16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried this last night - It was a little salty for our tastes. I think it has potential for a great quick meal so next time I will cut the taco seasoning in half or use salsa for flavor.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily March 17, 2002

We eat this recipe all the time with friends. We use salsa instead of the taco seasoning. We call it Alpo. We will try it with the taco seasoning and see how it is. We scoop it on Dorito chips with condiments and eat it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Damar12 March 28, 2002

I had my 13yr old son help me make this since he likes tacos so much. It was easy to make. We used taco flavor doritos. We garnished with more doritos on top, tomatoes, sour cream, and salsa or taco sauce. This was on a plate of lettuce. Tasted just like a taco with out the mess.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 March 01, 2002

This recipie was extremely easy to make and very delicious. My family of 4 ate the whole thing! This definetly a repeat meal in my home.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly10 March 27, 2002

I also make this but I don't use green peppers or the beans (although I'm going to add some next time). But, it's also good if you add a can of diced tomatoes, undrained, and chopped black olives.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbaraK February 28, 2002

Delicious! I found this recipe in Taste of Home's Quick Cooking from January/February 2000. I decided to double the beans so it was more beans than meat, and I used Doritos. In place of tomatoes, I topped with Ro-tel and instead of packaged taco seasoning mix I use Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix. Thanks for posting this Lisa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe June 30, 2010

Something all the kids will eat! Wow! I left out peppers and cut up low-carb tortillas for the bottom. I mixed in the refried beans with the gr. turkey and onions, forgot to put in the taco seasoning. So I sprinkled it on top, sprinkled some garlic powder and added cheddar cheese at the last 5 minutes. This is also pretty friendly for our diet right now. Thanks so much for a great change!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead July 25, 2009

YUM!! This was so easy and delicious! I did make a few small changes. I used broken up taco shells for the bottom. I added my refried beans to the beef mixture and put that on top of the shells. Then I made a package of taco rice (the kind lipton makes) and mixed a 1/2 cup of salse in there and layered that on top of the bean mixture and then the cheese on top. I got a nice 13x9 casserole and some pretty rave reviews! Thanks a lot for the recipe! It is a keeper for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazziegirl8751 October 04, 2008

My sons band was practicing so I needed something for 5 teenage boys. I figured this would be something they would all enjoy. I followed the recipe other then I doubled everything except the refried beans, I only used one can. I also didn't add onions and peppers because I wasn't sure if they all liked them or not. I didn't measure the chips, I just covered the bottom of the pan and gave them the rest of the bag on the side. I also added the refried beans to the beef mixture and stirred that together. I didn't bake this either. I assembled as directed and immediately served. Everyone enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 18, 2008
Taco Casserole