22 Reviews

This is now a family favorite. DH & I followed the recipe exactly the first time and enjoyed the flavor, but we do prefer more heat so we have exchanged the stewed tomatoes for rotel. We use this for burrito filling, taco salad, super nacho's, & quesadillas. Very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kellpepper April 13, 2009

I printed this out ages ago and finally made it last night. VERY GOOD. I changed a couple of things. I used ground chicken breast so there was absolutely nothing to drain off and I did not rinse the meat. I had canellini beans but no black beans so I used those. I did not know if I was supposed to drain the liquid off of the beans, so I just did a light drain. I simmered for 45 minutes and took the lid off at the end to allow the mixture to thicken. Great flavor - I used mine for taco salads. The only drawback to this recipe is that it is quite salty from the mixes used. Other than that, great! Thanks for posting, Marlene, this is a useful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick March 13, 2013

I really enjoyed this recipe but did add 1 tbsp of Mama Africa;s Piri Piri. It is impossible for a recipe to have the right heat for everyone - I like Hot. Also I took the advice of one of the reviewers and added some sweet green pepper -I wasn't sure if Ishould drain the black beans or not but after adding the tomatoes I decided that there was enough liquid so I drained them before adding to the meat. Used a Spinach tortilla as the wrap and served a simple lettuce, tomato & onion salad on the side Mmmm Great Saturday night dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 15, 2009

This was great! I ended up eating it with Baked Tostitos Scoops and sour cream. Wouldn't change a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klaw July 20, 2008

Made for Spring PAC 08 - this was DELICIOUS!! Served this on tortillas with a bit of cheese. Also used a can of 24 ounces of diced tomatoes. Couldn't find ranch dressing mix in an enveloppe so added a bit of ranch dressing. Thanks Marlene!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie April 11, 2008

Very good and easy to prepare! I added a little mild salsa to it and ate it like a dip with tortilla chips. Thanks for this recipe Marlene!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shellbelle October 26, 2007

Delicious! Served with tortilla chips and added 1 cup shredded mexican cheese while warming.Easy and good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellyko September 02, 2007

Nice taste, I added garlic and onion, used kidney beans and served this over a bed of rice and sprinkled with shredded cheddar. Served with Steamed Broccoli

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat July 31, 2007

This was so good and so easy. It was a little too salty BUT I used prepared Taco Seasoning. Don't you know that after I made this I found a container of Taco seasoning that I'd made before DUH! Thanks for this, it's got a star on it and will make again. MaryAnne I just saw my review and noticed I said "it's got a star on it" I meant to say on my own printed recipes I have put a star. so I know which ones I want to remake. Of course here I gave it 5 stars. DUH! Sometime, I scare myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryAnne March 27, 2007

I just made this tonight and it was really good. We did use it for tacos but it could easily be made into a dip. We don't like chopped tomatoes so I used crushed tomatoes. I used 1/2 of the ranch. Other than that I made it as written. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinaXOXO March 11, 2007
Taco Junk