Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Szechuan Cucumbers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Szechuan Cucumbers

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2010

      I make mine exactly the same way so no need to wait to try them to rate. I have mine marinating in the fridge as I like them really cold and not at room temp. I did skip the sugar just personal pref and sometimes I add lemon or lime juice but great both ways. Thanks. Made for ZWT 6 for Looney Spoon Phoodies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      This was ok for us. A tad bit too spicy. I left off the cilantro -- store didn't have any. If I make again, I'll cut down the crushed red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

    • on June 03, 2010

      These were pretty good. A little too much sesame oil though. Not our favorite, but pretty good. Made for ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Easy and delicious too! I halved the recipe easily. Thanks for a great salad! Made by a Looney Spoon Phoodie for ZWT#6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Easy, peasy and very tasty - LOVED the addition of the chilli and sesame oil, as well as the rice vinegar. Served these with Asian Garlic Sauce, My Thai Sesame Noodles and Salt and Pepper Prawns (Shrimp) for a very Asian and wonderful lunch today. Made for the Cheese and Whine gang and thoroughly enjoyed! Merci, FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      My DH loved them!!! I would prefer a little sweeter, but he told me not to touch them! Made for ZWT6 and the Looney Spoon Phoodies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Lovely & very flavorful! The heat was nicely contrasted with the sesame oil & tang from the vinegar. Served with Spicy Szechuan Beef for ZWT6~Asia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      I'm integrating this into my Feng Shui to make sure I get my chi right on. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Oh Bren, just spent the morning *kicking* my cucumbers around the farm, but after they got mashy (from all the kicking), I thought I better re-read the directions. Oh! It said, "Cucumber Salad *with* a kick. Well, then I waited another hour or so for the cucumber to kick back, but alas it never did :( So I gave up since I was hungrier then a bear, and thought I would then look at the rest of the recipe, and boy am I glad I did. I love rice vinegar and find it beautifully complimentary in this dish. The sesame oil added a nice addition to the cucumbers as well as the red pepper flakes which I could eat the whole jar of. I had no problem with the salt, as tend to do this with cucumbers when making cucumber salad, and coupled with the sugar the balance was perfection. Great!! Will make again. Made for *ZWT Six* Zee Zanies Cookz, May 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I tried a cucumber salad last year at a restaurant and really enjoyed it, and this recipe comes close. I enjoyed the flavour of the heat with a subtle sweetness. The only item I will cut back on when I make this again is the salt, I found it to be a little salty for my taste. I also used my mandolin to keep the slices uniform. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Yum! This was so simple and so good. I loved the crushed red pepper in these. Thanks Brenda for being such a great PAC Spring 2010 host!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Very good! Tastes exactly like at our local chinese restaurant. I'm glad to find it here, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      these are excellent. there is a restaurant here in pa called margaret kuo's who serves these as an appetizer when you are seated at a table, and i can honestly say that these are the same, if not better. a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      These were soooo good. There's a lot of heat with a touch of sweetness on the back of the bite coming from the sugar and cucumber. In taste, these are sort of like a kimchee cucumber. I sliced my cucumbers using my madoline and found them to be a bit too thin so next time I will adjust. (Yes, I'll be making these often.) Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Very good - I sliced the cukes and made the dressing (I added a clove of garlic that I fished out before adding to the cukes) ahead of time and put in the fridge. Mixed them up a couple of hours before the event - added cilantro right before serving. Was a hit at the bash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      This was just excellent! The dressing really makes the cukes special. This is already on the menu for tomorrow again, at popular request.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Szechuan Cucumbers

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 31.4
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    46%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 389.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes