19 Reviews

This soup is wonderful! I love carrot soup and this was better than any I have had. The red pepper adds a little zip without making it hot. I used half and half instead of the milk because I had some in the refigerator. I will definately be making this often.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith October 26, 2002

This is a pretty good soup recipe. I would agree with a couple of the other reviewers, that is a lot of sesame oil, so I cut it in half, and it was still a bit strong. I also, doubled the garlc, reduced the peanut butter to 1 tablespoon, and also added a bit of marsala wine. IMPORTANT: if you let this boil once the milk is in it it will curdle, so make sure you watch that. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Maven April 06, 2010

Delicious! I did everything exactly as you instructed and it turned out great. We didn't use the garnish, however, because we're watching the calories but the soup didn't really need it. We also baked a couple of potatoes and cut them into cubes and added a few chunks into the soup to fill us up quicker. The only thing that would make the recipe better was to have more of an exact measurement for the ginger. Thanks Mille for an easy, nutritious soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti C November 18, 2009

This is a great recipe. The only change I made was to use chipotle chili oil (we have a local chili oil here called Chili Beak, which has an amazing smoky flavor) in place of the crushed red pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonnell M. February 01, 2016

This soup really benefits from sitting overnight. When I tried it right after I made it, I didn't care for it at all. I'm glad I saved it overnight and tried it again! The flavors were much better and I thought it was great. I followed it exactly except I added more sugar because I didn't think it had enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover November 18, 2015

Thee best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olygurl March 09, 2015

I LOVE THIS SOUP!!!! I make it all the time, great for taking to work for lunch. I do not add all the oil and I use Almond butter instead. I make it many different ways, I have used pumpkin, apples, red potatoes, I tend to add more ginger just for my taste. Thanks Mille for a great soup that keeps myself and many loved ones and friends warm with all the rain in Seattle.... :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steven M. December 06, 2014

Very Easy and very good!! This soup was simply delicious! I read all the reviews and cut back on the sesame oil like I was advised and it tuned out great! I used 1% milk and just used low fat sour cream, to cut back on the calories, However I did cook the onions and garlic in butter, Next time I make it I might add some hot sauce for some added heat! This soup will be added to my weekly soup rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcea Pfarner April 20, 2010

Yummy! This was so good, even though I cooked it uncovered by accident, and all the water boiled away and I had to add more at the end when I realized my mistake. Even though it's delicious like this, the only change I would make is to use a teeny bit less peanut butter and a little more soy sauce (or just salt). I also used a Chinese leek instead of celery. But it's still worth 5 stars! PS- not to get too wordy, but I live in China and the all of the fresh vegetables together only cost me 50 cents. So it's also awesome because it's so affordable!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sashyd November 08, 2009

WOW! WOW! WOW! If you are looking for for a healthy, hearty soup then look no further. (We're sensitive to onions so we left that out.) I garnished mine with cilantro and crushed peanuts. I think next time I'll triple it so we can eat on it for a few days. Thanks so very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennabelle November 07, 2009
Szechuan Carrot Soup