Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Szechwan Shrimp (Chili Shrimp) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Szechwan Shrimp (Chili Shrimp)

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on January 24, 2009

      This is very good. I basiclly took the recipe and made Shrimp tacos. Much like fish tacos but with the Chili shrimp. I omit the cornstarch and saute the shrimp with the other ingredients then make a hot slaw of cabbage, sugar, carrots, and rice vinegar for topping the wheat soft tacos. DELISH. Another vesion would be to substitute chipoltle sauce with olive oil for the sesame oil. Great recipe Jessica K

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      The garlic, Ginger & Chili is a great combination that makes these prawns burst with flavor. I cut the oil back to 1 tbsp. I used a Thai sweet chili sauce (very hot) instead of our regular chili sauce. I got all the ingredients ready ahead of time and had them in two bowls-the prawns, garlic, ginger, dry chili & scallions in one and the remaining ingredients in another. It took me 5 minutes for the actual cooking - Thanks Jessica for a delicious recipe, to be repeated, for prawns

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      This is very similar to a popular Chinese dish from my favorite restaurant - what a great recipe! I added a coarsely chopped bell pepper, tomato, and a sliced onion (to sub for scallions), and stir-fried those before adding the shrimp. This will definitely go in regular rotation - thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This was pretty good, the sauce was plenty thick though without the cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful! I added some water-chestnuts and esame seeds for a little extra touch. Even my 12-year old finicky eater loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      My mom, sister and I thought this was great. I didn't use any oil, sherry wine or cornstarch and it was still awesome. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Excellent - we really enjoyed this. I didn't have any scallions on hand but did everything else as directed. We will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      We enjoyed this recipe. I chose to add some veggies to the mix (broccoli & snow peas) which it stir fired first, then proceeded with the recipe. I too cut way back on the oil and used Thai sweet chili sauce and did not find it to be overly hot and spicy. Next time I increase the heat. Thank you Jessica for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Excellent! The WHOLE family loved this. I added 3 extra green onions and used the sauce to make asian slaw (shredded cabbage and carrots). Then I fried the shrimp and added them to the slaw. GREAT over rice, noodles, or in soft tortilla shells.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Although we really enjoy "hot", even this was too hot for my DH. I too had the Asian Hot Chili Sauce and cut it back to 1 Tbs., after readying the reviews. I will make it again with the Thai chili sauce mentioned in other reviews. Thanks Jessica.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      awesome! I used some red Thai sauce in place of the chili sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was a great Szechwan shrimp recipe. I used Thai sweet chili sauce that I had made,and it had great flavor. I doubled the recipe with no problems and I served it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I would say this was average. The serving size is perfect for two, though I made it for myself. I had no desire to get seconds. I did not have chili pepper or flakes so I used some chili powder. I would give this one more try with the correct ingredients- maybe it makes all the difference between average and outstanding?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      I'm sorry, I hate giving a negative review. I didn't give it a star for that reason. I fixed this tonite, and neither I, nor my husband liked it. It was so ordinary... not one of those things you'd fix again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      This was awesome. Served with lettuce wraps and brown rice. Did not use the scallions due to personal preference. Could have used some more chili flakes to spice it up. Will definitely serve this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      I am not a big fan of shrimp but had some in the freezer. I used Thai sweet chili sauce and Sriracha hot chili sauce in place of the ketchup and chili sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Wow, my husband and I both loved it! In fact, my husband loved the smells from the moment it started cooking. We are spicy fanatics so we upped the chili sauce and left out the ketchup, and it was perfect for us, but we agreed that for most palates, its best to go easy on the chili sauce. Also, we live in Mexico, so if we were able to secure all the ingredients here, then this should be an easy dish to assemble anywhere!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This was alright for a quick meal for my boyfriend and I, but I would not serve it to anyone with sophisticated taste buds. I enjoyed the amount of heat the chili peppers gave the dish, but it was a little too much for my boyfriend. Also, I could not get over the ketchup-y taste and was forced to put my plate down before dinner was over. Sorry, but I just do not agree with the other chef's here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Excellent flavors and so quick to put together! I used a Thai chili garlic sauce as it was what I had on hand and skipped the chili flakes. The heat was fine. The only other thing I did was to add a little more sherry after I poured the sauce into the pan because it was a little bit too thick for me. I served the shrimp over Jasmine rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      Really good and not overly hot. I made a little extra sauce and mixed it in with Asian Couscous 153654.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Szechwan Shrimp (Chili Shrimp)

    Serving Size: 1 (284 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 757.1
     
    Calories from Fat 392
    51%
    Total Fat 43.6 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 285.7 mg
    95%
    Sodium 2092.9 mg
    87%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites