Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Meat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Meat

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2009

      Very good recipe for Taco meat. I threw the spices and flour into Food Saver bag and mixed. Put the water in the pan and cooked. Very easy. I may add some red pepper flakes for spice, but very good as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This is the only recipe I use now for taco meat. I found this on the Top Secret recipe site for Taco Bell's taco meat. The water makes the texture perfect. I like to throw the ingred into a zipper bag to mix, then add to the water. Less mess. Thanks for posting it here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      MMM..MMM...good. Had some cooked left over ground beef in the freezer. Warmed up the ground beef in a pan....added the water and the spices(uses hot paprika for some heat)....added beaten eggs,cooked till set.Warmed flour tortillas on a griddle...filled tortillas with egg/beef mixture...tomatoes..salsa and sour cream. Thanks for the great..simple and tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      i made this the day before to take to work. i put it in a crock pot the next day so it would be ready for lunch. i used 97% lean meat and thought it might be a litttle dry, but it turned out perfectly. even with all of the food everyone else brought, it was all gone. this will be my taco meat from now on. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Great recipe. I have used it often for home and when we have taco day at work. Everyone wants me to bring the taco meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Wow! I have never made taco meat before, and this recipe was exactly what we were craving! It had the perfect seasoning and texture. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I wille never buy that heartburn pre made package of taco seasoning again! This was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This was very quick and easy and made pretty good taco meat. I did bump the seasonings a bit and added a little cayenne to add more flavor. Next time I'll also cut back on the flour some - it seemed to make the meat a little dry. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

    • on August 04, 2008

      Great, non-sloppy taco meat. Used in Mini Tacos (#74301) as a successful appetizer at a recent party as well as in taco salads. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      I tripled the recipe and froze in packets. Very good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      This was a good taco meat. We all enjoyed it and as another reviewer said, it wasn't as sloppy. The meat stayed in the shell(which was good for my 5 yr old). I will continue to use this as my taco recipe since it wasn't as salty as those store bought pkgs. Thank you.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      This was really Good! Taco Meat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Tried this with a large group over for fractured tacos (used fritos and white corn chips). I copied the recipe in a hurry and didn't write down directions, so I just cooked it by first frying the hamburger and pouring off grease, then adding all the other ingredients and cooked it several hours in a crockpot to blend the flavors. I tripled the recipe and cut back on the flour to a heaping 1/4 cup, added fresh garlic...otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was very good. Nice way to make tacos for a large group.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I was getting tired of using the taco seasoning packets b/c of all of the sodium, so I gave this a try this evening and was very impressed with the flavor and consistency of the meat. I did make a couple of changes by reducing the amount of flour to about 1/8 cup, and added about 1/8 teaspoon of ground red cayenne for some more heat. I also reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Husband and 2 year old ate it up and I felt it was much healthier for them than store bought taco seasoning packets!! Thanks CrystalA!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Now that's really good! I doubled the recipe and used 2 lbs. of bison meat. However, I only used 1 teaspoon of salt. For some reason, I thought the 1 teaspoon of salt tasted like it was possibly almost too much even though I doubled the recipe otherwise. Maybe it had to do with the kind of salt I used: the Himalayan Salt. Anyway, this is an excellent recipe that I plan to continue using! Yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      Nice. Since these ingredients are all items we stock anyway, there's never a need to buy taco mix again. I think I would add a little more chili powder but that's just for my taste. I was especially impressed that the consistency was similar to when you buy tacos out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      I usually buy McCormick's taco seasoning in a pouch, but forgot it this week and tacos were on the menu! This was a good substitute. I thought it would be spicy, but it really wasn't. The flavor was good...great for kids, and so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Yum! We used this for our nacho bar at the hubby's 30th b-day bash. It has great flavor, and was easy to put together. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      This was very good. I liked the texture and the meat stayed moist. I might try with a little less flour next time to help cut carbs. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Meat

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.9
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    56%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 690.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes