31 Reviews

The peanut butter filling is delicious! I used leftover brownies that were made from a mix, next time I will try with homemade. I scaled back this recipe to make two small individual trifles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj February 05, 2009

I made this as a dessert for a dinner party. Oh my!!! What a sucess! I layered everything twice in goblets we'd received as a wedding present for an individual effect, adding shaved chocolate on top. I "accidentally" doubled the recipe, and enjoyed a late delight with my hubby a few days later....mmmmmmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hfidanzo January 08, 2009

The only change I made was to put some of the chopped Reese's in each layer. Fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPHT September 27, 2008

Wow! This a a chocolate and peanut butter combo lovers dream! I made my own brownies and wanted to do something that gave it "something extra"! This recipe gave it that! I will be making this often (my poor hips)! My toddlers gobbled it up as well. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle F. September 16, 2008

I have made this a few times now and forgot to review it, so here I am to tell you this trifle is 'To Die For'! I make it for company every chance I get. It's a little different then other trifles, and has such great chocolate and peanut butter flavors, for those loving the combination. I added chopped peanuts on the top along with shaved chocolate pieces. It was an instant hit with everyone! Thanks Sweetslady!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinNEatinGal August 29, 2008

My DH is cursing me that I halved the recipe LOL. After reading reviews I knew this would be too sweet for me, so after halving it I lower the sugar in the brownies to 1/2 cup and in the trifle, I lowered the icing sugar to 1/2 cup as well. Perfect! This is being put in my tried and true cookbook for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 July 31, 2008

This was a hit. I ended up making the brownies from my favorite box mix, however, after reading the reviews, I think next time I'll try them from scratch. I didn't have the Cool Whip, so I substituted heavy whipping cream (beaten). It cut the sweetness some (but I didn't miss it), I'm sure it added a lot more fat & calories. If you're going to splurge, you might as well go all the way! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau July 16, 2008

I was so tempted to just use a boxed brownie mix to save time, but I'm so glad I didn't. It was fabulous exactly as written. I wouldn't change a thing. DH love, love, loved it! It's very rich and super sweet - just what a dessert should be! Thank you for sharing your recipe. This one's a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spider Monkey 5 June 14, 2008

I can't believe I never rated this! I made it for Christmas Eve, and everyone agreed that it is sinfully good! It is very rich, so a little goes a long way. I just bought a smaller trifle dish, so that I can divide the recipe to make it more often. I did just use a brownie mix instead of from scratch though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coleen114 February 18, 2008

We took this to church today for potluck. Everyone loved it. We take a lot of different trifle's to church but today we were told this is their favorite. The only thing I will change next time is to double the recipe because there was not enough to go around. Thanks for a real winner SweetsLady!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z February 03, 2008
Sweetslady's Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie Trifle