310 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Based on the previous reviews I decided to use 2 tbsp oyster sauce, 2 tbsp hoisin sauce and 3 tbsp soysauce. I also used ground chicken and chicken broth. The flavour was fantastic and it was super easy to throw together. Next time I will add som vegetables like cabbage, snowpeas. Made for Everyday is a Holiday.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini April 17, 2010

this was delicious, and so easy. i made it to go with several other asian style dishes, it was the first to disappear

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia December 14, 2002

Russell cooked this for our dinner tonight. He said it was fast, and easy to make, and I reckon it was fantastic to eat! Such a yummy way to use mince and vermicelli. Thanks Sharon.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS December 22, 2002

This one really surprised me! Followed the recipe exactly and it tasted amazing! It really kills the monotony of the same ol' ground beef dishes. It had the perfect Asian kick that I love. The ginger gave it an amazing flavor. This one was gobbled up fast! No leftovers on this dish! My picky 19 year old daughter even loved it...onions and all!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovelylaura1480 October 27, 2011

I wasn't sure about this, since it has hoisin (which I'm not a huge fan of on its own) but it turned out somewhat reminiscent of sesame noodles. Instead of beef broth, I always use a bouillon sachet mixed in water (cheaper and portion controlled). We ate this with linguine instead of vermicelli. I also reduced the hoisin to 4 tablespoons with success. Omitted the green onion as well as we didn't have any.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msbluerasp June 02, 2010

Make sure you like hoisin sauce before making this recipe. Taste the sauce from the bottle first. I'm sure if you like hoisin, this is fantastic. However, if you find the taste of the sauce from the bottle is not your preference, this dish may not be for you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanT August 26, 2012

This is my husband's absolute favorite meal. Definitely something different! I literally throw everything into the crockpot except for the noodles and let it cook all day. I don't even brown the onions or meat in sesame oil beforehand, I just throw it all in raw. Then serve it over noodles. I do up the soy sauce by 1 TBSP and I only use 2 TBSP of hoisin sauce like others suggested.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelseywhitfield November 07, 2011

Came across this recipe just looking for something different to do with ground beef....well actually antelope. This recipe is very easy and even tastier. Will definitely add to the rotation. I used stir fry noodles instead of spaghetti....turned out great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bballmom June 22, 2011

Loved this!! made with thin whole wheat spaghetti and extra crushed red peppers...we love spicy!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babydoll070409 December 05, 2010

I made a vegan version by subbing the hoisin for soy sauce and the beef for red beans. Good meal! Just the right amount of spicy, easy to prepare, and the beans stand in really well for the beef. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS December 01, 2010
Szechuan Noodles With Spicy Beef Sauce