9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great job duplicating this recipe! It is very close to how i remember it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mario December 21, 2008

Hi Steve!! I didn't know this was your recipe till I was ready to rate it! Great sauce!! I can't tell ya how many times I've made it.. I'm guessing 6 times in a week. Our neighbors had me make it twice. I finally printed the recipe off for them. I made it, as it was posted. No changes. Except for today... I was low on onion flakes.. That didn't seem to make a huge change. In place, I added a bit of onion soup mix (the dry stuff.) lol My DH said this is THE best hot sauce I ever made! *YAY* Huge high 5 to you! Its good stuff.. Sorry my pic isn't the best. I'm lucky I got one. This sauce goes FAST in my house. DD puts it on everything. Neighbors LOVE it. This deserves more than 5 stars!! Thanks for sharing. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linajjac August 24, 2008

I made this for the first time today!
It's really good.
I like mine extra hot, so I did these modifications:

1. Used about 1/8 cup of Tabasco (yes, an eighth of a cup).
2. Used extra-hot chili powder.
3. Instead of plain vinegar, I used the liquid from the jalapeno jar.
4. Used extra-strength cayenne (250,000 scoville units of heat)
5. Used minced garlic instead of minced onion (I think it has more flavor)
6. Used two teaspoons of sugar instead of just one.

This is really good!
I love it!
Deliciously hot, and so flavorful I could eat it with a spoon if I really wanted to. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jannaverse November 26, 2011

I don't remember Taco Bell's wild sauce, but I thought I would give this recipe a try for our tostadas. It was just what I was wanting. Tangy, spicy and mouth watering. Great taco sauce! Even better, it was a breeze to make. Thanks for sharing, this will be my "go to" red taco sauce recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 10, 2012

I'm going to try it and I'll let you know what I think. I loved this sauce so much that I used to order 2 tacos and 2 bean burritos with extra-extra wild sauce. If they didn't put enough on it, I'd ask for more. Surprised you didn't add cilantro and a tsp of soybean oil. I've posted on separate wild sauce blogs, and mentioned to them that someone at Taco Bell gave me a hand written recipe of the wild sauce - but not the exact one, because they weren't permitted. It had cilantro, green chilies and soybean oil for sure. Until then, lets see how it goes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MojoSing January 15, 2012

Very good on just about anything. Prepared first as on recipe, then added more jalapeno, sugar, salt, onion and garlic powder. Turned out even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare January 15, 2012

I thought this recipe was very close, however, I thought it needed more vinegar. I added 1/2 cup and it taste great. I remember this sauce being tangy and the original recipe just didn't do it. I also added just a few cilantro leaves, not as many as someone else suggested, but a few (maybe 8 actual leaves).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gh83 April 07, 2011

While I honestly don't remember Wild Sauce I have to say this was very good and tasted like something we could get at Taco Bell. I made a 1/2 recipe with no problem - will likely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos July 05, 2008
Taco Bell Wild Sauce