Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swiss, Ham, Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swiss, Ham, Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2003

      We really enjoyed this soup, Susie! Loved the combination of ingredients. Can't wait to make it again experimenting with other types of cheese. Your instructions are easy to follow. I added just a little bit more milk to thin it out a bit. Thanks you for sharing such a great soup recipe. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      Hubby and I really liked this soup. I made it exactly how you said and added the extra cup of milk. Hubby added Tobasco but he likes everything spicy. We love thick soups and this was just prefect. I will definately be adding into my recipe rotation!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      We really enjoyed your soup tonight. I pureed 3/4 of it in the food processor and added a pinch of ground mustard, cayenne, and garlic salt, as well as the recommened pepper. When I made the base I used fat free half and half for part of the milk called for in the recipe. Really thick, really filling, really good. I can see why it was such a hit at your food business.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      Made this for the Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup game, and it was very easy to prepare and tastes good. I think I'd prefer some other cheese, or perhaps a blend of Swiss and something else, but my mom thought it was wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      YUM YUM YUM!!! We all loved this soup it hit just the right spot after getting back from a cold rainy football game. I didn't have any green onions so I finely diced 1/2 of a yellow onion and sauteed it. An interesting note, my son added a spoonful of sour cream in his bowlful and it tasted amazingly good in there.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      I have been trying for two years to find a potato soup recipe that my husband would love and this is it. He can't get enough and it's so easy to make. The cheese adds just the right amount of flavor. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      This is very good soup. I doubled the recipe and had the leftovers for lunch the next day. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      The only thing I didn't like about this soup was the ham. I think I would have liked it better with crumbled bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Wow! This is a keeper. The flavor of the baby swiss is so amazing. Subtle,yet definitely noticeable. Did not use as much ham as you called for,added an extra potato.Also, had no green onions. Meant to add onion powder and I forgot. Will make often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Delicious soup! I used leftover ham from Christmas and when it got too thick, I thinned it with extra chicken broth. I also threw in some sliced mushrooms that needed to be used up. We will want this soup again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This is such a great recipe...I had to make it 2 nights in a row....The Family loved it!!..It's even better the Second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I made this a few weeks ago and forgot to rate it. Instead of leaving the potatoes in chunks I used my hand blender to puree them, along with some of the ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This was so good. I did add some extra milk, just because I like my soup to have a little movement! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This is the best! We all loved it, boy does it fill you up. The directions are very easy to follow, thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This was very nice. I used 2 oz. of swiss and 2 oz of cheddar (to appease the picky eater), and it was a nice blend. It was a very nice way to use up the last of the Christmas ham from the freezer, and perfect for the cold day we're having. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I loved this!!! This will be my new favorite potatoe soup recipe. My DS hates potato soup, but he ate his whole bowl & never complained! I love swiss cheese, so this was a winner with me! Thanks Susie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This was a really great base recipe for what I needed. I had a bunch of asparagus left over from Christmas so added that. Based on reviews for flavor I added thyme, rosemary, nutmeg, cayenne pepper, tabasco and some white pepper. The stuff was inhaled by the brood. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I will be making this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Very hearty, but could use a little more flavor--maybe some thyme? Loved it though, and would definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      very good and comforting soup. easy to make with not too many ingredients. making it again for a soup pot-luck this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This soup is amazing. Thank you Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swiss, Ham, Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 712.7
     
    Calories from Fat 423
    59%
    Total Fat 47.1 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 106.2 mg
    35%
    Sodium 427.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 33.8 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites