Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Szechuan Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Szechuan Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2002

      A flavorful dish in less than 15 minutes and under 200 calories. I saved time by using already peeled and deveined shrimps. The outcome surpass my expectation. The finely chopped ginger blended well with other fresh ingredients yet yield a subtle exotic taste. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2002

      Oh my gosh! It tasted just like my Grandma used to make. Talk about aunthentic chinese food. This is as close as u can get it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      I made this for my husband and I when the kids were out . . . we loved it! I did all the prep work ahead of time, and when we were ready to eat, dinner was on the table within 10 minutes. I wouldn't serve this to my kids (ages 9 & 11) because it's pretty spicy, although my husband said he'd like it even spicier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2002

      This was so great. Very easy and well seasoned. The minced gingeroot gave this a very distinct flavor. I served this over rice. Wonderful low-cal meal. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Made this last night, would give it 5 stars but I made some adjustments. I used chicken instead of shrimp. I also used Thai-style chili sauce (which is very spicy) instead of heinz. I also cut out the sugar and used 2 tsp of honey (because I doubled the recipe). Very good, will make again and try shrimp!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      yum, this was a lot better than expected. Shrimp stir fry never seems to work out for me but i had all the right stuff and wanted to give it a go, this was delicious. i did make a few very small tweaks changes; i doubled the sauce like other reviews suggested, i also threw in a few whole dry red chilis with the garlic, onions and ginger. Used already cooked shrimp so i just heated them through after sauteeing the ginger, garlic, and onions for a moment and added the sauce. Served it with over some veggies and noodles. will make again for sure UPDATE: tried this with chicken, its just as good, especially if you throw in a handful of peanuts!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Killer recipe! My ultra-picky husband loved it. Will definitely make this again and again. Only thing I would change is when doubling the sauce ingredients, do not double the cornstarch - it was really thick with 2 Tbs. Husband does not like rice so I made fried lomein noodles. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Very very good, my DH and son inhaled this! But I had to drink a lot of water to eat it all. Guess I'm a bit whimpy, but this really is too hot for me to eat very often. I did add a little lite soy sauce to my serving and it toned it down a bit. The only change I made was to add some water chestnuts with the onions. They gave it a nice crunch! I did double the sauce, but still used only 1 T. cornstarch and it was plenty.......I even had to add a bit of water as it thickened. I served the shrimp over rice and it was a big success with the family (except for my tender taste buds......). I will definitely make this again.....Donna

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Awesome! The ginger flavor is great! I substituted the Heinz chili sauce for sriracha which is, apparently, much hotter and our mouths were on FIRE! (we managed to finish it anyway:-)) I made it again; doubled the sauce but only did 1/2 Tbsp. sriracha and it was fabulous. Thanks for this great, quick and low calorie recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      An excellent dish that was fast and easy to make. The only differences I made were to double to sauce recipe and I used frozen shrimp that was already cleaned and cooked, didn't cook it long (just a couple of minutes to heat it) so it didn't overcook. I'll make this quite often. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      Excellent! Very flavorful, but not too hot (or my daughter wouldn't have liked it so much). Simple and quick to make. I used 1 1/2 lbs. of shrimp for our family of five without any changes to the sauce, except a little more garlic. You can't go wrong with this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

      I wish I would have doubled the sauce. I did add addional chili sauce for spiciness. It tasted great served over rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2003

      I made this for my husband and son tonite and got great reviews all around! Even my son who is not a shrimp lover enjoyed it. I cut the red pepper flakes down to 1/8, but it really does need the 1/4 tsp. I served it over angel hair pasta. I am anxious to try this with chicken next.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      Very tasty dish! And very easy to make. I doubled the sauce, but not the cornstarch. I didn't have rice wine or sherry wine so I just used some white wine. Also, added a thinly sliced red pepper to have a veggie in there. Enjoyed by all, next time I will double the recipe as a few would have liked to have seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      We liked this but it was nothing special. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

    • on April 26, 2012

      BANGIN'!! I doubled the sauce and served on top of the weight watchers chinese stir fried vegetables as well. Tastes so bad for you but isn't!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      We loved this dish. I served it with rice and we will most definately make this again. I left the heat level to what the recipe called for and it was perfect for us. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      This was really good!! It had great flavor and took no time to make it. I did only use 1/2 T chili sauce and that was the perfect amount of heat for us. My husband is not a big fan of shrimp, but he loved the flavor. I think I may try this with chicken next time and maybe add some veggies. This will be a go to recipe because it is so fast and I have everything on hand. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Tasted unlike any Szechuan Shrimp I've ever eaten. I would never make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Szechuan Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.3
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    22%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 142.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1286.0 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites