Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Taco Bell Taco Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Bell Taco Sauce

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      Just a note to clarify for people, especially Loves2cook4everyone: this recipe is a knockoff of the red sauce Taco Bell uses on their bean burritos and several other foods. It is NOT a knock off of anything in their little sauce packets, hot, mild or fire, even though those little sauces are red, too. You cannot get this sauce in a packet -- they don't sell it that way. I wish they did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      OK I read the reviews, and whoever was complaining about the sugar may have gotten "tomato sauce" confused with "tomato ketchup" - because ketchup is totally loaded with sugar, especially if you go with Heinz. HOWEVER... the ingredients on my tomato sauce (Muir Glen organic) are just tomatoes, water, and salt - no sugar, no HFCS - and even Hunts doesn't have as much sugar as Heinz. The amount of sugar added to this recipe is just 1/4 TEASPOON - negligible at best - but you can always add an equal amount of Kosher salt to cut the sweet edge of that sugar and still get the rounded palette flavor.

      That said, we are a household with Celiac and food allergies to accommodate, so processed sauces are hazardous to our health. This is one of the easiest sauces with best taste that I've found for tacos and enchiladas - and having lived all over the SW and in TX, I'm pretty picky about what's passable for Mexican cuisine. That said, I made the following modifications:

      Instead of garlic powder, I used fresh garlic with garlic oil.
      Instead of dried minced onion, I used onion powder to get the deeper flavor.
      I added salt to taste to balance out the sweetness.

      My husband has decided that (just as with the BBQ sauce I make that is probably closer to Bone Sucking Sauce than any widely available brand), he wants me to make this taco sauce in bulk and keep it on hand, rather than him using the processed stuff -- and he is the one with NO allergies and NO Celiac.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      My son LOVES tacos and Taco Bell. Whenever we get low on taco sauce at home he always begs me not to buy it in the store but for us to make this sauce again. It's perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This was outstanding!!! I didn't have tomato sauce so I substituted 6 tblsp of tomato paste mixed with 1/2 cup water (found on gourmetsleuth.com). Also didn't have onion flakes so subbed with equal onion powder, but I LOVE THIS SAUCE...let it sit in the fridge for a while for the flavours to mingle, and I thought it tasted just like the taco bell sauce!!! Thank you so much!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      good only used 6 oz of tomato sauce and a little bit of water

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I needed taco sauce for a recipe, only I didn't have any in my pantry. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It was easy to make, and turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      Made this last night to go on Chicken Fajitas since the store bought jar I had in the fridge was nearly empty. My son and daughter-in-law loved it. Simple, tasty and ingredients that I always have around - the perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Excellent sauce. Use it in my Taco Bake. So much cheaper to make and tastes so much better than the bottled sauce. My family likes the little kick of heat it has too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      I made this yesterday because my husband was craving Mexican. Taco sauce isn't really something I use much of. So, I don't have too much of an opinion on it either way. But he thought it was good. His only complaint was that it could've stood to be smoother. I did stir it quite a bit. So, I think maybe some extra cooking time is in order to get a smooth product like commercial taco sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      We thought this was very good! Thanks for posting your recipe - it is a keeper! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      Very good mild taco sauce. Heat can easily be increased if wished.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2012

      This was great stuff!!! I think it's a bit heavy on the cumin, but I can correct that myself next time. I used it on some bean tostadas and then again in bean burritos and it was perfect. I then used the leftover as a base for some taco soup. Thanks for posting! UPDATE: I made this again today and decreased the cumin to 1/2 tsp, but then found it to be too bland, so I added a little more garlic powder, another 1/2 tsp of cumin and some oregano and I think it's good now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      This was very good everyone enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Excellent copycat recipe! Just the thing for when you don't want to run to the store. The ingredients are usually right there in the cupboard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      If you don't think this taste exactly like taco bells mild sauce you made it wrong... Smelled and tasted identical. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      This is a great recipe as is. For a little change I added diced Jalapeno, a pinch of oregano and a shot of Franks hot sauce, which gave it a bolder flavor for topping my grilled beef fajitas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Went really well with my tacos. Nice flavor. Not exactly like the sauce at Taco Bell but none the less very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I made this to go with our Mexican pizza and fiesta potatoes. We really liked this and will continue to make this for our Taco Bell nights. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      As a knock-off recipe, I give this a ZERO rating, but as a random taco sauce recipe I give it a 3.
      I JUST made this sauce in a side-by-side comparison with a packet of Taco Bell's sauce, and while it's passable as a taco sauce, it's NOT even CLOSE to Taco Bell's sauce. It has too much of an un-dulled tomato taste. Nice try though. And for the record? Adding sugar to tomato sauce or paste for a Mexican sauce is all wrong. Tomato sauce is LOADED with sugar, so adding sugar, no matter how much you cook it down will take away from the spices intended to mix with the sugar ALREADY contained in the tomato sauce/paste. I WILL be using this sauce (with less tomato sauce) as a secondary, because it does have a good flavor (I omitted the sugar) but it's not a knock-off by any stretch of the imagination. But, perhaps you should bottle this as your own recipe - it's very flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      This is perfect! I will make it again if I need taco sauce. It was so simple that I won't waste my money buying it at the store. Thanks for sharing JustaQT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Bell Taco Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.8
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    13%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 304.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites