14 Reviews

This was very good!
I work as a chef at a soup kitchen, so we get a lot of donated produce that I don't alway know what to do with. This recipe was easy and quick to throw together. I did not add the breadcrumbs, but I added a dash of balsamic vinegar, which worked really well with the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K-Rhea May 26, 2012

I have made this many times. Hands down the tastiest way to eat swiss chard. I make this for everyday without the breadcrumbs, and it is still very good. With the breadcrumbs it is exceptional - I served it at Thanksgiving this year and there were no leftovers. I usually add a squeeze of lemon and some grated parmesan cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny November 13, 2011

Absolute winner! YUM. I too left some of the ribs in for texture. The breadcrumbs are really the finishing touch- it wouldn't be the same without them.They adds to the depth of the flavor and texture combination.I'll save on calories elsewhere. Great Tuscan side to serve with meats. Made with olive oil, it also works well for my vegan daughter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scullen March 13, 2011

We loved this. We have tons of chard growing in our garden this year and this was so simple, easy, and healthy. What took the longest was harvesting and washing the chard. I'll be adding this to my garden cookbook for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindyFlugelman July 31, 2010

I'm going to give this recipe 5 stars, even though I didn't care for the Swiss Chard, at all. I loved the flavour, the combination of garlic, tomatoes and especially the red pepper flakes. Next time I make it, I'll use spinach, which I just enjoy more than the chard. GREAT recipe, however, hence, the 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef October 05, 2009

Absolutely delicious. This was my first try of Swiss Chard - and what a great first try! I chose to eliminate the breadcrumbs, and increased the garlic to 2 cloves .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tk80 November 12, 2008

From our bumper crop of GREEN swiss chard -- a truly delicious and quick dish ! Made as written, except added a few more Roma tomatoes, chopped and barely warmed. Think I will sprinke with feta next time. LOVE it that chard grows ALL summer ! Thanks, Jude.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney August 21, 2008

Used grape tomatoes since I had 'em. Went great with some brown rice and Kimke's Salmon with Pistachio Basil Butter #31567. A keeper. We kept saying, "We have to eat greens more often!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB February 11, 2007

My husband and I both loved this recipe. It was simple to make. I didn't cook the tomatoes for long, so there was a nice contrast between the heat of the greens compared to the slightly cooler tomatoes. I also used more garlic cloves than what was suggested in the recipe. Once dinner was over, my husband seem so disappointed that there weren't leftovers, I made him more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilihaym August 30, 2006

This was a different way for me to make swiss chard or silverbeet (as it's known in NZ). We enjoyed the contrast of the crispy breadcrumbs with the 'green' and tomatoes. Thanks for posting a 'keeper' :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T May 19, 2006
Swiss Chard With Tomatoes