73 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It was very good! Stop buying the taco seasoning. My son said it tastes like Taco Bell!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimsdream January 20, 2009

My daughter loves tacos made with Taco Bell seasoning packets and our store stopped carrying them. After trying other packets that were too spicy, I decided to look online for a recipe. This is it! I followed the recipe as posted and she said it tasted just like the packets I used to buy. Thanks so much for posting! I'll be making up a large batch of this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dld65 February 12, 2013

I made two batches of this tonight and it is wonderful. It took just minutes to make and it taste great. I used it in My Sisters Taco Soup which is a soup that my sister gave to me.(Yes I posted it here)I have a batch redy o go for the next time. I will never use the store bought stuff again.

UPDATE:12/27/12 Over the weekend before Christmas we had dinner at my son's dads place and his Step mom was out of taco seasoning and was about out the door to the store to get some. I got on my phone and got this recipe up, my son made it and not a complaint one form any one, I don't think anyone even noticed the difference.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 December 28, 2012

I don't leave reviews very often, but had to for this. I've been looking for a homemade taco seasoning recipe for a loooong time. My husband is very, very picky on what flavors he likes, and the ones I've made in the past were not strong or flavorful enough. My husband also LOVES taco bell, and we used to frequently get the taco bell seasoning packets at the store. We both love this so much we only make this, and my husband said it's much better than the packets at the store.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheMuppetFairy March 21, 2012

DH and I both enjoyed this. He noticed I switched something but couldn't figure it out and said the switch was neither better nor worse than what he's used to. I found this mix to be mild in the "spicy" category which is what I prefer. I'm personally kind of sensitive to Cumin and find it can be overpowering in many recipes but not so with this mix. With that said, I can take lots of "heat" and think I will use a Medium Hot Chili Powder next time. All in all, a good mix and one I'll keep. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe June 23, 2010

This is great! My only exchange was using 1/4 tsp onion powder because I didn't have onion salt. Did not miss the salt. Thanks for a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
santini4 February 15, 2010

This is great stuff! I leave out the flour, and double the amounts of chili powder and cumin (and I grind my own cumin). I keep forgetting to review this recipe, but I've about six batches of this so far.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay Demonbren October 18, 2008

No longer buy any store packets!!! Don't need all the additives and chemicals. Also MSG.<br/>I also add 1/2 tsp of toasted coriander. I make packets up so it is always available. Especially for my daughter I change the flour with gluten free flour or double the cornstarch or wheat sensitivities.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yacookindog September 09, 2013

It tasted more like the store packaged seasonings than taco bell. It wasn't bad. Actually a little better than the store packaged stuff.. Kind of disappointed it didn't taste anything like Taco Bell.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LL19 June 15, 2012
Taco Bell Taco Seasoning Clone/Copycat