36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good. I basiclly took the recipe and made Shrimp tacos. Much like fish tacos but with the Chili shrimp. I omit the cornstarch and saute the shrimp with the other ingredients then make a hot slaw of cabbage, sugar, carrots, and rice vinegar for topping the wheat soft tacos. DELISH. Another vesion would be to substitute chipoltle sauce with olive oil for the sesame oil. Great recipe Jessica K

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diceman #2 January 24, 2009

The garlic, Ginger & Chili is a great combination that makes these prawns burst with flavor. I cut the oil back to 1 tbsp. I used a Thai sweet chili sauce (very hot) instead of our regular chili sauce. I got all the ingredients ready ahead of time and had them in two bowls-the prawns, garlic, ginger, dry chili & scallions in one and the remaining ingredients in another. It took me 5 minutes for the actual cooking - Thanks Jessica for a delicious recipe, to be repeated, for prawns

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 19, 2005

This is very similar to a popular Chinese dish from my favorite restaurant - what a great recipe! I added a coarsely chopped bell pepper, tomato, and a sliced onion (to sub for scallions), and stir-fried those before adding the shrimp. This will definitely go in regular rotation - thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon July 04, 2012

This was pretty good, the sauce was plenty thick though without the cornstarch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC March 12, 2010

Absolutely wonderful! I added some water-chestnuts and esame seeds for a little extra touch. Even my 12-year old finicky eater loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrscee3 February 01, 2010

My mom, sister and I thought this was great. I didn't use any oil, sherry wine or cornstarch and it was still awesome. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hboz January 25, 2010

Excellent - we really enjoyed this. I didn't have any scallions on hand but did everything else as directed. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie1351 November 27, 2009

We enjoyed this recipe. I chose to add some veggies to the mix (broccoli & snow peas) which it stir fired first, then proceeded with the recipe. I too cut way back on the oil and used Thai sweet chili sauce and did not find it to be overly hot and spicy. Next time I increase the heat. Thank you Jessica for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ July 24, 2009

Excellent! The WHOLE family loved this. I added 3 extra green onions and used the sauce to make asian slaw (shredded cabbage and carrots). Then I fried the shrimp and added them to the slaw. GREAT over rice, noodles, or in soft tortilla shells.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adria82 April 04, 2009

Although we really enjoy "hot", even this was too hot for my DH. I too had the Asian Hot Chili Sauce and cut it back to 1 Tbs., after readying the reviews. I will make it again with the Thai chili sauce mentioned in other reviews. Thanks Jessica.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth March 31, 2009
Szechwan Shrimp (Chili Shrimp)