14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Currently eating this for lunch. Very easy and very good. I added chicken chunks and real diced onions. Next time i think i'll add more broccoli though to get those 5 a day in. I've never had TGIF's soup but this is very good.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacylu October 14, 2002

We take turns bringing lunch for everyone in the office. I chose this to bring for my day. BIG hit. While others send out for pizza or whatever I try to fix good stuff. This fit the bill. Everyone thought I spent all kinds of time on it but it was a snap. I added a cup of cheddar with the "processed" cheese and it was great. Thanks for the recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff April 03, 2002

This was really good!! I did double the cheese however, we like stuff really cheesy! I also added a bit more broccoli. I will definitely be making this again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlipC February 09, 2003

This is excellent! Very easy and quick to make. I found it wasn't quite cheesy enough for my tastebuds, so I added 2 more slices of the cheese and it was excellent! The cheesy, creamy base could serve as great inspiration for other kinds of soups too. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill77 January 06, 2003

Made this tonight and it was terrific. Very close to TGIF's. Everyone gobbled it up and had seconds. My son declared 80 million stars. Thanks to DiB's for posting this. I got it from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 2 by Todd Wilbur and was glad to find it already here. The recipe in the book has two minor changes. It calls for only 4 cups of broccoli and 1/2 cup grated cheddar. I also want to thank B-J, Amy and Polar for your comments. I put in only half a cup of water to thicken it up. Next time I will add no water as it is a thinner broccoli cheese soup & added more cheese than even written here. When added to the top of each bowl the taster gets a bit in every bite. If you top the serving bowl or big crock it melts and isn't as cheesy. Hope that make sense. Enjoy. ChefDLH

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH January 06, 2010

Loved it. Very close to the TGIF taste. I worked for TGIF for 6 years, and have had more than my share of their BCS. Great clone! I, too, added a cup of freshly grated cheddar cheese (medium) to the recipe. I couldn't find dried onion flakes, so I used about 1/8 tsp of onion powder. The only thing I'd like to see different about the recipe would be a thicker soup. I don't like thin cheese soups. Next time I make this, I may try less water or a tad more flower. Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PolarBearWY October 03, 2003

I Made this for a group of friends and we all said it is a keeper. The 1/2 cup of flour seemed like too much when I read the recipe, but it ended up being perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WannaBChef August 06, 2003

i was looking for a broccoli soup recipe, made a few changes...instead of cream i used a can of campbell broccoli soup, sauteed my own onions and used shredded cheese, mexican style...it was delish!!!! Topped it with a spinkle of cheese and some crusty bread!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnamomof3 November 06, 2011

I like this recipe! I only use a real onion minced in mine. I dont use the flakes. I also add more cheese at the end and if it needs thickened you can always add a little more flour to a sprinkle of water to make a soupy mixture then dump it in to thicken. I think this is a great copy cat. We love TGIF BC Soup. The only thing this recipe lacks is the cheesy taste (add more) and the thickness IMO.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B-J-Burrell September 17, 2008
T.G.I.F's Broccoli Cheese Soup