17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make mine exactly the same way so no need to wait to try them to rate. I have mine marinating in the fridge as I like them really cold and not at room temp. I did skip the sugar just personal pref and sometimes I add lemon or lime juice but great both ways. Thanks. Made for ZWT 6 for Looney Spoon Phoodies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen May 24, 2010

This was ok for us. A tad bit too spicy. I left off the cilantro -- store didn't have any. If I make again, I'll cut down the crushed red pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty August 07, 2013

These were pretty good. A little too much sesame oil though. Not our favorite, but pretty good. Made for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York June 03, 2010

Easy and delicious too! I halved the recipe easily. Thanks for a great salad! Made by a Looney Spoon Phoodie for ZWT#6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 01, 2010

My DH loved them!!! I would prefer a little sweeter, but he told me not to touch them! Made for ZWT6 and the Looney Spoon Phoodies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 May 31, 2010

Lovely & very flavorful! The heat was nicely contrasted with the sesame oil & tang from the vinegar. Served with Spicy Szechuan Beef for ZWT6~Asia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D May 24, 2010

I'm integrating this into my Feng Shui to make sure I get my chi right on. Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 20, 2010

Oh Bren, just spent the morning *kicking* my cucumbers around the farm, but after they got mashy (from all the kicking), I thought I better re-read the directions. Oh! It said, "Cucumber Salad *with* a kick. Well, then I waited another hour or so for the cucumber to kick back, but alas it never did :( So I gave up since I was hungrier then a bear, and thought I would then look at the rest of the recipe, and boy am I glad I did. I love rice vinegar and find it beautifully complimentary in this dish. The sesame oil added a nice addition to the cucumbers as well as the red pepper flakes which I could eat the whole jar of. I had no problem with the salt, as tend to do this with cucumbers when making cucumber salad, and coupled with the sugar the balance was perfection. Great!! Will make again. Made for *ZWT Six* Zee Zanies Cookz, May 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 20, 2010
Szechuan Cucumbers