9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this to be too much water and cut it back just under a cup and ΒΌ. This may just be because I cook at altitude, anyhow; on the first try the bulgur was too wet, hence there was no room for the oil. Not the time of year for mint, so I speak without trying that. I agree with Gay that this gets better with time. Anyway a good tabouli starting point. (I am taking this and working on a Southwestern tabouli.)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vic1 March 08, 2002

This was easy to make, so don't let the 2 hour prep time scare you away. Contrary to an earlier review of this recipe, my bulgur wheat actually absorbed more than cup and a half of water. But I used that review, and poured the boiling water into the wheat rather than the other way around to make sure that I wouldn't have soup. I also used less oil, about 1/3 of a cup, because using lots of any fat, even a good one like olive oil, isn't my style. I chose this Tabouli recipe because Moosewood cookbooks have never steered me wrong.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rob King March 01, 2004

I had never made Tabouli before. Came out very well. I was missing the mint. The water was exactly the right amount. After reading comments will definitely add a little finely diced red onion next time for a bit more zing (thx for idea kda949).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FL0WER April 03, 2011

I made this tonight from the New Moosewood Cookbook. However, I used only 1/4 cup olive oil and no cucumber. It is a pretty good tabouli recipe. Enjoyable and will probably make again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif January 10, 2008

I made this recipe as written, and we enjoyed it very much, but next time I will reduce the olive oil by half....very makeagainable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo September 06, 2006

Delicious, healthy and refreshing! I substituted fresh lime juice for the lemon juice and fresh cilantro for the parsley. I also soaked the bulgur for 2 hours before adding the rest of the veggies and serving. Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie1976 June 20, 2006

Pretty good tabouli- the best I've ever made but it was missing something to make it great (the Middle Eastern market in town still blows it away!). I had no problems having too much water but I did do as someone else suggested and added the water to the bulgar wheat instead of adding the wheat to the water. Maybe they were lazy and nuked the water instead of boiling on the stove top and it was not really hot enough??? Anyway- I also cut back on the olive oil to about 1/4 cup figuring I could always add more if it needed it- I don't think it did. I will make it again- maybe I'll add a little red onion like they do sometimes at the Middle Eastern market.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kda949 May 19, 2006

This was delicious; and I agree that it is better the second day. It's great with a little feta cheese added to the mixture, also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigHeart May 24, 2004
Tabouli