60 Reviews

This was AWSOME!! I have never in my life eaten round steak as temder as this. Delicious, and not too hard to make either. I really enjoyed this recipe, and this will be the way I cook my round steak from now on. Thank you papergoddes!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginaaaaaa June 06, 2007

I tried this today and it came out great. I pounded the steak first, seasoned it with Goya Adobo seasoned salt and onion powder, i also added both to the flour. I wasn't sure if it was to cook covered or uncovered so I cooked it uncovered. I noticed that the "gravy" was almost all dried up and gummy after an hour of cooking. I took the steak out, added more water and used a hand blender made gravy and cooked for an additional hour. Came out great! Next time I'll cover the pan to ensure the liquid doesn't evaporate too quickly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Criolla March 09, 2014

Very good recipe. Easy and delicious. Been wanting a swiss steak recipe without tomatos for a while and this one is just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gill P March 06, 2014

We enjoyed this beef dish for lunch today. I made it as directed, without any changes. It was a tad bit bland (maybe I didn't use enough salt and pepper in the flour?), but that was easily enough remedied with a salt and pepper shaker at the table. I mixed the onions, garlic and gravy with some cooked brown rice for a quick, easy side. One suggestion (note to self, as I used thicker cut round steaks): use thin cut steak to make the pounding process easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady October 29, 2013

I thought this was not very good at all. It was watery and bland! The only reason why I gave it any stars at all is that the meat was tender but there was absolutely no flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb M. September 14, 2013

Used 2 sachets of beef bullion with 2c water, cooked the steaks and onions as recipe called for. Served over mashed potatoes. I did add a little thickener at the end, but it was very good and not sure I needed to once everything cooled just a tad. I would make this again. Thanks for the recipe! I was searching for something like this that didn't use ground beef and this was the perfect answer to my craving of something different than regular steaks. I season my steaks first (using Steak Seasoning for the Steak House) rather than the flour before pounding out. See my review there for scaled down portions of that recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandesnow March 26, 2013

This is really delicious! Hubby agrees! Definitely will be making this again.

I did the following:

Did not pound the steak and it still turned out VERY tender.

Put 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper in a plastic bag and coated the steak in the bag (like with shake and bake). Used the left over flour mixture by sprinkling on the vegetables part way through the saute. It kept it from lumping as it would have by adding it directly to the liquid. 1/2 cup made a thin gravy.

Sauted together 1 sweet red pepper,1 large onion and one can of mushrooms.

Sprinkled 1/2 tsp garlic powder (in place of garlic cloves) over the veggies in the casserole dish and added 1/2 Tbsp worcestshire sauce to the beef broth. I used some of the broth to deglaze the saute pan.

Used all 3 cups of broth and cooked for the whole 2 hours.

Served with potatoes, squash and peas. Soooo good!!! This made enough for at least 2 meals and maybe 3 for the two of us. I'm looking forward to leftovers tomorrow night. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebMK September 25, 2012

This isn't one of my fav meals, just not big on baked steak, but the guys were asking for something along these lines and I picked this recipe to try. They loved it. My liquid didn't thicken up quite enough but it was probably my fault because I had to use too large of a baking dish. It came out tender and was easy to prepare so in the end we were all happy. Thanks Paper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod September 18, 2012

Everyone in my family thought this was delicious. I did add mushrooms for my son because he loves them. I, too, will use more salt next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SherrillT May 11, 2012

This had a nice flavor and was very easy to make. When I make this again, I'll add in just a bit more salt as it didn't seem to have quite enough for us. I might do as another reviewer suggested and add in some mushrooms too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess March 15, 2012
"swiss" Round Steak With Onion Gravy