Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Swiss Chard and Penne Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Swiss Chard and Penne Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 01, 2010

      I LOVE THIS SOUP! Yup. I have made it a bunch of times over the last two years, but always forget to rate it. No more! I substitute salt free seasoning (Mrs Dash) for the fennel, and normally cut the recipe in half to not have as many leftovers. I cut everything by hand but it's still a pretty fast soup to pull together. Bravo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      With a little tweaking, this recipe was great. I admit the directions were a little weird, but I figured it out. I didn't use a food processor (hate cleaning it), I just chopped everything. I didn't use the stems of the swiss chard and used vegetable broth instead of chicken. I hate fennel, so I used basil instead. I also added veggie "meatballs" for fun. It was great. Next time, I may add an extra 1/2 cup of penne. This was my first time trying swiss chard and it was really good! I will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      What a fab soup! I feel that my review may be a bit coo-coo b/c I added a few extras- but the original recipe is definitely what got me there. -Honestly, if I didn't add the extras, it would have been just as good! I added: a can of tomato paste, a leftover chicken breast and a left over rib-eye steak~ both thinly sliced. OK, and.... I used a yellow onion, and swirly pasta, b/c that's what I had on hand. Your recipe is FANTASTIC and I will definitely use it again! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      This was a good soup. I left out the fennel and used 1/2 tsp dried basil, and 1/4 tsp dried oregano. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken. We all liked it. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2002

      very easy to make. next time ill make 2xtimes the recipe for frezzer. my type is very bad please forgive. i used 1/2 teaspoon of fennell. i may have had more then 1 lb of schard.???? it was better the next day. i dont have a food prosser, so i used a knife, it came out just fine the ta tst was very good i never had swiss chard before this recipe is a winner all around. you wont be sorry thanks for putting up with my typing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      This is delicious soup that is easy, quick and versitile. What more could ya ask for?<br/>Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      Wonderful soup. I have made it several times and I am pleased with the results. On variation I tried that made my family happy was adding a little bit of Italian Turkey sausage. Definately not needed but it is a nice touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      The instructions are written a little strangely, but once you get past that this is very impressive and simple to make. I didn't use a food processor; just chopped everything by hand. Will definitely make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      I"m in a CSA and this was a good way to use this week's bunch of swiss chard. Most of the soup is now in the freezer to enjoy when cooler weather arrives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      We signed up for a CSA share from a local organic farm and are trying new vegetables we don't usually buy at the store. This was a great soup - will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      Great Soup! Delicate & light. We strongly dislike fennel in my house, so I used basil instead. I will add sausage to this during the winter for a hearty meal. I cut everything by hand as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      AWESOME! So glad I have a big patch of swiss chard out in garden.Used chick peas as that was all I had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      YUM!!!! I also did not have a food processor and chopped by hand. I followed the recipe rather loosely (except for liquid and pasta amounts) and it turned out superbly! Plus, for a soup with lots of flavor, it didn't take very long to prepare. I used garbanzo beans instead of cannelini, and they worked great. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Swiss Chard and Penne Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (553 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 329.6
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    28%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 489.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes