Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Casserole

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2002

      I tried this last night - It was a little salty for our tastes. I think it has potential for a great quick meal so next time I will cut the taco seasoning in half or use salsa for flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2002

      We eat this recipe all the time with friends. We use salsa instead of the taco seasoning. We call it Alpo. We will try it with the taco seasoning and see how it is. We scoop it on Dorito chips with condiments and eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2002

      I had my 13yr old son help me make this since he likes tacos so much. It was easy to make. We used taco flavor doritos. We garnished with more doritos on top, tomatoes, sour cream, and salsa or taco sauce. This was on a plate of lettuce. Tasted just like a taco with out the mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2002

      This recipie was extremely easy to make and very delicious. My family of 4 ate the whole thing! This definetly a repeat meal in my home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2002

      I also make this but I don't use green peppers or the beans (although I'm going to add some next time). But, it's also good if you add a can of diced tomatoes, undrained, and chopped black olives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Delicious! I found this recipe in Taste of Home's Quick Cooking from January/February 2000. I decided to double the beans so it was more beans than meat, and I used Doritos. In place of tomatoes, I topped with Ro-tel and instead of packaged taco seasoning mix I use Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix. Thanks for posting this Lisa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

    • on July 25, 2009

      Something all the kids will eat! Wow! I left out peppers and cut up low-carb tortillas for the bottom. I mixed in the refried beans with the gr. turkey and onions, forgot to put in the taco seasoning. So I sprinkled it on top, sprinkled some garlic powder and added cheddar cheese at the last 5 minutes. This is also pretty friendly for our diet right now. Thanks so much for a great change!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      YUM!! This was so easy and delicious! I did make a few small changes. I used broken up taco shells for the bottom. I added my refried beans to the beef mixture and put that on top of the shells. Then I made a package of taco rice (the kind lipton makes) and mixed a 1/2 cup of salse in there and layered that on top of the bean mixture and then the cheese on top. I got a nice 13x9 casserole and some pretty rave reviews! Thanks a lot for the recipe! It is a keeper for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      My sons band was practicing so I needed something for 5 teenage boys. I figured this would be something they would all enjoy. I followed the recipe other then I doubled everything except the refried beans, I only used one can. I also didn't add onions and peppers because I wasn't sure if they all liked them or not. I didn't measure the chips, I just covered the bottom of the pan and gave them the rest of the bag on the side. I also added the refried beans to the beef mixture and stirred that together. I didn't bake this either. I assembled as directed and immediately served. Everyone enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      I gave this 5 stars. My family loves this stuff! I make mine slightly different. The copy of the recipe I have came from Pinchin Your Pennies from a fellow couponer. She did not call for water, green pepper or onions in the recipe. In my copy The tortilla chips is 1/2 bag. I use the gold kind as they are thicker then regular tortillas, cheese is 2 cups Monterey Jack. Also the recipe calls for 1 small can tomatoes with chiles. She uses Rotel, 1 sm can black olives, diced, 1 med tomato, diced. I used the canned to save on time and chopping. As directed in your recipe you mix the taco seasoning with the beef and add the canned tomatoes with chiles and simmer 10 minutes. I simmer 5 minutes. Then layer as directed. The order of ingredients is slightly different it calls for the chips, browned beef mixture, beans, cheese, olives and diced tomatoes. Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      I already knew this recipe was a winner when I read the ingredients-everything my husband loves! Obviously, we loved it & will make it many times. Tastes just like tacos without all the mess! I used fat free refried beans, lean ground beef & low fat cheddar cheese. I topped it with low fat sour cream & it was wonderful. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      Just like my mom used to make! We double the refried beans and add chopped tomatoes and green onions beneath the cheese layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2004

      Quick, Easy to make, TRUE! DEFINATE winner in our house too! We used 2 packets of El Paso Taco seasoning, 2 cans of El Paso refried beans and topped it with finely grated mozzarella cheese! When we served it, placed shredded lettuce around it, tomatoes, guacamole with chilli on the sides and sour cream on the top! YUMMO!!! Thanks for the recipe! Can be served as everyday meal or when entertaining!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      This was fantastic! I made it as the casserole added extra chips on the side so it could be scooped up. Put out extra onion, chese and scallions to be added after being served. This is definitely a keeper!!! YUUUMMMMMMMM!! Thanks so much Lisa ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (319 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.1
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    51%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 106.7 mg
    35%
    Sodium 1503.1 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 34.9 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites