Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swiss Cheese and Ham Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swiss Cheese and Ham Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic. Another thing to do is to cook it using bacon instead of ham. But either way, it's fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      I loved it! I'm on a low-FODMAP diet so I had to make a few substitutions: brown rice macaroni pasta; Finlandia lactose-free swiss cheese slices broken into small pieces; lactose-free, plain kefir in place of whole milk; and gluten-free flour. Note:The kefir and gf flour were very thick, so I added a little bit of water to thin it out. Lastly, I omitted the green peas which are no-no on the low FODMAP diet.

      Flavors were yummy. Brought back memories of croque monsieurs. I may experiment and try adding a little mayonnaise and smidgeon of dijon mustard next time. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      YUMMY! I took it to a pot-luck dinner and it was a huge hit. Made a few changes: added sauteed onion (as Grammy Bunny suggested) and doubled the ham. I also mixed the Parmesan with 1/2 stack saltines (crushed) and 1/4 c. melted butter. I spread this topping on 10 minutes prior to taking it out of the oven. Will make this, again! NOTE: Prep was more like an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      Absolutely amazing. This was a wonderful change from regular macaroni & cheese. This was really easy to make gluten-free. Thanks Tweeky for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      My famiy loves this mac and cheese. Never many leftovers. But still good the next day. Total comfort food. I also use half cheddar and half swiss with smoked ham. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      Really good comfort food and kid-friendly. My 6 year old had three servings, which is a record for him. Not too dry, not too soupy, just right. I was in a rush and took some shortcuts: while the sauce was simmering and macaroni was cooking, I threw frozen ham, frozen peas and frozen Swiss cheese in a mixing bowl, added the drained hot mac and sauce and stirred it all together. Then threw it in the oven. Came out perfect! Thanks, Tweeky, we'll be having this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      Was looking to use leftover ham and came across your recipe. Used half swiss and half cheddar and baby limas for peas. The two of us ate more than half in one sitting. Mmmm good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      I made this at the request of a 70 year old "kid," who requested mac and cheese for the supper I was preparing for him and his wife. I settled on this recipe, intrigued with using Swiss as the cheese. Well, it worked, giving the dish a different, and pleasing "nutty" flavor. Rather than adding the called-for peas to the casserole, I served it with Peas Amandine (#28383) on the side, a good accompaniment. I'd also suggest adding sauteed onion, red and green pepper to the cream sauce for more flavor. Helpful hint: don't give up on the cheese during the melting process...it gets REALLY stringy. If you're patient, it will take care of itself during the baking process...GB

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swiss Cheese and Ham Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 526.8
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    42%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 14.7 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 86.6 mg
    28%
    Sodium 750.2 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 30.1 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes