67 Reviews

A flavorful dish in less than 15 minutes and under 200 calories. I saved time by using already peeled and deveined shrimps. The outcome surpass my expectation. The finely chopped ginger blended well with other fresh ingredients yet yield a subtle exotic taste. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan April 27, 2002

Oh my gosh! It tasted just like my Grandma used to make. Talk about aunthentic chinese food. This is as close as u can get it. Thanks for posting.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
#39568 October 21, 2002

I made this for my husband and I when the kids were out . . . we loved it! I did all the prep work ahead of time, and when we were ready to eat, dinner was on the table within 10 minutes. I wouldn't serve this to my kids (ages 9 & 11) because it's pretty spicy, although my husband said he'd like it even spicier!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agileangus January 22, 2003

This was so great. Very easy and well seasoned. The minced gingeroot gave this a very distinct flavor. I served this over rice. Wonderful low-cal meal. Thanks :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust August 27, 2002

Made this last night, would give it 5 stars but I made some adjustments. I used chicken instead of shrimp. I also used Thai-style chili sauce (which is very spicy) instead of heinz. I also cut out the sugar and used 2 tsp of honey (because I doubled the recipe). Very good, will make again and try shrimp!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkie May 11, 2010

yum, this was a lot better than expected. Shrimp stir fry never seems to work out for me but i had all the right stuff and wanted to give it a go, this was delicious. i did make a few very small tweaks changes; i doubled the sauce like other reviews suggested, i also threw in a few whole dry red chilis with the garlic, onions and ginger. Used already cooked shrimp so i just heated them through after sauteeing the ginger, garlic, and onions for a moment and added the sauce. Served it with over some veggies and noodles. will make again for sure UPDATE: tried this with chicken, its just as good, especially if you throw in a handful of peanuts!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamwa April 27, 2010

Killer recipe! My ultra-picky husband loved it. Will definitely make this again and again. Only thing I would change is when doubling the sauce ingredients, do not double the cornstarch - it was really thick with 2 Tbs. Husband does not like rice so I made fried lomein noodles. Perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lunchmeat April 05, 2010

Very very good, my DH and son inhaled this! But I had to drink a lot of water to eat it all. Guess I'm a bit whimpy, but this really is too hot for me to eat very often. I did add a little lite soy sauce to my serving and it toned it down a bit. The only change I made was to add some water chestnuts with the onions. They gave it a nice crunch! I did double the sauce, but still used only 1 T. cornstarch and it was plenty.......I even had to add a bit of water as it thickened. I served the shrimp over rice and it was a big success with the family (except for my tender taste buds......). I will definitely make this again.....Donna

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 March 13, 2010

Awesome! The ginger flavor is great! I substituted the Heinz chili sauce for sriracha which is, apparently, much hotter and our mouths were on FIRE! (we managed to finish it anyway:-)) I made it again; doubled the sauce but only did 1/2 Tbsp. sriracha and it was fabulous. Thanks for this great, quick and low calorie recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yanni1 August 12, 2009

An excellent dish that was fast and easy to make. The only differences I made were to double to sauce recipe and I used frozen shrimp that was already cleaned and cooked, didn't cook it long (just a couple of minutes to heat it) so it didn't overcook. I'll make this quite often. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maddy331 October 22, 2003
Szechuan Shrimp