Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "swiss" Round Steak With Onion Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "swiss" Round Steak With Onion Gravy

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2010

      This is so easy, and tastes so good!! I have made it several times, and have done it in the slow cooker using slightly less liquid. I has turned out excellent every time. We serve it over buttered egg noodles. This time, I'm trying it with mushrooms, per the request of my husband. I'm sure it will be great. I use gallon size freezer bags to contain the flour mess during the pounding process, which has worked well to keep the mess down. I love this dish!! Thanks for posting it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      Delish! We don't care for tomato in our swiss steak-this was fantastic! Easy, tasty, and what's not to love about fall apart delish beefy beef? Thanks for posting-a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      Yummy! Two thumbs up from kids & parents! I was out of onions, so covered the meat with cream of onion soup instead. Smelled great baking & tasted even better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I was surprised how tender the meat was! I followed the recipe exactly using the 2 C broth option and that made more than enough gravy for 4 of us. I don't own a meat mallet so I put the meat into a freezer bag and pounded it with DH's hammer. This is definitely a recipe that I will repeat. Thx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Wow!! This was delicious! The meat was so tender. I was going to take a picture (as I usually do when I review a recipe), but I forgot, and now there is not even one bite left! I also used a gallon ziploc bag to pound the flour into the steak. I served this with mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus. Will be making again soon! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This tasted just like Mom's. I've been looking for a recipe that didn't require tomatoes. I did add some garlic powder and sliced mushrooms as suggested by another reviewer. It turned out great and my kitchen smelled terrific. DH wants this on the rotation list! Thanks papergoddess for a terrific comfort meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Great way to fix Round Steak :) The steak came out so very tender. Did add some seasoning salt and garlic power to the flour. Added some of the beef broth to the skillet after sauteing the onions and garlic, wanted to get all the little brown pieces out of the pan and added to the dish. Added fresh mushrooms as ebbtide suggested. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      I was looking for a round steak with gravy recipe that didn't call for canned soup, this was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      How delicious! This is just what I was looking for; a round steak/swiss steak recipe without tomatoes. True old-fashioned cooking and comfort food. It was a hit in our house & I'm sure to make it many more times!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      I made this last night for dinner and it was Wonderful!!!! Using the beef broth gave the gravy such a bold hearty flavor. The onion and garlic were wonderful in the dish! Next time I think I will add some mushrooms and wine to make it a little more elegant. This was great and thank you goddess for a wonderful recipe. I did add some wondra to thicken the gravy more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      This was AWSOME!! I have never in my life eaten round steak as temder as this. Delicious, and not too hard to make either. I really enjoyed this recipe, and this will be the way I cook my round steak from now on. Thank you papergoddes!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      I tried this today and it came out great. I pounded the steak first, seasoned it with Goya Adobo seasoned salt and onion powder, i also added both to the flour. I wasn't sure if it was to cook covered or uncovered so I cooked it uncovered. I noticed that the "gravy" was almost all dried up and gummy after an hour of cooking. I took the steak out, added more water and used a hand blender made gravy and cooked for an additional hour. Came out great! Next time I'll cover the pan to ensure the liquid doesn't evaporate too quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      Very good recipe. Easy and delicious. Been wanting a swiss steak recipe without tomatos for a while and this one is just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      We enjoyed this beef dish for lunch today. I made it as directed, without any changes. It was a tad bit bland (maybe I didn't use enough salt and pepper in the flour?), but that was easily enough remedied with a salt and pepper shaker at the table. I mixed the onions, garlic and gravy with some cooked brown rice for a quick, easy side. One suggestion (note to self, as I used thicker cut round steaks): use thin cut steak to make the pounding process easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      I thought this was not very good at all. It was watery and bland! The only reason why I gave it any stars at all is that the meat was tender but there was absolutely no flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Used 2 sachets of beef bullion with 2c water, cooked the steaks and onions as recipe called for. Served over mashed potatoes. I did add a little thickener at the end, but it was very good and not sure I needed to once everything cooled just a tad. I would make this again. Thanks for the recipe! I was searching for something like this that didn't use ground beef and this was the perfect answer to my craving of something different than regular steaks. I season my steaks first (using Steak Seasoning for the Steak House) rather than the flour before pounding out. See my review there for scaled down portions of that recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      This is really delicious! Hubby agrees! Definitely will be making this again.

      I did the following:

      Did not pound the steak and it still turned out VERY tender.

      Put 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper in a plastic bag and coated the steak in the bag (like with shake and bake). Used the left over flour mixture by sprinkling on the vegetables part way through the saute. It kept it from lumping as it would have by adding it directly to the liquid. 1/2 cup made a thin gravy.

      Sauted together 1 sweet red pepper,1 large onion and one can of mushrooms.

      Sprinkled 1/2 tsp garlic powder (in place of garlic cloves) over the veggies in the casserole dish and added 1/2 Tbsp worcestshire sauce to the beef broth. I used some of the broth to deglaze the saute pan.

      Used all 3 cups of broth and cooked for the whole 2 hours.

      Served with potatoes, squash and peas. Soooo good!!! This made enough for at least 2 meals and maybe 3 for the two of us. I'm looking forward to leftovers tomorrow night. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      This isn't one of my fav meals, just not big on baked steak, but the guys were asking for something along these lines and I picked this recipe to try. They loved it. My liquid didn't thicken up quite enough but it was probably my fault because I had to use too large of a baking dish. It came out tender and was easy to prepare so in the end we were all happy. Thanks Paper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      Everyone in my family thought this was delicious. I did add mushrooms for my son because he loves them. I, too, will use more salt next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      This had a nice flavor and was very easy to make. When I make this again, I'll add in just a bit more salt as it didn't seem to have quite enough for us. I might do as another reviewer suggested and add in some mushrooms too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "swiss" Round Steak With Onion Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 469.2
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    51%
    Total Fat 26.8 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 124.1 mg
    41%
    Sodium 543.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 38.7 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes