17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love garlic and ginger. It would probably have been good with just that. Even with low sodium soy it came out too salty for me. Next time I'll use either water or stock with a small amount of soy.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo September 28, 2001

I for one love was thrilled to see this recipe! These are the best...thank you! (Any chance you know how to make the chiken that you wrap in aluminum foil squares...also quite tasty but I haven't been able to find a recipe. I can only find paper chicken which doesn't seem exactly the same). Again, thank you for this one, we'll be having it again tonight!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rise` November 26, 2001

Lovely recipe, my daughter requests these whenever I make any Oriental dishes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheriejo March 04, 2011

Excellent flavor - I used "lite" soy and upp[ed the chili-garlic sauce just a wee bit. Be cautious once you have added the soy -it can burn. I served the beans withHoney Ginger roasted chicken, baked potato & shoe string steamed carrots -great combination. Thanks Mini R for sharing this recipe29 Mar 09 Made again - I appologize for the first photo It was one of the first that I took. Hope you like these more. I have enjoyed this recipe several times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy March 30, 2009

I made these and added just a little bit more of the chili-garlic sauce than the recipe, and they were incredible!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nolen June 08, 2008

Not bad but the lack of rice vinegar and chinese black bean/chili paste combined with the overdose of sesame oil left me asking, "why didn't i just stick to the recipe I know gives the most authentic flavor?"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zenserotonin October 23, 2007

I made this using about 1/4 cup soy, taking in consideration the previous reviews. I still think I will cut back on the soy to maybe 1 Tblsp. We did like it and will be trying it again. Thanks for posting. Rachel Castle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Castle September 24, 2007

We enjoyed this very much. However, I thought it was a little salty. I think that next time I will use low sodium soy sauce. And, perhaps a little bit less of it. Other than that, very nice & we will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feej September 05, 2007

We loved this. I also used lite-soy sauce and reduced the oil by 1/2. Great flavor. Will make this again and again. Really gives green beans a nice twist!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valleygirl3 June 21, 2007

Very good. I cut down cooking time, since I cooked in a wok over a power burner on my stove.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calhoon June 21, 2007
Szechuan-Style Green Beans