Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sylvia's Kolache Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sylvia's Kolache Dough

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2013

      This was my first try at making kolaches since I had no idea what they were until recently. Delightful little things. I had no clue how much dough to use per kolache or how to assemble them, how much filling to put, how to close them shut, etc. So the end results ranged from warped ping-pong ball sized to the size of my fist. But I guess we have to start somewhere. I think I'll cut off the excess "tail" next time and maybe use a cookie cutter to be more uniform. The bread itself was really soft and light with a nice crust. Also, I'll be sure to season my filling really well next time. If you don't salt it enough, the flavor gets in all the bread. Thank you for sharing, I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      This is the BEST dough recipe I have ever used!!! Easy to put together, the dough rises great and is easy to work with. My kolaches were fabulous and today I am making cinnamon rolls out of the dough. Thank you for this GREAT recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

      These were amazing! I might have spilled a little extra sugar in there, then I added breakfast sausage patties or bacon with Velveeta and jalapeno slices and they are simply amazing! I grew up in Houston, then moved to Ohio and nobody up here has even heard of the word "Kolache," so I came here and found your recipe and....voilla!!!!
      Thanks for having this posted for people like me to see!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Thank you! My kids love the local ham & cheese kolache pockets made by family donut shops here in Houston. I've been looking for a dough recipe for a while! When I asked at the bakery what their recipe was they just said "we get a mix"!!! This is SO much like what we get fresh from the local shop.
      I posted an extension of this recipe (citing Sylvia's 238688 of course) for anyone who wants to see how I "finish" the kolaches

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Thank You!! I have moved a few times and lost my mom's recipe for kolache dough. I was crushed when I could not find it last Christmas. I knew it had a lot of flour, yeast and eggs cause I made it for several years. I have searched several sites and this recipe is like I remember especially when you said about the cinnamon rolls. My mom used to make cinnamon rolls after too!. I still have not seen the filling my mom used. It was a prune filling with prunes, applesauce and sugar but I think I can replicate that to taste. Thank you sooo much now I will be making them this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

    • on September 06, 2008

      I have been searching for a good kolache dough recipe and stumbled across yours and I must say that this is the best ever! These taste just like the ones we have here in Texas. I stuffed some with German Sausage, Kielbasa, and German Sausage with green chilis. Next time I will put some cheese in them. These were simple to make and didn't take a whole lot of time. Thank you for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I have been looking for a good kolache dough recipe for a while now, and this is it! I dont like a sweet dough, so I took down the sugar to two tbl. Before I baked my kolaches, I brushed them with an egg wash, which helped them brown up nicely for me. I made sausage and cheese kolaches, and they were better than the ones you buy at the doughnut shops. I used american kraft singles for my cheese, and eckridge farms breakfast sausages for my meat. I rolled each sausae with a piece of cheese and rolled them in the dough. Make sure they are sealed well because the cheese will escape and make a sticky mess!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sylvia's Kolache Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (1650 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.0
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    25%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 34.2 mg
    11%
    Sodium 293.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes