Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Meat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Meat

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2003

      Easy-peasy and just like the real thing. Good stuff- thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Very good, used in Mexican pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I love this recipe. I cook for my husband, 2 yr old daughter and my father, all of which have completely different tastes. This is a great dish that is easy to make and even easier to adapt to my families taste. I do add cumin for a little extra flavor but other than that we love the texture and moistness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I thought this recipe was great!!! I have to double the recipe though because I feed 5 people usually with it. I don't double the chili powder because it's a little too spicy for the little ones :-) Plus, we use venison so I do add a little veggie oil to it so it doesn't end up too dry. Absolutely delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I used a full pound of meat so I doubled all the ingredients (except for the flour and salt)... I liked the texture of the meat with the addition of the flour... it really allows the meat to crumble into smaller pieces rather than chunks... I thought it was quite salty but that is easily remedied... and would add in some cayenne pepper next time for some kick... Otherwise, it was really easy to throw together and my BF really enjoyed his soft tacos with this meaty filling... Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I found this recipe about a year ago when I started cooking Sunday supper for our children's church. When I make it, I use 6-8 pounds of meat and always run out. The kids always ask where I bought the tacos. We use warm flour tortillas with cheese and salsa. The adults use it to make taco salad. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2005

      I usually make taco meat with a taco seasoning packet (where you brown the meat first, then add seasoning and water). I decided to give this recipe a try because my boyfriend doesn't like taco seasoning. I was disappointed... it was extremely bland. I guess I like my tacos a lot spicier. What I did like was the texture of the meat... it was smoother and less chunky. So I'm thinking next time I will follow the cooking instructions for this, but mix taco seasoning into the meat instead. Hopefully that will give me the texture I liked and the spiciness I prefer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      Followed recipe EXACTLY as stated. Why didnt I brown the meat first? I dont know, I know better than that. Anyway this meat had the consistency of dog food. I had Wendy's the night I made this. If you do decide to make this. Do not use flour, use more spices, use more water, and cook longer. This was a disaster. I do NOT recommend this to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2004

      This came in handy in a pinch tonight! I thought I had the lil pouches of taco seasoning. I didn't. I quadrupled the recipe for my family. I browned the ground meat, drained off the fat and then added the seasonings and flour. It turned out wonderfully! Thankyou for coming to our rescue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      Great Stuff! We started off using 1 lb ground beef but I goofed on my chili measurement and used tablespoons instead of teaspoons and so I added another pound of meat and the heat was toned down to eatable. Also note that my ground meat was already cooked from previous mexican cooking and so I added more water, probably about a cup to a cup and half and let simmer. Good combo of spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Meat

    Serving Size: 1 (282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1123.9
     
    Calories from Fat 628
    55%
    Total Fat 69.8 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 26.9 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 308.4 mg
    102%
    Sodium 3869.1 mg
    161%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 88.9 g
    177%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes