221 Reviews

These were a big hit at our house today. My toddlers ate them up like crazy. I have a new recipe for Quesadillas. We don't like jalapenos or anything too hot so I subbed some taco sauce for the jalapeno juice. I also put the cheese and meat on one tortilla then put the sauce on another and put on top. It seemed easier then trying to spread the sauce on the half while it was in the pan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 July 16, 2008

I made this for my adult son for Christmas. This is his favorite taco bell food. He loved it and was thrilled that I found the recipe for him. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amie in Arizona December 25, 2003

OHHHHHH how good it was... I didn't need to know how to make the quesadillas but the sauce... OHHHH The sauce is what makes it killer!

How I did it:
Don't half azz these, Get FRESH UNFROZEN chicken breasts, add your own spices to step it up a notch and slice that bad boy nice. slap a tortilla down on a warm to hot flat top grill, add your cheese, chicken and sauce (in that order, add a sprinkle of cheese over the sauce if your feeling venturous) Then slap another tortilla on that, place a 10-12" frying pan on top of that (depending on the size of the tortilla). Once done serve to your friends and blow there minds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nuboko March 08, 2013

I have not made these but Taco Bell sells their sauce at Walmart now in bottles. It's actually a new product. Just a heads up

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaC1628 January 02, 2013

My husband LOVED this recipe, exactly as is. However, I would have gone with a bit less cumin & a dash less sugar. The cumin taste was a bit overpowering, and the sugar made the sauce a little too sweet. I can definitely tell that this is reminiscent of Taco Bell's quesadilla sauce, but I have a feeling that if the above adjustments were made, it would be just like it, but better. The fresh ingredients make a huge difference. I'm rating it 3 stars because, as it's written, it's not my favorite, but I think it has a lot of potential.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mercurialish December 26, 2011

LOVE LOVE LOVE! I'm going to make them again after I leave this review. I don't use the cheeses listed, but use the Fiesta Mexican blend shredded. Like someone else commented, we didn't like the mixture before it was added to the cheese, chicken, and tortilla. That quickly changed, though. Everyone in the house LOVES this recipe, even my 3 year old and she is quite picky. I am going to add a bit more jalapeno this time around, though. Bout time I got some use out of the Quesadilla Maker I received as a gift a couple of years ago:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fulton347 November 25, 2011

very good, I used ground beef sautéed with taco seasoning, and it turned out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alohanoa August 19, 2011

Even with the low-fat adjustments I made, including low-fat soybean based mayo, low-fat cheeses and a chicken substitute (we are vegetarians), this was very filling. Nevertheless we each ate a whole one and my BF and I both thought the taste was great. I only used a pinch of cayenne but thought it could have used a bit more. I'd make this again. An easy weeknight supper with a side of veggies or a salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend April 19, 2011

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "The Best Of Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2003)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb March 22, 2011

Family loved this recipe! I have never had a Taco Bell quesadilla so I can't compare it to that, but it was cheesy and delicious. We made them to suit individual tastes; one as written, one with just cheese, one with black beans. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
traydiggs_749894 March 18, 2011
Taco Bell Quesadillas