Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swiss Cheese Bacon Smoked Almond Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swiss Cheese Bacon Smoked Almond Dip

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2011

      This is a wonderful dip made as is. I have made it several times, and I think I know why some are saying it's greasy, while others love it. If you over bake it in any way, it will be greasy. Grease will float on top and be swimming at the bottom. Be careful to bake it only until it is heated through and you will be rewarded!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      I love this dip! It has been a hit every time I have brought it to parties. I do one thing differently though, I stir in the cooked bacon after the dip comes out of the oven, it seems to be less oily that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Good but was missing something... After trying it, we tried to add some stuff. Garlic and salt worked but it was still too bland for us. I think that a couple fresh cloves of garlic in the beginning would help and I'm not sure what else. It's a good recipe (thank you!) so I'll keep working on modifying it to my tastes. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

    • on January 31, 2011

      This was just ok for us. Not sure why, we love all the ingredients. No biggie, it's still fun to try new recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      I loved this dip! I made a couple of adjustments... Instead of fresh green onion I used a heaping pile of dehydrated chives and I reduced the ammount of bacon. I didn't think this was greasy at all (compared to previous reviews) but maybe that was because of the decrease in bacon. Everyone who tried it thought it was really good and awfully fancy. I'm looking forward to the leftovers and plan on making it again this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Loved this dip. I didn't find it greasy at all. Served it with large wheat thins and we polished it off in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      Tried it yesterday for a quick dip and loved it. I did use gruyere as it is like swiss but a bit nuttier and not as greasy. It was all gone which was a good sign and I completely enjoyed it. I used a combo of some crackers and some thin toasted baguettes. I'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was nice, but I kept feeling like something was missing. It is VERY rich in taste and kind of greasy. I served it with wheat thins and it was okay. Just not as good, for us, as some of the reviews said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Good but probably not a repeat for me. It was pretty greasy on top, perhaps it could use less cheese. I made this at Thanksgiving along with 3 other dips and this was actually the least favorite. It's good - but expect a rich, smokey swiss cheese flavor. If you like THAT then it's your dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Had this for a Shopping Club party and all the women loved it...Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This was a big hit at our New Years Eve party! Followed the recipe exactly except doubled the amount and it came out perfect. The flavor was so nice, worth every calorie! This will be my new take everywhere appetizer, it was so easy to make. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Every year at Christmas we have an appetizer contest. I made this yesterday for the contest. It was very easy to make with fabulous flavor. Tied in 2nd place against my daughter. My son and his wife placed first! So glad I made this, will definately be making this many times over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      You are right...Awesome dip!!! I made this for game night and this was highly popular. The flavor of the smoked almonds with the swiss cheese was great. So yummy. I will make this dip often whenever I need to make or take munchies. Thank you for posting the great flavored dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I used turkey bacon and I thought 10 slices was a bit much, so next time I think I’ll cut it down to 5 slices. Other than that I thought it was a tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      This dip was a big hit at a gathering of friends I had recently. I made it with gouda cheese, normal yellow mustard and plain toasted almonds (as I couldn't find smoked). I used 8 slices of bacon but the bacon we get here is very thinly sliced and very lean so it barely released any fat when fried. I actually added the green onion to the frying pan to saute gently for a few minutes too. Then I mixed everything together and put it into two small terracotta dishes amd kept it refrigerated until my guests came. Then I popped the dishes into the oven until the cheese melted and served the dip with pita crisps. My guests LOVED it and there were no leftovers. A wonderful recipe which I will be making for friends from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Excellent. Took it to church - brought *none* home. I didn't have smoked almonts - so I just used regular. I did put them on for the last 5 minutes on broil to crunch them up. Really really good recipe. This goes into my "make again" file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I made this tonight for 4 adults and a couple kids and it was all gone. Everyone really enjoyed it. I didn't have the smokehouse almonds so I added liquid smoke to the mix and used slivered almonds. We are not mustard fans, so I started w/ 1 Tbsp., but it didn't have that "bite" so I added the other Tbsp. and it was great. I added minced garlic because I don't like green onions. I used I Tbsp. bacon bits per slice of bacon (10 Tbsp) because I am lazy & was in a hurry! I will make this again for sure. UPDATE: I made this again the next night for another dinner w/ friends! I had all the stuff & needed an appetizer. They loved it as well and it was all gone in no time! I added a little lemon juice for zing ! Oh, rats! I just realized I forgot the dijon, but it didn't make any difference....it was still loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This is SSOOOO good and a favorite of mine !! pollyw oops, I forgot to rate it pollyw

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I did this and put it in those tostito scoops. It made 45. They looked and tasted wonderful. I put a whole almond on some and no almond on some. Not every one likes nuts. They were gone quickly and were so cute. You can move through the crowd with these on a tray for a dinner party. Very elegant and very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swiss Cheese Bacon Smoked Almond Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 441.1
     
    Calories from Fat 351
    79%
    Total Fat 39.0 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 80.6 mg
    26%
    Sodium 425.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 13.8 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites