44 Reviews

This is a wonderful dip made as is. I have made it several times, and I think I know why some are saying it's greasy, while others love it. If you over bake it in any way, it will be greasy. Grease will float on top and be swimming at the bottom. Be careful to bake it only until it is heated through and you will be rewarded!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen Daidone December 04, 2011

I love this dip! It has been a hit every time I have brought it to parties. I do one thing differently though, I stir in the cooked bacon after the dip comes out of the oven, it seems to be less oily that way.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChesterCopperPot August 03, 2011

Good but was missing something... After trying it, we tried to add some stuff. Garlic and salt worked but it was still too bland for us. I think that a couple fresh cloves of garlic in the beginning would help and I'm not sure what else. It's a good recipe (thank you!) so I'll keep working on modifying it to my tastes. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie R. December 03, 2008

This was just ok for us. Not sure why, we love all the ingredients. No biggie, it's still fun to try new recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 January 31, 2011

I loved this dip! I made a couple of adjustments... Instead of fresh green onion I used a heaping pile of dehydrated chives and I reduced the ammount of bacon. I didn't think this was greasy at all (compared to previous reviews) but maybe that was because of the decrease in bacon. Everyone who tried it thought it was really good and awfully fancy. I'm looking forward to the leftovers and plan on making it again this weekend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes November 01, 2010

Loved this dip. I didn't find it greasy at all. Served it with large wheat thins and we polished it off in no time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsliddle January 11, 2010

Tried it yesterday for a quick dip and loved it. I did use gruyere as it is like swiss but a bit nuttier and not as greasy. It was all gone which was a good sign and I completely enjoyed it. I used a combo of some crackers and some thin toasted baguettes. I'll definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook November 06, 2009

This was nice, but I kept feeling like something was missing. It is VERY rich in taste and kind of greasy. I served it with wheat thins and it was okay. Just not as good, for us, as some of the reviews said.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lili's, Rori's & Rainah's Meemaw July 07, 2009

Good but probably not a repeat for me. It was pretty greasy on top, perhaps it could use less cheese. I made this at Thanksgiving along with 3 other dips and this was actually the least favorite. It's good - but expect a rich, smokey swiss cheese flavor. If you like THAT then it's your dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! April 03, 2009
Swiss Cheese Bacon Smoked Almond Dip