18 Reviews

Made this using 3 individual wholemeal/grain lunch rolls (didn't use poppy seeds as the rolls already had sesame seeds on top plus other seeds throughout the roll) and used presliced swiss cheese in which I had cut each slice into 9 squares and using 2 slices per roll (a total of 18 squares per roll) put each of squares in the openings with sliced button mushrooms. Drizzled with the butter mix (made full quantity with a little extra garlic) could have cut back on this but what the heck, wrapped in the alfoil and put to one side to bake in a couple of hours time. Baked for 25 minutes (but was wishing I had opened the packets and baked for a couple of minutes opened to crisp them up). As was we (the DS. DM and I) thoroughly enjoyed with soup for a great dinner. Thank you loof, made for Please Review My Recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat June 23, 2009

This was good and relatively easy to make. I used one brown-n-serve sourdough round (from a 2 pack). They are not that large. I wasn't sure how much the recipe was going to make because the recipe does not specify the size of the bread round. I baked it for 10 minutes, as per the bread bag's instructions, and let that cool while I prepared my ingredients. Then I started the recipe out with the one loaf, and pretty much used half of my prepared ingredients except for the mushrooms, which I used the entire cup on the one loaf. I left foil over it the entire time and did not feel the need to bake or broil it any further after the baking time. It was a little crisp on the top already after baking in foil. With two loaves, I would double the mushrooms. Otherwise, in my opinion, cutting the recipe in half but doubling the mushrooms would work perfectly with the one round. Definitely recommend using sourdough. YUM!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Betsy November 23, 2008

Pure Comfort Food!! After one of the worst weeks of our lives we need something warm and comforting and this sure did fit the bill (we loved every bite). I made this using what we had on hand which was large soft sandwich rolls (sourdough), sliced Swiss cheese and button mushrooms, but did not change the recipe one little bit and yes I even had poppy seeds on hand to use :). Highly recommend and will be making again. Thank so very much for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 18, 2011

This was great! We really enjoyed it. I've been wanting to try and finally got the chance. I used mozzarella cheese instead of swiss and it was fabulous! Thanks, loof!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night August 12, 2011

Very very good. Easy, simple and full of flavor. Didn't change a thing.
Came of perfect and not a bite was left.
Thx

UPDATE: Made it again and everyone loved it. NO changes. I got lots of request for the recipe which I passed on this link. And the poppy seeds ... DONT skip them. Great again ...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook April 25, 2011

Definitely a 5 star! Followed I'm Pat's hints with 2 slices of Swiss/ bun. Baked for 25 minutes and opened last 5 minutes. Served ours with a squash soup for lunch. Thank you loof for another keeper. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal October 13, 2010

Great recipe! I made this on the grill last night to go with our steaks! DH must have really liked it because I woke up this morning to a note that said "Thanks for supper last night, you're a great cook". So, I'm not sure if it was the steak or this bread, but either way, he was pleased. Thanks loof for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin June 22, 2009

What a heavenly weekend brunch! Smelt so good as it baked, wonderfully simple to make and so wonderfully, wonderfully delicious! We managed to knock off between us a small pumpkin loaf. I deliberately chose a small loaf of a bread we love anyway because it was obviously going to be at its most delicious when straight from the oven. I still easily managed to stuff all the ingredients between the slices. In fact, I used more mushrooms and more garlic: I doubled both, and I added some thyme as we love that with mushrooms. Such a simple idea; so delicious. We intend having this again and again, as a weekend brunch. And I'll also make it in larger quantities when we have others over for lunch. Just fabulous, loof! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder August 31, 2008

This is a VERY NICE cheese bread! I tagged it in the Photo tag game after trying Party Bread which I loved...I'd have to say I like the other one better but I think it may be primarily because of the cheese...the swiss I used for this was very mild and didn't stand out much. I made a half recipe with a small sourdough round. At 40 minutes I uncovered it and it seemed wet from the mushrooms so I baked it another 15 minutes uncovered. I may try it again with jack cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed November 04, 2007

I've made this quite a few times, mainly as an appetizer. I didn't have ground mustard so I just used about a tablespoon of regular mustard, and omitted the lemon juice. However, make sure you don't use too much mustard or it overwhelms it a bit. Also, I have used both bakery bread and Hawaiian bread which are equally as good, Hawaiian if you like it sweeter of course. Finally, store it in an airtight container, and its just as good at room temp in my opinion!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candace Michelle October 26, 2007
Swiss Mushroom Loaf