Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Casserole

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-39 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2007

      I used chedder in place of the monterey jack and we all enjoyed this very much! Thanks MizzNezz....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      This was a winner with DH and my 2-year-old. I added a can of black beans and a can of corn. I omitted the tomato and olives on the top, since DH doesn't like tomatoes and I don't like olives. Also I didn't have any jack cheese, so I used mozzarella. Very delicious! I think that tortilla chips would have tasted fine, but the actual taco shells gave a better texture and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Child-friendly way to eat tacos with a spoon! I used nacho chips instead of the shells, and 5-6 T of very minced onions to hide them from the kids. Next time I think I will not drain and then just omit re-adding the half cup water. I used cheddar and black olives. I prefered to put the top layer of chips on top of the meat so they would soften better, instead of on the cheese. Also, I felt the need for more of a healthy juicy something, so I think I will add a lot more tomatoes next time. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      Really good! A good alternative to plain old tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      This was great! I made for the kids, planning to make something else for DH and myself to eat. Well, I tasted it as it came out of the oven and it was fantastic!! I added some refried beans to the ground beef but other than that followed the recipe to the letter. My picky 2 year old ate the leftovers for lunch the next day--That has never happened before. Thank you for sharing this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      I tried this recipe a while ago, but kept forgetting to review it. This was a wonderful hit for my picky eaters. I followed the instructions exactly except I used onion powder rather that real onions. Thanks so much for this wonderful dish!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      I made this for a pot-luck at my church. It was simple and quick to make. I substituted black olives for the green olives. There was nothing left and I even recieved compliments. The warm and juicy tomatoes baked on top of the casserole was my favorite part. I'm going to serve this to my family with shredded lettuce and salsa to add after baking. Thank you for the easy to follow instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      This was not only a kid pleaser, but also a hubby pleaser. I did use Colby-Jack cheese instead and served it with sour cream. Yum! Will try ripe olives and salsa next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      this is the second time i made this...but what made this even better this time, was i added a layer of spanish rice. i had lots of leftovers (i made enough for 2 days). with the left overs, i made cabbage rolls out of them. i just boiled some cabbage leaves, spooned in the taco casserole, sprinkled extra cheese and rolled them up. i placed them in a baking dish, brushed with taco sauce, more cheese on top and put it in the oven 375 degrees for 20 min. OH MAN, was it good! it was a whole new meal, and soo easy!rachel ray would call this a 'double duty meal'. make extra casserole people for a even easier meal the next night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      This was really quick and easy to make. I substituted medium salsa instead of tomatoes on top, and it gave it a nice kick. I think next time I will try adding some beans to the recipe as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      MizzNezz This was awesome, I added a few things, a layer of refried beans, a layer of queso,(from a jar) a layer of black beans, I substituted black olives, love those wth anything mexican! I also served this with sour cream, and salsa, sliced green onions, and a little sharp cheddar, My 4 kids LOVED it, not a bit left in the pan, Another winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Really good! I added a whole onion to the ground beef when I browned it. I also added a can of kidney beans when I added the tomato sauce. I didn't have any fresh tomatos so I used canned diced tomatoes that I drained and it still turned out well. I left out the olives because I'm not a fan of olives. I also sustituted mexican cheese because it was what I had and used tortilla chips for the same reason. It was easy, inexpensive and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Thank you! This was a quick and easy recipe. Perfect for those rushed weekday dinners. I made this in no time and my entire family, including 2 extremely picky kids loved it! Yeah. This will be a new regular in my line-up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      This is great! Thank you, my whole family loves this and it has become a regular around here!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2005

      This was wonderful and quick. Thanks Miss Nezz for your submission.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      This was so easy to make and very yummy. I didn't like the texture of the taco shell after it came out of the oven but the yummy meat made up for it. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      This was SO good and easy too! I've prepared it early in the day while ds is napping and put it in the fridge until dinner time. Dh loved it too. I follow the recipe as written and it turned out great every time. Thanks so much for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      this was great because it was so easy and tasted so good. i did add a little fresh cilantro to the meat and used rotel instead of chopped tomatoes and it turned out really good. next time i think i might add some refried beans. definitely a keeper. thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      This was wonderful. I think next time, I'll try nacho chips in place of the taco shells. I added some cumin, onion powder and garlic powder on top of the taco seasoning. Very nice served with a salad of shredded lettuce and tomato diced. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 510.1
     
    Calories from Fat 296
    58%
    Total Fat 32.9 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 110.6 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1037.4 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 32.6 g
    65%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stuffed green olives

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes