60 Reviews

This is so easy, and tastes so good!! I have made it several times, and have done it in the slow cooker using slightly less liquid. I has turned out excellent every time. We serve it over buttered egg noodles. This time, I'm trying it with mushrooms, per the request of my husband. I'm sure it will be great. I use gallon size freezer bags to contain the flour mess during the pounding process, which has worked well to keep the mess down. I love this dish!! Thanks for posting it!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NebraskaRN December 12, 2010

Delish! We don't care for tomato in our swiss steak-this was fantastic! Easy, tasty, and what's not to love about fall apart delish beefy beef? Thanks for posting-a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's March 13, 2012

Yummy! Two thumbs up from kids & parents! I was out of onions, so covered the meat with cream of onion soup instead. Smelled great baking & tasted even better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Funone* June 02, 2011

I was surprised how tender the meat was! I followed the recipe exactly using the 2 C broth option and that made more than enough gravy for 4 of us. I don't own a meat mallet so I put the meat into a freezer bag and pounded it with DH's hammer. This is definitely a recipe that I will repeat. Thx!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word November 09, 2009

Wow!! This was delicious! The meat was so tender. I was going to take a picture (as I usually do when I review a recipe), but I forgot, and now there is not even one bite left! I also used a gallon ziploc bag to pound the flour into the steak. I served this with mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus. Will be making again soon! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea November 18, 2008

This tasted just like Mom's. I've been looking for a recipe that didn't require tomatoes. I did add some garlic powder and sliced mushrooms as suggested by another reviewer. It turned out great and my kitchen smelled terrific. DH wants this on the rotation list! Thanks papergoddess for a terrific comfort meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka October 25, 2008

Great way to fix Round Steak :) The steak came out so very tender. Did add some seasoning salt and garlic power to the flour. Added some of the beef broth to the skillet after sauteing the onions and garlic, wanted to get all the little brown pieces out of the pan and added to the dish. Added fresh mushrooms as ebbtide suggested. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick April 06, 2008

I was looking for a round steak with gravy recipe that didn't call for canned soup, this was perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaGNGa January 15, 2008

How delicious! This is just what I was looking for; a round steak/swiss steak recipe without tomatoes. True old-fashioned cooking and comfort food. It was a hit in our house & I'm sure to make it many more times!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MicheleE December 15, 2007

I made this last night for dinner and it was Wonderful!!!! Using the beef broth gave the gravy such a bold hearty flavor. The onion and garlic were wonderful in the dish! Next time I think I will add some mushrooms and wine to make it a little more elegant. This was great and thank you goddess for a wonderful recipe. I did add some wondra to thicken the gravy more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pricilla October 07, 2007
"swiss" Round Steak With Onion Gravy