13 Reviews

These are amazing! I cooked the meat and taco seasoning along with some minced onion, cooled it, and added the cheese, and peppers.These froze so well. I actually forgot the salsa, and they were still amazing. Thanks, I will be definately be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali September 05, 2011

Great idea!! I used leftover seasoned taco meat and omitted the peppers. I broiled them for about 5 mins and they were perfect! Dh loves and these will become a staple in our house. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ March 18, 2011

I made these on english muffins and froze for when I had my daughter. they were very good and it was so nice to have some lunch foods already prepared.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adena mangis August 01, 2009

I made these Sunday. I made them on english muffins that I made on Sunday. My 16 yr. old daughter loved them. She ate like 13 in one sitting! I did add more salsa as the reviews suggested and I also mixed my taco seasoning in with the meat as I would to make tacos. Thanks for the great idea. My teenagers will enjoy these for a long time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quick meal October 28, 2008

Easy to make and held together way better than I thought. I have to agree with Berrysweet needed lots more salsa to bind it together but reheated from frozen well and my picky boyfriend loved them. This recipe made it into our rotation!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic September 26, 2008

thank you for the idea! i used diced chicken, taco seasoning, taco sauce and chedder all mixed together to top our mini-bagels. hard to find things my boys will eat and this was perfect. will try with beef next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage January 12, 2008

I doubled this and had enough to make 5 extra bagels. I went w/6 cups gr.beef only 1 each green and red pepper, one mega sized onion, and 2 blocks-16 oz. of mild cheddar. Since I increased I used 1 cup of salsa(I read reviews and they said to double the amt.), and I had perhaps 1 cup of leftover taco sauce in the fridge. Like any OAMC recipe, can be very time consuming. Last night I chopped the cheddar, peppers and onions placed them in a ziploc bag. This a.m. I browned the gr. beef, drained and mixed everything in the skillet. Phew! My younget DS saw me up at 6 a.m. preparing them on the cookie sheets. He was very disappointed not to get this for lunch. My boys and I had some baked this afternoon, and it is DELICIOUS!!! Time well spent Thank You Pamela-Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat August 03, 2007

4 stars as written. I would double the taco seasoning and salsa because they were a tad dry/bland. Or can be fixed by topping the cooked bites with fresh salsa. Mine were done at 15 minutes. Great way to make homemade fast food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet October 16, 2006

I used one pound of ground beef, 1/2 cup each of red and green pepper, and just a couple of tablespoons of onions, and the other ingredients as stated. These were very good; great to have on hand in the freezer for quick snacks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue July 22, 2006

Wonderful, these are so convienent and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dani Jean January 30, 2006
Taco Bagel Bites (Oamc)