Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swiss Chard, Stir Fried, with Feta Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swiss Chard, Stir Fried, with Feta Cheese

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2002

      This was an excellent veggie dish! First, I was a shallot short, but I added some red onion to my shallot and that turned out well. And I cut back on the oil, only finding half as much to be necessary. You didn't say what to do with the stalks of the chard (I assumed they didn't go in), but I didn't want to waste them so I steamed them for 15 minutes and added them with the rest of the chard leaves. And then you know me..I put in more feta than called for!!!! :) This turned out great! The pine nuts were a nice touch, too. Good work, Bergy! You sure you're not an Iron Chef? ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Wow - This was really good! I accidentally bought chard at the market (thought it was rhubarb!) and then searched for a recipe on Recipezaar.com so I could use it. I tried this recipe last week - made it exactly as written only added sun dried tomatoes. What a great dish - fabulous flavor! So, now I'm going to the market to purposefully buy chard. Thanks for sharing such a neat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Bergy: I have JUST one questions - WHERE can I find swiss chard?? I tried ALL of our local stores, and since I'd already bought all the ingredients to make this - I finally ended up substituting fresh kale for the swiss chard. I'm unsure if this was even an acceptable substitute, but it was GREAT! I will keep my eyes open for swiss chard...in the meantime, even DH raved about this - and he does NOT like cooked greens of ANY kind! Surprised me - he has already said I need to make it again! I used extra feta cheese (garlic/onion flavored), and of course a few extra pine nuts, since we love them as well! THANK you for sharing! This is a KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      excellent dish and very simple to make. I am not sure if my leaves were bigger and therefore took more time to cook, but I continued cooking until the leaves were wilted. Will, MOST DEFINATELY, do again, thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This is such a great recipe. I frequently get chard as part of my veggie basket from a CSA and I am looking for creative ways to cook it. This was a huge hit with the family. The only substitution I made was I used olive oil because I had it on hand. This will definately be served again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      yum. first time eating swiss chard and it was straight from the garden....my hubs gobbled it up. We ate with roasted carrots and a small filet. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This was really tasty Bergy! I used a couple cloves of garlic instead of onions because we ate it with onion-smothered steaks...I also added a bit of salt to the pine nuts while toasting them in the pan. Be sure to make EXTRA pine nuts because they are super when toasted...luckily I had made about five TBS because my wife and I ate at least three TBS while cooking the rest.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      This was great & easy to make. Look forward to making more when my chard is ready to harvest in the garden. I used red onion (about 1/4cup) in place of scallions; also used reduced-fat feta and didn't alter flavor at all. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      I tried swiss chard for the first time today using this recipe, and WOW! It was so good! It tasted so good I thought that it MUST be unhealthy, but it isn't so that's even better. I did think it was a little oily, but I'm sure that was my fault and not the recipe. I didn't have peanut oil and used olive oil instead, so that's what it could have been. GREAT recipe Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Great and easy, substituted olive oil for the Peanut and garlic for the shallot. will try soon as written except will sub peanuts or something for pine nuts and sub out the feta with something else.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      I made this for dinner and it made such a small amount that I made a second batch. It is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Simple recipe but so full of flavor! Toasting the pine nuts in a pan for a bit is definitely recommended, since it adds a lot to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      There's a reason why this simple, delicious recipe is rated 5 stars, it's great! I made it for the diabetic I cook for, and made it for my husband too! We all enjoyed it. Other than decreasing the peanut oil to 1 Tbsp., I followed the directions. I had some feta in the fridge that had sun dried tomato and basil mixed in with it, and the flavor just "popped!" I had only one bunch of chard, but it was pretty big! This is exactly the kind of recipe I search out; fast, fresh, loads of flavor and healthy! Thanks Bergy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

    • on July 20, 2009

      delicious, i loved the pine nuts

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      This is such a nice change from the regular plain greens with garlic. Nice and creamy, and excellent flavor. This will be one of my regulars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Just saw this recipe this morning, decided I just couldn't wait until dinner -- LOVE IT! Highest rating!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      We made this last week...only difference added garlic. It was a HIT! In a very short time, this has become a favorite. We tried it tonight with swisschard and beet greens - just as good. The beet greens give it a slight deeper layer to the dish. Thank you Bergy - quite good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      wow, the feta added to the swiss chard is fantastic, the dish has sooo much flavour, we loved it, and a lovely little crunch with the pine nuts, loverrley!! I had no shallots, so I subed with regular onion, it was fine. Thanks for posting i will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      Great dish. I added a clove of garlic too because everything tastes better with garlic. The feta and pine nuts were great additions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swiss Chard, Stir Fried, with Feta Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.2
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    88%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 8.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 105.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red swiss chard

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites