13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was ok. I will make it again, but just seemed like it was missing something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud April 21, 2013

Better than any restaurant take-out I've ever had. I plan to double the sauce next time to pour over rice. Also, I will try steamed broccoli instead of green beans...personal preference. Can't wait to try this with modifications! thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chic Geek February 21, 2015

Very good base recipe. We doubled the sauce as we prefer it saucy, but the original sauce ratio is truer to the Shanghainese version. I agree that there is a little something missing from the recipe. After tasting I added 2-3 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar (remember we doubled the sauce) and that helped to make the flavors pop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrl March 30, 2014

Excellent and very easy!!! I've made it several times and always use a 16oz bag of frozen green beans that I simply added frozen to the browned pork (cover it and cook for 5ish minutes to steam the beans), and I also added garlic powder to the sauce to save time. I've used ground chicken with excellent results. Yesterday I made my own hoisin sauce, which took it over the top! I usually serve it over Curried Couscous (#16866) and roasted carrots with garlic powder, 5 spice powder and EVOO for an absolutely wonderful meal. Thanks so much for the keeper, I'll be making this one again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz April 23, 2013

I was looking for a recipe using ground pork and frozen peas and happened to come across this one. It sounded great, so I tried it with the frozen peas and it WAS great! Like another reviewer I drastically reduced the amount of red pepper flakes, but otherwise followed the recipe as to ingredients and amounts. Served it over Asian stir-fry noodles. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz November 18, 2011

Extremely delish! I've had this in my cookbook forever and finally picked up some ground pork when it was on sale at the store. I used a little over a pound of ground pork and knew I wanted some sauce to go over rice, so I doubled the sauce ingredients. I scaled waaayyy back on the cayenne...the recipe called for 2 tsp and I only used 1/2 tsp and I even doubled the sauce! It was just enough...left your lips tingling and nose running without burning your tongue off! Can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend August 25, 2011

As previous reviewers have commented, this is delicious and *very* easy as well! Perfect amount of hotness for us. The only substitution I made was not using low-sodium soy sauce, since I didn't have any on hand; used the full-sodium, and cut back on the salt. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole October 22, 2010

I used a entire bag of frozen whole green beans, and it came out great. That amount of red pepper flakes leaves your lips just slightly tingling, so if you're more of a mild-type person, I'd use half the amount of flakes and then allow those eating to spice to taste if desired. Will be making this again, maybe next time with broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eris August 03, 2010

I've made this twice now, and both times it's turned out fabulous. It's pretty easy, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsWhite March 29, 2010

I made this once before and I can't believe that I didn't review it. Lovely taste. I didn't use any Hoisin, it is just not a favorite. Used the full amount of chilie flakes plus a smidge. I added some broccoli florets as I was short of beans a definite do again recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 26, 2009
Szechuan Green Beans With Ground Pork