Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Meat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Meat

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2011

      Oh my, this turned out to be the best taco meat ever! Yes, brown the meat first. if you don't and mix the spices and flour into the meat before hand, it is hard to know when the meat is done cooking. Also, I would cut back by 1/2 on the flour and I added Worcestershire Sauce because I love that in my taco meat. Make a bunch cuz it is even better on day 2! I will be visiting my daughter in law this summer and, as tacos are my sons favorite meal, I will be taking a jar of the mix as a gift.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      We love this taco meat! I triple the recipe and use ground turkey. Also, I cook the meat first, drain off the fat, then add the seasonings. I've made it as written before and having the fat in there was just a bit to gross for me. Also unhealthy. I love the combination of the spices, though! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2003

      Crystal, This is a great recipe,we tried it the other night,and loved the way the meat stuck together,it wasn't as sloppy as taco's usually are but it had the good Mexicn flavor it should have too. Thanks we will absolutely use this recipe every time we make taco's Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      This was the first time I have ever made Taco Meat without using those awful seasoning packets. This was absolutely wonderful. Just the smell of all those seasonings had my mouth watering. And the flavor is the best. I used ground chuck so there was very little fat, and I doubled the receipe because I was making a very large batch for a fundraising luncheon. And what made it even better is that I had EVERY seasoning in my spice rack already. This is great! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This was great stuff...soooo much better than when you use that nasty taco seasoning from the store. Our new go-to taco seasoning. Wouldn't change a thing. Just perfect. Enough spice to make the adults happy but not too much for the kids. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      we ended up with a mushy mess. I am sure it was something I did, but the result wasn't edible. Sorry -- glad others liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2006

      This is really good. I browned the ground beef first, and drained the grease off. I used only 1/8 cup flour, and blended the seasonings with the water, then added it to the pan. This is as good as the packaged seasoning mixes. It also definitely was more convenient than having to go to the store for a package of taco seasoning. Thank you for such a good & easy recipe. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2003

      This had a wonderful texture and flavor for taco meat. I used 97% lean beef, half whole wheat and enriched white flour and heaped up on the chili powder. I am going to try next time to cook the meat separate and drain to cut down on the fat... I'll let you know how it turns out. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      Trying to get away from store bought prepackaged seasonings. Made this last night and it was great! Will be using again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      Very good flavor. I won't be buying those taco packets anymore that is for sure. I did what others mentioned....I browned the meat first, drained the fat, then added the flour, water and seasonings, and I also halved the flour. Next time, I'll half the salt too. It was too much salt for my personal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      This turned out to be the worst meal I have ever eaten. Honestly I don't think it would've been as bad if there wasn't so much flour. It gave it a strange texture and an under cooked feel to the meat. Maybe with some alterations to the quantity of each ingredient this could be a meal I would recommend. I might mess around with it a little myself and see if I can make some alterations that would make the recipe into something my family would enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      Made this exactly as written and my whole family loved it. The texture/consistency was the best - it turned out much better than when I make taco meat using the packets they sell at the store. Thanks for posting the recipe. This one is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      This is best taco meat recipe. There are some reviews that say to brown first. This will not yield a restaurant quality product. The method in the recipe results in smooth mixture that clumps together well and won't fall out of the taco shells. I've tried lots of recipes and techniques to obtain restaurant style ground meat. This nails it. That and I love ethnic food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      Excellent recipe and unusual. I give it a 5 star, as this is a "keeper" in my recipe collection and plan to use it at least once per week. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      This is a pretty good recipe but I would make a few minor changes (that others have also already mentioned). Cut the flour by probably a half as it gives it a strange texture that might turn off guests that don't understand why its so thick (although it does prevent the meat from falling out). Also if you want it to taste closer to a store bought package of taco sauce crank up the cumin and chili powder otherwise you may complain its a bit land compared to say Old El Paso or McCormick's taco meat seasoning. Thats the great part about making it yourself you can flavor to taste versus prepacked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      Just made a large (5 lb.) batch of this as my mom has requested a Mexican meal for Mother's Day this weekend. I am going to freeze it and reheat in crockpot, adding a little water as it came out pretty thick. I didn't read the reviews like I usually do or I would have cut the flour by 1/2. The flavor is great, anyone who wants it spicier can pile on the hot sauce and jalapenos! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      This was OK. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used left over roast beef. It had way too much flour, and I will probably not use any at all next time. I kept having to add water to it because it turned to glue. Because of that, I had to add more seasonings to get some flavor because it got diluted with the water that I had to add. The seasonings were good, but the whole process left a lot to be desired for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      This is the best recipe I've found. I did make a few mods for our family. I omitted the flour (gluten allergy) and I add maybe a tablespoom of tomato paste, then cook it all in well. I've taken to making large batches in the slow cooker, then freezing the unused part in bags to make taco nights convenient indeed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      This was very good. I froze leftovers and will see how it reheats. Thanks for posting CrystalA.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      This was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Meat

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.9
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    56%
    Total Fat 17.4 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 690.5 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites