Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swiss Mushroom Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swiss Mushroom Loaf

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2009

      Made this using 3 individual wholemeal/grain lunch rolls (didn't use poppy seeds as the rolls already had sesame seeds on top plus other seeds throughout the roll) and used presliced swiss cheese in which I had cut each slice into 9 squares and using 2 slices per roll (a total of 18 squares per roll) put each of squares in the openings with sliced button mushrooms. Drizzled with the butter mix (made full quantity with a little extra garlic) could have cut back on this but what the heck, wrapped in the alfoil and put to one side to bake in a couple of hours time. Baked for 25 minutes (but was wishing I had opened the packets and baked for a couple of minutes opened to crisp them up). As was we (the DS. DM and I) thoroughly enjoyed with soup for a great dinner. Thank you loof, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      This was good and relatively easy to make. I used one brown-n-serve sourdough round (from a 2 pack). They are not that large. I wasn't sure how much the recipe was going to make because the recipe does not specify the size of the bread round. I baked it for 10 minutes, as per the bread bag's instructions, and let that cool while I prepared my ingredients. Then I started the recipe out with the one loaf, and pretty much used half of my prepared ingredients except for the mushrooms, which I used the entire cup on the one loaf. I left foil over it the entire time and did not feel the need to bake or broil it any further after the baking time. It was a little crisp on the top already after baking in foil. With two loaves, I would double the mushrooms. Otherwise, in my opinion, cutting the recipe in half but doubling the mushrooms would work perfectly with the one round. Definitely recommend using sourdough. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Pure Comfort Food!! After one of the worst weeks of our lives we need something warm and comforting and this sure did fit the bill (we loved every bite). I made this using what we had on hand which was large soft sandwich rolls (sourdough), sliced Swiss cheese and button mushrooms, but did not change the recipe one little bit and yes I even had poppy seeds on hand to use :). Highly recommend and will be making again. Thank so very much for the post.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      This was great! We really enjoyed it. I've been wanting to try and finally got the chance. I used mozzarella cheese instead of swiss and it was fabulous! Thanks, loof!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Very very good. Easy, simple and full of flavor. Didn't change a thing.
      Came of perfect and not a bite was left.
      Thx

      UPDATE: Made it again and everyone loved it. NO changes. I got lots of request for the recipe which I passed on this link. And the poppy seeds ... DONT skip them. Great again ...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Definitely a 5 star! Followed I'm Pat's hints with 2 slices of Swiss/ bun. Baked for 25 minutes and opened last 5 minutes. Served ours with a squash soup for lunch. Thank you loof for another keeper. Made for PRMR.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Great recipe! I made this on the grill last night to go with our steaks! DH must have really liked it because I woke up this morning to a note that said "Thanks for supper last night, you're a great cook". So, I'm not sure if it was the steak or this bread, but either way, he was pleased. Thanks loof for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      What a heavenly weekend brunch! Smelt so good as it baked, wonderfully simple to make and so wonderfully, wonderfully delicious! We managed to knock off between us a small pumpkin loaf. I deliberately chose a small loaf of a bread we love anyway because it was obviously going to be at its most delicious when straight from the oven. I still easily managed to stuff all the ingredients between the slices. In fact, I used more mushrooms and more garlic: I doubled both, and I added some thyme as we love that with mushrooms. Such a simple idea; so delicious. We intend having this again and again, as a weekend brunch. And I'll also make it in larger quantities when we have others over for lunch. Just fabulous, loof! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This is a VERY NICE cheese bread! I tagged it in the Photo tag game after trying Party Bread which I loved...I'd have to say I like the other one better but I think it may be primarily because of the cheese...the swiss I used for this was very mild and didn't stand out much. I made a half recipe with a small sourdough round. At 40 minutes I uncovered it and it seemed wet from the mushrooms so I baked it another 15 minutes uncovered. I may try it again with jack cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      I've made this quite a few times, mainly as an appetizer. I didn't have ground mustard so I just used about a tablespoon of regular mustard, and omitted the lemon juice. However, make sure you don't use too much mustard or it overwhelms it a bit. Also, I have used both bakery bread and Hawaiian bread which are equally as good, Hawaiian if you like it sweeter of course. Finally, store it in an airtight container, and its just as good at room temp in my opinion!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      I made this using a mini size sour dough round loaf. I made this as written with the exception of omitting the mushrooms, as DS and his girlfriend don't like them and I had planned to make when they were here to watch the games. I have made a recipe for "savory party bread" many times and we love it so had to try this version, although quite different with seasonings and cheese. I really enjoyed this bread, ate it for a lunch today and know I would have enjoyed it with the mushrooms. This is addicting and great as a appetizer!! Thanks for sharing a new version to try loof. Congrats on winning the football pool this week!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Easy and very tasty! I had this with a nice salad for lunch, scaled down for one. Thanks! Made for the Please Review my Recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      Made this for company and got fantastic reviews! I used sourdough, it was a bit tricky to slice, but well worth the flavor. Will definitely be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Excellent bread! We loved this and we ate it with broccoli soup. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Oh very tasty! I too used a small loaf and served with a butternut squash soup. I baked the concoction fully covered in foil till the last 15 minutes, then opened the top, it was perfect! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      This is a very tasty bread. Our local market makes mini artisan french bread loaves, so I used them instead of a large loaf, being that it's just my DH and I. I think I used too much lemon juice in the butter mixture, but it went nicely with everything else ... sooooo good! I kept the top of bread exposed when I baked it instead of wrapping the whole loaf, and it crisped up nicely. I served it with a butternut squash soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Buddha loves swiss and mushrooms, so I made this for him as a snack using an end piece of homemade Italian bread that he had just made today. I held it upright using a homemade foil ring and placed the mushrooms inside the bread cavity followed with the cheese and then the rest of the ingredients along with some chopped onions for added flavor. This made a sandwich of sorts, but it was perfect for him. He devoured it and told me "Your a good woman!" lol. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      love this... so open to ideas, cinnamon/raisins/brownsugar or creamcheese/chives/red olives...so fast and hearty! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swiss Mushroom Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.2
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    47%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 41.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 361.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites