Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Szechuan Carrot Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Szechuan Carrot Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2002

      This soup is wonderful! I love carrot soup and this was better than any I have had. The red pepper adds a little zip without making it hot. I used half and half instead of the milk because I had some in the refigerator. I will definately be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      This is a pretty good soup recipe. I would agree with a couple of the other reviewers, that is a lot of sesame oil, so I cut it in half, and it was still a bit strong. I also, doubled the garlc, reduced the peanut butter to 1 tablespoon, and also added a bit of marsala wine. IMPORTANT: if you let this boil once the milk is in it it will curdle, so make sure you watch that. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Delicious! I did everything exactly as you instructed and it turned out great. We didn't use the garnish, however, because we're watching the calories but the soup didn't really need it. We also baked a couple of potatoes and cut them into cubes and added a few chunks into the soup to fill us up quicker. The only thing that would make the recipe better was to have more of an exact measurement for the ginger. Thanks Mille for an easy, nutritious soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Very Easy and very good!! This soup was simply delicious! I read all the reviews and cut back on the sesame oil like I was advised and it tuned out great! I used 1% milk and just used low fat sour cream, to cut back on the calories, However I did cook the onions and garlic in butter, Next time I make it I might add some hot sauce for some added heat! This soup will be added to my weekly soup rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Yummy! This was so good, even though I cooked it uncovered by accident, and all the water boiled away and I had to add more at the end when I realized my mistake. Even though it's delicious like this, the only change I would make is to use a teeny bit less peanut butter and a little more soy sauce (or just salt). I also used a Chinese leek instead of celery. But it's still worth 5 stars! PS- not to get too wordy, but I live in China and the all of the fresh vegetables together only cost me 50 cents. So it's also awesome because it's so affordable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      WOW! WOW! WOW! If you are looking for for a healthy, hearty soup then look no further. (We're sensitive to onions so we left that out.) I garnished mine with cilantro and crushed peanuts. I think next time I'll triple it so we can eat on it for a few days. Thanks so very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Cooked this at the end of last summer and it was a great way to use up a glut of carrots. Tasty and interesting combination of flavours. Just cooked it up again today. With the vegies I substituted leek for onion and sweet potato for celery, still quite delicious and healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      this soup was wonderful! Will make again and again. I did not have the hot pepper flakes so I used red chili oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This a fanastic soup and you can make it as spicy as you want/like. I used a tablespoon or two of Sirachi to spice it up some more (the heat was a bit over the top for 'company', according to my wife) just before blending. We both loved it extra hot, and would serve this to 'company' per recipe instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

    • on February 12, 2008

      I was looking for a different recipe for my carrots and am glad i stumbled upon this. The entire family enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      My husband loved this soup, but although it was very tasty, I was a little disappointed. I somehow expected more, some 'wow' factor that was missing. I usually love (toasted) sesame oil in recipes, but to my taste, this tiny amount was dominant over other flavours. Next time I'll try a half tspn. Perhaps I'll added or garnish it with some chopped cilantro, or even some chopped chives, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      This has to be the most delicious soup I have ever had in my life!!!! It is a perfect balance of sweet and spicy. The combination of flavors is fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      rave reviews on this one! a really nice combination of flavours. i used my trusty stick blender, rather than a bar blender. i didn't have any sour cream on hand, so i just had a glass of milk with it. helped clean the palatte, and cut the richness a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2003

      Excellent soup. I enjoyed it very much. I cut the carrots smaller in order to reduce the cooking time a bit. To cut down on fat, I used skim milk and drizzled with a mixture of yogurt and milk. It was slightly spicy and VERY tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Szechuan Carrot Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.5
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    53%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 26.2 mg
    8%
    Sodium 1096.3 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh gingerroot

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites