Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / T.G.I.F's Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    T.G.I.F's Broccoli Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      Currently eating this for lunch. Very easy and very good. I added chicken chunks and real diced onions. Next time i think i'll add more broccoli though to get those 5 a day in. I've never had TGIF's soup but this is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2002

      We take turns bringing lunch for everyone in the office. I chose this to bring for my day. BIG hit. While others send out for pizza or whatever I try to fix good stuff. This fit the bill. Everyone thought I spent all kinds of time on it but it was a snap. I added a cup of cheddar with the "processed" cheese and it was great. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      This was really good!! I did double the cheese however, we like stuff really cheesy! I also added a bit more broccoli. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This is excellent! Very easy and quick to make. I found it wasn't quite cheesy enough for my tastebuds, so I added 2 more slices of the cheese and it was excellent! The cheesy, creamy base could serve as great inspiration for other kinds of soups too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Made this tonight and it was terrific. Very close to TGIF's. Everyone gobbled it up and had seconds. My son declared 80 million stars. Thanks to DiB's for posting this. I got it from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 2 by Todd Wilbur and was glad to find it already here. The recipe in the book has two minor changes. It calls for only 4 cups of broccoli and 1/2 cup grated cheddar. I also want to thank B-J, Amy and Polar for your comments. I put in only half a cup of water to thicken it up. Next time I will add no water as it is a thinner broccoli cheese soup & added more cheese than even written here. When added to the top of each bowl the taster gets a bit in every bite. If you top the serving bowl or big crock it melts and isn't as cheesy. Hope that make sense. Enjoy. ChefDLH

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      Loved it. Very close to the TGIF taste. I worked for TGIF for 6 years, and have had more than my share of their BCS. Great clone! I, too, added a cup of freshly grated cheddar cheese (medium) to the recipe. I couldn't find dried onion flakes, so I used about 1/8 tsp of onion powder. The only thing I'd like to see different about the recipe would be a thicker soup. I don't like thin cheese soups. Next time I make this, I may try less water or a tad more flower. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      I Made this for a group of friends and we all said it is a keeper. The 1/2 cup of flour seemed like too much when I read the recipe, but it ended up being perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      i was looking for a broccoli soup recipe, made a few changes...instead of cream i used a can of campbell broccoli soup, sauteed my own onions and used shredded cheese, mexican style...it was delish!!!! Topped it with a spinkle of cheese and some crusty bread!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

    • on September 17, 2008

      I like this recipe! I only use a real onion minced in mine. I dont use the flakes. I also add more cheese at the end and if it needs thickened you can always add a little more flour to a sprinkle of water to make a soupy mixture then dump it in to thicken. I think this is a great copy cat. We love TGIF BC Soup. The only thing this recipe lacks is the cheesy taste (add more) and the thickness IMO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      This gets points for being quick and easy. I subbed a can of evaporated milk in place of both the half and half and the water, but otherwise followed the recipe basically as written. It didn't have much cheese flavor and I would consider this more of a cream of broccoli soup. Overall, ok, but it just didn't suit my family's taste. Thanks anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      Great soup! I cut back on the water a bit and added an extra slice of extra-thick cheese. It came out smooth and creamy...and so easy to make. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2004

      This was REALLY good! The only thing is that I wish it was a bit more cheesy and thick. (Which I will do next time) I made it for my parents, and my mom kept all the leftovers! She LOVED it! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      Very nice soup - DEFINITELY a comfort food. Next time I'll probably try for a bolder flavor by adding onions, minced garlic, and perhaps chicken as one chef suggested. Thanks for sharing. Even kiddos ate this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for T.G.I.F's Broccoli Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.0
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    55%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 46.8 mg
    15%
    Sodium 949.5 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 15.5 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes