Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swiss Steak for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swiss Steak for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 10, 2010

      Great crock pot dinner! This recipe was just what I was looking for to use up a less-than-tender cut of meat. It was so nice to come home to dinner ready in that crockpot! Thanks for posting a keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Really good! I cooked for 10 hours & the meat was extremely tender!! I followed the recipe exactly and just felt a little more seasoning would have been nice - I added salt & pepper at the table & it helped. My husband ate the leftovers with a generous splash of hot sauce over fusilli & really enjoyed that, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I made this yesterday for supper. The change I made was I added a 2 cans of chopped tomatoes with diced green pepper and celery. I left our the carrot. I also doubled the meat, this was a nice change for supper. Thanks for sharing this recipe. We all enjoyed this. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      This was a very good simple Swiss steak, put it in the crockpot and go about you day. I used a bottle of spicy pasta sauce which gave it a nice tingle. The meat was wonderfully fork tender. thansks for posting I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Very good and easy. I made a few minor changes based on what I had on hand by using only 1 (8 oz) can of tomato sauce and 1 can of V-8. I also added some mushrooms which I needed to use up. We served this with noodles for a great middle-of-the-week supper. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      My husband made this and it was delicious! He added a pinch of thyme + some minced garlic to the vegs, which he sauteed in a little oil and put it in the crock. Then he seared the meat and added it in. Deglazed browining pan with a little white wine and added it to crock. Last, he added one can beef broth plus a bay leaf and let the whole thing simmer in the crock.. Thank you for this delicious, homey meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      I was really skeptical about this recipe because I thought that this was just gonna taste like tomato sauce, so I made some adjustments. 1. I browned my breaded steaks in olive oil. 2. I added some basil and garlic. It turned out very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      Cooked this today. Found the exact same recipe in my crockpot recipe book. Cooked on high for 3 hours. Only 3 servings - maybe we just have big servings. Very tasty served with mashed potatoes. Will do this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      Easy to prepare and delicious. I put the flour, salt and pepper in a plastic bag, added the steak pieces and shook them well to coat. I substituted canned diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce too and added 1 teaspoon granulated sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. Wonderful recipe, thanks for another family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2004

      This was very good and easy! I substituted a can of diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce. Other than that, I prepared as directed, serving with vegetables and Garlic Bubble loaf. This is a great crockpot meal! Thanks Christine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2004

      this was very good! i will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      Tender and tasty. It is sure to be a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      This is excellent! I didn't change anything. I fixed it for my family to eat while I was at school. They didn't fix anything else to go with it. Next time, I will serve it with mashed potatoes, as I am sure the sauce would be great over the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      I made this last week for the first time and my Dad's comment was "Don't lose that recipe pet". It was so simple and really tasty. My kind of family dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swiss Steak for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.1
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    46%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 82.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 644.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 25.0 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes