Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Szechwan-Style Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Szechwan-Style Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2012

      We liked this very much. I did make some changes. I added about 1/2 lb ground pork, and used 1 red and 3 very small green bell peppers, cut in strips, which I sauteed with the garlic and ginger. I also used Chinese rice wine instead of sherry, and looking at the recipe now, I realize that I completely forgot the hoisin sauce. Will try to remember next time. However, I thought the amounts and kinds of seasonings were very good, even without. I used 2 teaspoons szechwan chili paste this time, but intend to use 3 teaspoons, if making it just for myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Best recipe I have found!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      I made this almost exactly as posted, except I used 1 tsp Thai red curry paste because I did not have the Szechwan chili pepper paste. I also added a med. zucchini. It turned out great! I don't know how people are getting away with less oil. I needed the entire 1/4 cup, maybe more. Eggplant just sucks it up. Besides, it was not at all greasy this way. Make sure to cook the eggplant til soft (either in the 1st or second phase of its cooking). Next time I will be a bit more generous with the sauce. I think this will be my stirfry of choice for some time to come. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      I liked it alot.I didn't have a bell pepper but added some portabella mushrooms. Toasted sesame seeds and fresh cilantro sent this over the top and I recommend doing that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      I baked the eggplant a little and used rice wine instead of the sherry. I also added some toasted sesame seeds in the end. Overall, it was a great dish and can be done without much less oil than stated. I will increase the heat next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      Very tasty! I steamed a block of extra firm tofu to use in place of the eggplant and had terrific results. This dish had really good flavors. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      I enjoyed this dish.I used veg. broth and didn't have red bell pepper. It came out really nice, good flavors. I served it over brown rice. Thanks for a nice dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      This had a nice spicy flavor and the taste of the chiles went well with the eggplant. I liked the level of hotness for myself, and would even go more, but those who are timid with heat should watch this area closely. I only used about 1/4 as much oil to cook the eggplant, and added water to finish the cooking on it, and didn't notice any difference, but got the lower-fat benefit. Overall, this was a very good dish! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Szechwan-Style Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.4
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    64%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 624.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites