Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Junk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Junk

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2009

      This is now a family favorite. DH & I followed the recipe exactly the first time and enjoyed the flavor, but we do prefer more heat so we have exchanged the stewed tomatoes for rotel. We use this for burrito filling, taco salad, super nacho's, & quesadillas. Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      I printed this out ages ago and finally made it last night. VERY GOOD. I changed a couple of things. I used ground chicken breast so there was absolutely nothing to drain off and I did not rinse the meat. I had canellini beans but no black beans so I used those. I did not know if I was supposed to drain the liquid off of the beans, so I just did a light drain. I simmered for 45 minutes and took the lid off at the end to allow the mixture to thicken. Great flavor - I used mine for taco salads. The only drawback to this recipe is that it is quite salty from the mixes used. Other than that, great! Thanks for posting, Marlene, this is a useful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I really enjoyed this recipe but did add 1 tbsp of Mama Africa;s Piri Piri. It is impossible for a recipe to have the right heat for everyone - I like Hot. Also I took the advice of one of the reviewers and added some sweet green pepper -I wasn't sure if Ishould drain the black beans or not but after adding the tomatoes I decided that there was enough liquid so I drained them before adding to the meat. Used a Spinach tortilla as the wrap and served a simple lettuce, tomato & onion salad on the side Mmmm Great Saturday night dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      This was great! I ended up eating it with Baked Tostitos Scoops and sour cream. Wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Made for Spring PAC 08 - this was DELICIOUS!! Served this on tortillas with a bit of cheese. Also used a can of 24 ounces of diced tomatoes. Couldn't find ranch dressing mix in an enveloppe so added a bit of ranch dressing. Thanks Marlene!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      Very good and easy to prepare! I added a little mild salsa to it and ate it like a dip with tortilla chips. Thanks for this recipe Marlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Delicious! Served with tortilla chips and added 1 cup shredded mexican cheese while warming.Easy and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Nice taste, I added garlic and onion, used kidney beans and served this over a bed of rice and sprinkled with shredded cheddar. Served with Steamed Broccoli

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This was so good and so easy. It was a little too salty BUT I used prepared Taco Seasoning. Don't you know that after I made this I found a container of Taco seasoning that I'd made before DUH! Thanks for this, it's got a star on it and will make again. MaryAnne I just saw my review and noticed I said "it's got a star on it" I meant to say on my own printed recipes I have put a star. so I know which ones I want to remake. Of course here I gave it 5 stars. DUH! Sometime, I scare myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      I just made this tonight and it was really good. We did use it for tacos but it could easily be made into a dip. We don't like chopped tomatoes so I used crushed tomatoes. I used 1/2 of the ranch. Other than that I made it as written. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      OHH what a wonderful tasty dish this is. It was extrememly easy to throw together. Only trouble I had was staying out of it while it was cooking LOL. I made it as per recipe except for one slight mistake. I realized after it was all put together and cooking that I had used a small envelope of ranch dressing mix at .4 oz instead of the 1 oz size but it is still great. I wrapped mine up in a flour tortilla with a little low fat sour cream and I think I inhaled it. My daughter ate it in a bowl with some shredded cheese on top and asked if there was any left over she had dibs on it for lunch tomorrow LOL It is definately going to be made often in this house. Thanks so much marlene for posting just a tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      We really liked this, but I had to take the lid off for some of the simmering so it was not as runny. We ate this with some healthy mutigrain tortillas. We did mix in some salsa to spice up the flavor. Thanx for the addition to my WW file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This just couldn't be any easier and we both loved it wrapped in tortillas. I used ranch dressing mix #2836 and taco seasoning mix #38756. I froze the leftovers and later used them over nachos; again, great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      We loved this. Is was fast and easy and you can serve it so many ways! (as we did in our house!) Really packed with flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Fast, easy, good. We ate it over polenta cakes with yogurt cheese and chives on top. Good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      I used mexican style stewed tomatoes and a half of package of Taco and ranch seasoning mixes. Perfect! We will be having this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      Very nice, easy to make, tasty. I only added a portion of the ranch dressing. We tried it in a wrap with chedder cheese, and as a dip with taco chips. My weight watchers points finder told me it was worth 6 points before the wrap cheese and sour cream

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      I usually shy away from the recipes that rely on pre-packaged seasoning mixes but this looked too good to resist. I used Taco Seasoning Mix #2642 for this and would encourage others to consider it. Since Marlene was open to people playing with this, I did. First, while the Cattleman's Association has reported that the rinse technique washes away 1/4 of the fat and calories, I've always worried it would wash out too much flavor. Instead, I put the ground turkey in a colander to drain for a minute then spread the meat out on a thick ply paper towel. After 30 minutes of simmering, I tried it and thought it was good enough to eat right then. Continued simmering but added a small can of tomato sauce so it would spoon well over chili. Note that if you are using this as a dip or taco filling, this makes it too loose. The end result was scrumtious. Not a chili - flavoring very different. But a nice stewy kind of dish. Could also see adding onions or green peppers in with the meat in the future. Since I do Core, not Flex I counted a 1/2 point per serving for the ranch dressing mix. As for the Flex points, if you use the data here it's 5.5 points per serving. If you factor in the rinsing, that might save you 1/2 point, maybe a whole if you stretch it. Thanks Marlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      This was tasty, but I would prefer it as a tortilla filler more so than a dip. It is very thick in consistency. I think I would double the tomatoes next time. But tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2004

      This was good, but a bit on the spicey side for me, but that could have been the brand of taco seasoning mix I used. I think the next time, yes there will be a next time, I will omit the taco seasoning packet and add my own chili powder to taste. This was very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Junk

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 271.6
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    31%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 58.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 276.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes