14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tabouli should never be prepared using a food processor; it simply deauthenticates the consistency and even the flavor. Additionally, adding cucumber is not "adulterating" the recipe, but rather reflects the traditional version of this food from other areas of the M.E. Syrians from the Levant area are known for adding cucumber. And, in case you have never tried Tabouli with cucumber, you are missing out. I will, however, agree with the author of this recipe that garlic is not traditionally used in making Tabouli and neither is using celery.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheriannemansoor July 11, 2008

Very nice recipe - keeper. Agree hand chopping gives prettier result but food processor works fine when pulsed - increases the green vegetal flavors though not as pretty. Thanks for posting Toby.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend June 02, 2013

I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. One friend literally said "I think I could live on this" and another friend who was travelled extensively in the middle east said this recipe was more authentic than most found in US restaurants.
I did cut back to only 1 tomato (because my bowl was full and I was too lazy to transfer into a new bowl at that point) and I completely forgot about the oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsFunner October 29, 2011

Delish! I subbed red onions for the green onions, and used only half the bulgar... actually I didn't have any bulgar on hand so I used couscous, 1/2 cup. Parsley fresh from the garden! Lemony and fresh!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zoe July 13, 2010

Excellent! Just as good as Sanaa's in Sioux Falls, SD. I didn't have Bulgar wheat so I used brown rice and it was still just as good. If you don't have fresh mint you can use dried, just cut back on the amount. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnydaze1004 October 11, 2009

I loved this. Very simple tastes that come together beautifully. Definitely make this a day ahead of when you want to serve it. I used about 1 c of parsley, 1/2 c of mint, 6 green onions, and 1/3 c extra virgin olive oil. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. August 02, 2009

I agree that the listed ingredients are all that should go in Taboulli salad-not because it is more authentic, but because the combination of these simple items is so wonderful. For my taste, I use dried mint since I find the fresh a bit overpowering, but I can certainly understand it's appeal to those who love the fresh. Also, the amount of oil can be reduced by half if desired without much loss. Perhaps the one thing most important not to change is the FRESH lemon juice; using bottled really doesn't work in this. However, the amounts of each ingredient can be changed to suit one's taste or supply.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nora in Cal October 29, 2006

i agree, no garlic in tabouli! this was great - loved the simplicity of ingredients. THANKS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne October 22, 2006
Tabouli (Lebanese Bulghur, Parsley, and Mint Salad)