Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tabouli (Lebanese Bulghur, Parsley, and Mint Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tabouli (Lebanese Bulghur, Parsley, and Mint Salad)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2008

      Tabouli should never be prepared using a food processor; it simply deauthenticates the consistency and even the flavor. Additionally, adding cucumber is not "adulterating" the recipe, but rather reflects the traditional version of this food from other areas of the M.E. Syrians from the Levant area are known for adding cucumber. And, in case you have never tried Tabouli with cucumber, you are missing out. I will, however, agree with the author of this recipe that garlic is not traditionally used in making Tabouli and neither is using celery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      Very nice recipe - keeper. Agree hand chopping gives prettier result but food processor works fine when pulsed - increases the green vegetal flavors though not as pretty. Thanks for posting Toby.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. One friend literally said "I think I could live on this" and another friend who was travelled extensively in the middle east said this recipe was more authentic than most found in US restaurants.
      I did cut back to only 1 tomato (because my bowl was full and I was too lazy to transfer into a new bowl at that point) and I completely forgot about the oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

    • on July 13, 2010

      Delish! I subbed red onions for the green onions, and used only half the bulgar... actually I didn't have any bulgar on hand so I used couscous, 1/2 cup. Parsley fresh from the garden! Lemony and fresh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Excellent! Just as good as Sanaa's in Sioux Falls, SD. I didn't have Bulgar wheat so I used brown rice and it was still just as good. If you don't have fresh mint you can use dried, just cut back on the amount. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I loved this. Very simple tastes that come together beautifully. Definitely make this a day ahead of when you want to serve it. I used about 1 c of parsley, 1/2 c of mint, 6 green onions, and 1/3 c extra virgin olive oil. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

    • on October 29, 2006

      I agree that the listed ingredients are all that should go in Taboulli salad-not because it is more authentic, but because the combination of these simple items is so wonderful. For my taste, I use dried mint since I find the fresh a bit overpowering, but I can certainly understand it's appeal to those who love the fresh. Also, the amount of oil can be reduced by half if desired without much loss. Perhaps the one thing most important not to change is the FRESH lemon juice; using bottled really doesn't work in this. However, the amounts of each ingredient can be changed to suit one's taste or supply.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      i agree, no garlic in tabouli! this was great - loved the simplicity of ingredients. THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      yes its good recipe but i add garlic as well as feta and olives .... taste yummy ..dont care if its not authentic i am from california ..not middle east

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      Tabouli is not tabouli WITH garlic...otherwise it become a totally different dish, perhaps "garbouli". Perfect "authentic" recipe, well done ! I squeeze the thinly sliced onions through the softened burgul before adding to the other ingredients. I also whisk the lemon juice and olive oil together before adding to the "garlic free" salad....I love garlic, but NOT in tabouli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Oooh, too heavy on the bulgar, mint and tomatoes for me. It had a nice flavor once I readjusted everything, but I like garlic and am not so concerned with whether something qualifies as "authentic" or not, so I added 1 minced clove. Nice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2004

      I like this recipe; it\\\'s so much better than the store bought Tabouleh. To cut the parsley, I keep the parsley in a bunch, hold it by the stems and run a French Chef\\\'s knife down to the leaves. A few slices and the parsley leaves are stripped. I pick out the few heavier stems that get cut off. Then, I put the parsley, onions and mint in a blender with some water and pulse a few times. Less danger of pureeing. Dump into a strainer and shake a bit to get rid of most of the water and finish. Reduces the effort and it is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tabouli (Lebanese Bulghur, Parsley, and Mint Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.3
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    75%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh mint leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites