Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "swiss" Round Steak With Onion Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "swiss" Round Steak With Onion Gravy

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2008

      I asked DH what he thought of this recipe...his answer...GREAT!!! I scaled this down for the two of us, but followed your recipe. The only change I made was to add seasoned salt to the flour. The meat was fork tender. I made the entire dish in my cast iron skillet, from browning to sauting, to baking. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      It was easy to make but just not enough flavor for us. It was very bland. If I ever made it again I would have to season the flour mixture some way. It was very tender though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      Delicious and very affordable. Everything tasted just perfect together and this was a very easy recipe to prepare. I wish I would have seen the suggestion about putting the flour in a big zipper bag. Doh! The small mess I made was worth it. And best of all, I have a lot of leftovers. I will be serving over egg noodles. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Awesome! So easy, and yummy! My husband LOVED it! And to save a little on the mess, I put the flour and steak in a gallon size bag and pounded it in the bag. Saved me some time with clean up, and worked very well! Thank You For the Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      I thought this was fabulous. It reminded me of a dish that my best friend's mom used to make. She was Slovenian, so I always assumed it was something I'd never be able to copy flavorwise. But, you did it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      This was so good! The steak was very tender and my kids kept coming back for the gravy for their mashed potatoes. (We did add mushrooms) Yum! We will be making this again. My husband wants to try it in the crockpot after you brown up everything. I don't see why it wouldn't work. I'll let you know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      This was absolutely wonderful..the gravy tasted so good. I served with mashed potatoes and corn...a family favorite!!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      I followed the directions exactly except that I added some fresh, sliced baby bellas with the onion and garlic and I pounded the steaks between pieces of parchment paper to cut down a little on the mess. I served it with a side of mashed potatoes. I must not have gotten enough flour into the meat as my gravy didn't thicken (though I dredged it and pounded it twice on each side) and I thought it came out a little dry, but DH really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Great comfort food. Directions were easy to follow . Everyone enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      This was wonderful. My hubby loved it! I added lots of mushrooms and it turned out perfect. I used one 14 oz can of beef broth and it seemed to be plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      I have made this for yrs.. I have the store tenderize the round steak for me and then i cut all the fat off when i get home. I fry mine in an electric skillet and then after frying the meat i put it in the casserole bowl. I take the beef broth and add flour to it and make the gravy that way. But i use 2 cans of beef broth to a 1/3cup of flour and shake it up good and put in the electric skillet to thicken and put in the onion chopped up with the garlic and then i add fresh portabello mushrooms. Then pour over the steak in the casserole dish. The reason i like to use the electric skillet is because of all the scrappings in the bottom of the skillet..........It`s so yummy when u put the mushrooms in.......Enjoy...........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      Wife and I ate the whole thing!!!! Easy and tasty...added some fresh mushrooms to the onions/garlic and they complimented recipe jut fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      This eventually turned out very good but I made a few mistakes that made it more tempermental. First, I chose to "make" beef broth using Herbox Ground bouillon cubes added to water. Well, it didn't hardly flavor the gravy at all so make sure you buy canned beef broth or use a recipe for it. I also tried to dredge the steaks in flour, brown and then sprinkle flour into the pan. Again, another mistake. I ended up with liquid rather than gravy. So, after cooking I removed the steak topped with onions and served. Even with all my mistakes the meat was very good and the onions complimented it very well. According to Wondra, it should take approximately 4 tbsp to make a gravy using two cups of liquid. So... next time I will put 4 tbsp of flour into the liquid first and then add the steak and onions on top. Same results without the mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      Great recipe! I have had this in my cookbook for a long time and finally had a chance to make it. My DH especially enjoyed this! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      I enjoyed this very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      We've always called it Swiss Steak, and it was excellent! I wasn't sure I'd pounded enough flour into the meat, so I sprinkled some over the top before adding the onions and garlic, and the gravy was perfect. I also added some mushrooms. Very easy, very tasty, and almost exactly what I remember my grandma making when I was little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      I added mushrooms after the onions were almost done and then I baked everything in the oven at 325 deg for an hour and a 1/2. Reminded me of beef stroganoff. We thought it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      Great recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written and I didn't have any problems. The meat came out of the oven nice and tender, and we had more than enough gravy. I served it wish mashed potatoes (to soak up the gravy) and frozen white corn. Thanks Papergoddess, I'll be making this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      This recipe has quickly become a household favorite, it is wonderfully tender. I found that for plentiful gravy more broth is needed; I add 3-4 cups. Be sure to get plenty of flour into the meat when pounding to optimize gravy thickness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      This is simply delicious! The hardest part is pounding the flour into the steaks. I found that if I did this and let the steaks sit for a few minutes, I could pound more flour into them, besides my arm needed to rest! LOL! I had a 14 oz. can of beef broth and it was not quite enough to cover the steaks, but it did not seem to matter. The aroma from the garlic is sensational and my steaks were so tender! Yummy and easy! DH hardly ever takes his lunch to work, but he is taking this tomorrow! Thanks Papergoddess for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "swiss" Round Steak With Onion Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 469.2
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    51%
    Total Fat 26.8 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 124.1 mg
    41%
    Sodium 543.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 38.7 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes