Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Syd's Basic Pizza Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Syd's Basic Pizza

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2011

      I called the family to the table to see what I had made. Pepper, my cockatiel, found no humor in this event. You know, he not being a pizza eater and all that. Well, he fixed on me a snake-eyed stare and accused me of not being very considerate. A spoonful of tuna will set things right and thank goodness he has a short memory. I AM happy to say this was much enjoyed by all the others. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I am trying to overcome my "fear" of the yeastie beasties and I chose to make this recipe because the directions were very clear. Let me tell you, it worked very well for me. My first homemade pizza dough (with no cheating from the bread machine). Very excited with the results. I did add some mushrooms to the toppings and used pizza sauce instead of pasta sauce. The crust bake up fluffy and the middle of the pizza was not soggy at all! Thanks for sharing Sydney Mike!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      A good pizza. Used pizza sauce instead of pasta sauce. Added some green peppers, red peppers, mushrooms and fresh tomatoes. I halved the recipe to make one big square pizza. Crust definitely puffs up when cooked, so get it pretty thin prior to cooking. Mine was done baking in 20 minutes. Made for Veg*n Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This is a great pizza recipe! It is not too thick and not too thin. It baked perfectly so that the crust is not soggy and you can pick it up with your hand to eat. After 20 minutes, the cheese was getting a little too brown so I turned it down to 350 for the next 10 minutes. I halved this to make only 1 pizza since it was just my youngest son and I for dinner tonight. He loved the crust and he's very picky! For the sauce, I used "Kittencal's Pizza Sauce". I loved the addition of the romano cheese and used a combination of provolone and mozzerella cheeses. I also had to add some pepperoni for my son even though I could be happy, too, with just a simple cheese and sauce pizza. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This is an excellent pizza. The crust is quite simple and quick (other than time to rise) to make. I used pizza sauce rather than pasta sauce. Made for November Beverage Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This is a very good, basic (and traditional) pizza -- We loved it! I made two pizzas, but made them in 15x10 rectangular pans. I used fresh mozzarella slices instead of shredded, and on one pizza also added some basil from the garden. Magnificent! Thanks, Syd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Very good and versatle pizza recipe. I made 1.5x the recipe and divided the dough into 6 smaller pizzas. Each member of the family was able to top with their choice of toppings. Mine included Genoa Salami, red & green pepper strips, fresh mozzarella, romano, feta and olives. Kids were Syd's recipe plus Pepperoni. Everyone enjoyed this. The smaller pizzas baked for 20 minutes at the same temp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This crust was awesome! The Romano cheese was yummy too. I did cheat a little and have my stand mixer do some of the kneading for me :) Great recipe, much better than delivery! Thanks, Chandra

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Syd's Basic Pizza

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 692.3
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    36%
    Total Fat 27.8 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 82.4 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1562.7 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.6 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 35.6 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes