completely friendly to my IBS diet, but was very close, and extremely tasty. I don't think there will be leftovers for my lunch! The green pepper and onions were crisp-tender, the bake time perfectly browned and cooked the biscuits through. Obviously this is a keeper!! Made for Spring PAC 2008. Thanks again, Shari2, so glad you shared this with us, was quick and easy too. I agree with one of the other reviewers; it's great to use a whole 6oz can of tomato paste in one recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      This was a great recipe...although I did modify the sauce/toppings quite a bit based on my family's tastes ;-) I replaced the tomato paste, water and taco seasoning with spaghetti sauce and italian seasoning. I also used mozzarella cheese. It was so delicious and easy! Thanks for posting Shari! This is going into my regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      So simple & so good!! I used what I had on hand -reduced fat Grand's biscuits, hot taco seasoning & Queso Fresco for the cheese. Even DH, the original non-casserole eater loved it! And small things make me happy - a recipe that uses the WHOLE can of tomato paste! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      Wow! The only way to describe this is: a Taco Flavored Pizza Dumpling Pie! It's like all of my favorite foods wrapped up into one dish! It's so easy, too! I think you meant to use the regular sized biscuits but we went all out and used the grands ones. Instead of bouillon and water I used beef stock. I also used 1.25 lbs of ground turkey and spread the whole thing out into a glass casserole dish. We loved this. Keep the great recipes coming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      This was excellent. I had to make my own biscuit dough as we can't get the refrigerated ones over here. I also made my own taco seasoning as I didn't have any in the house, no matter it went together easily and tasted fabulous! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      Fantastic. Hubby asked for more after he took the first bite. Great menu item for weekday dinner. I did make a couple of changes. I used extra lean ground beef (hubby went to store with me) and I doubled the amount of onions and bell peppers. Really made a nice looking pie. I should have taken a picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      I'm not sure I can give the original recipe a star rating because I changed it quite a bit, but I wanted to give credit where credit was due. Instead of biscuits, I used crescent rolls, unrolled and fit in the pan to make the crust. I also substituted beef for the turkey and omitted the beef bouillon. I did really like the idea of using tomato paste; it certainly added quite a bit of flavour. Thanks for a very flexible recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      Shari, How very good this is!!! And it was so simple and easy to make too.The only thing I did different was to use hamburger instead of the ground turkey (my husband doesn't like the turkey) This was great!!! Thanks Shari, Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.9
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    49%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 64.3 mg
    21%
    Sodium 711.5 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes