Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swiss Chard With Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swiss Chard With Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2012

      This was very good!
      I work as a chef at a soup kitchen, so we get a lot of donated produce that I don't alway know what to do with. This recipe was easy and quick to throw together. I did not add the breadcrumbs, but I added a dash of balsamic vinegar, which worked really well with the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      I have made this many times. Hands down the tastiest way to eat swiss chard. I make this for everyday without the breadcrumbs, and it is still very good. With the breadcrumbs it is exceptional - I served it at Thanksgiving this year and there were no leftovers. I usually add a squeeze of lemon and some grated parmesan cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Absolute winner! YUM. I too left some of the ribs in for texture. The breadcrumbs are really the finishing touch- it wouldn't be the same without them.They adds to the depth of the flavor and texture combination.I'll save on calories elsewhere. Great Tuscan side to serve with meats. Made with olive oil, it also works well for my vegan daughter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      We loved this. We have tons of chard growing in our garden this year and this was so simple, easy, and healthy. What took the longest was harvesting and washing the chard. I'll be adding this to my garden cookbook for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I'm going to give this recipe 5 stars, even though I didn't care for the Swiss Chard, at all. I loved the flavour, the combination of garlic, tomatoes and especially the red pepper flakes. Next time I make it, I'll use spinach, which I just enjoy more than the chard. GREAT recipe, however, hence, the 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Absolutely delicious. This was my first try of Swiss Chard - and what a great first try! I chose to eliminate the breadcrumbs, and increased the garlic to 2 cloves .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      From our bumper crop of GREEN swiss chard -- a truly delicious and quick dish ! Made as written, except added a few more Roma tomatoes, chopped and barely warmed. Think I will sprinke with feta next time. LOVE it that chard grows ALL summer ! Thanks, Jude.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Used grape tomatoes since I had 'em. Went great with some brown rice and Kimke's Salmon with Pistachio Basil Butter #31567. A keeper. We kept saying, "We have to eat greens more often!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      My husband and I both loved this recipe. It was simple to make. I didn't cook the tomatoes for long, so there was a nice contrast between the heat of the greens compared to the slightly cooler tomatoes. I also used more garlic cloves than what was suggested in the recipe. Once dinner was over, my husband seem so disappointed that there weren't leftovers, I made him more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      This was a different way for me to make swiss chard or silverbeet (as it's known in NZ). We enjoyed the contrast of the crispy breadcrumbs with the 'green' and tomatoes. Thanks for posting a 'keeper' :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      Very delicious! I cut the olive oil back to 1 tablespoon and left out the breadcrumbs for the sake of calouries. We loved this dish and will be making it again, loved the red pepper flakes, nice finish! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2005

      My husband likes traditional prep, but really liked this recipe. Will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      This dish was amazing--everyone who tries it loves it--I can never make enough. I've already made it 3 times in the last month. I left a small amount of the chopped red ribs in for color and texture, and made fresh breadcrumbs with healthy whole grain sesame bread sauteed in olive oil and sea salt--really added to the texture, just like Flossy said in the other review. Hope others try it--as someone who never ate alot of greens, I never would have thought greens could taste this good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      I tried this last night and it was lovely. I could not find red pepper flakes any where so I had to use pimento instead. I think the flavour suffered because of that . I love the combination of bread crumbs and chard the texture contrast is excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swiss Chard With Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.7
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    57%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 488.5 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites