10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I liked this salad quite a lot. I enjoyed the combination of spinach, crisp cold pears & apples, and the cilantro. The dressing is delicious and pairs well with the ingredients. I did have a problem with the thickness of the dressing and repeatedly added additional water. I do agree with other reviewers that sunflower seeds or chow mein noodles would be a nice added ingredient to add crunch. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D October 07, 2010

Made this salad yesterday morning and then took in a cooler to the pool with the kids. I made just as listed but reduced the amount of hot pepper sauce and cayenne pepper for kids. Excellent salad and wonderful for a take along. Next time, for adults, I will keep the hot stuff at the amounts written as I like it hot! Also, I think next time I will up the pear and apple to two of each as we really liked those bits the best. Thank you Paula for posting this wonderful and unique salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diplo-mom May 30, 2008

I am so happy eating this salad ~ it's so delicious! i used spicy chili sesame oil instead of the hot pepper sauce & cayenne. I poached my chicken breast in salted water so it's really tender. Love the (slight) burn that's building up! Contrast that with the cool crunchy pears, apples & cucumber ~ yippee! I'm eating the whole thing for my lunch right now. Made for Culinary Quest 2014/CCQ. Oh! I also ended up adding more water than listed to the dressing but once it was thinned out, it was amazing! love the flavors! Thanks, Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo September 12, 2014

Great salad, beautiful to look at too. The dressing is the real star here. I melted the peanut butter in the microwave and slowly added the liquids and this worked perfectly. I omitted the honey and added the juice of a lime to it also, since I like my dressings on the tangier side. I skipped the cayenne, as the hot sauce made it spicy enough for me. I added more cilantro to the salad. The apples were OK in it, but the pears were my favorite - and I thought the amounts were just right. For a vegetarian version I bet tofu or edamame would be wonderful in it. I will make this again, especially the dressing - it would be really good in other applications as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 18, 2011

This salad was delicious. Made on a humid evening and was so nice and refreshing. Made recipe as printed and it was perfect. Next time I am going to add a some grapes and maybe even sprinkle with sunflower seeds or chow mein noodles. Thanks Paula!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam's Mom June 06, 2010

We loved this light salad, a perfect way to welcome summer! I love Asian food that combines a nutty flavor with spicy, and the sweetness of the fruit and honey takes it to another level. I left out the cilantro (personal preference), otherwise made as stated. Next time I may also add some chow mein noodles. Thanks Paula for another great recipe! Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway June 01, 2010

GREAT spicy peanut flavor. We used shredded lettuce, but think your spinach idea would be good too. Very crispy and spicy too. Made for ZWT 6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby June 01, 2010

This salad was outstanding! The creamy-spicy dressing perfectly complemented the fruit. I soaked my greens (spinach and romaine) in ice water while preparing the dressing. I used rice wine vinegar for the vinegar. When the dressing was ready I spun the lettuce, topped it and served immediately. Everyone loved it! Cold, crisp and delicious. Thanks Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper July 30, 2006

Paula thank you for posting this wonderful recipe, this salad is just fantastic! I love the combination of all the flavors, this recipe is going into my favorites, and I look forward to making this many times again, great salad recipe Paula! thanks, Kitten:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen April 07, 2006

This was good; I liked it better the second day when everything was really cold. I used a couple of tablespoons of fresh cilantro; wish I would have used a little more. Unique flavor with the spiciness of the dressing in contrast to the sweet/tart flavor of the fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn July 27, 2004
Szechwan Chicken Salad With Dressing