42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FYI This is not a review, as I will be trying this recipe for a tailgate party next Saturday, but a heads up. In the video from DDD Sweetie Pie used 2 tbsp. of SOUR CREAM as well in the recipe & that ingredient has been omitted from some of the websites that posted her recipe. Sour cream definitely adds that certain something to a lot of things so its a step I wouldn't leave out, especially if you want to make her signature dish.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenna E S. October 12, 2013

A really terrific pot luck dish, although I recommend a 15 x 10 pan, rather than the 13 x 9 stated in the recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura C. October 06, 2013

I made this for our community pot luck and everyone raved about it. Last week an elderly lady from the complex came up to my apartment and told me she was having a pot luck tomorrow and would I bring that "wonderful" Macaroni & Cheese. I've never been asked to a pot luck solely so I could bring a dish, but I suppose there is a first time for everything. <br/>Sweetie Pie's version of Macaroni and Cheese is a lot like what my Mother used to make. My Grandmother and my Mother are from the South and she's the only one that I know of, that made it this way.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanie R. December 29, 2013

I made this for Christmas with my cheese-loving family. Now I'm not allowed to bring anything else and must make enough for everyone to take home leftovers. Everyone loves it! I'm not big on mac and cheese, but I LOVE Sweetie Pie's! Thanks for making me a food hero!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cwickern April 03, 2012

Love this mac and cheese recipe!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hawnchilipepa November 16, 2011

Glad you posted this, thanks. I saw the DDD show and just had to have this. I found it on another website, and have made it several times - to rave reviews from family and friends. Just thought of checking to see if it was here, was going to post otherwise. Thanks. This is the most rich, creamy, delicious indulgent and did I mention yummy mac and cheese ever. So worth the workout!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage August 17, 2011

I tried this recipe for the first time for the 4th of July. My family couldn't get enough if it. The next day it was even better. Doubled everything bc I made a large pan of it. This will b my dish 2 bring 2 family cookouts.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela B. July 15, 2014

I made this tonight. There are 2 things that I would like to recommend to anyone that makes this. #1, use genuine Creamette macaroni. I notice that the store brands don't cook up as soft & the end result is tough, almost "doughy" macaroni. #2, This may be a delicious recipe, however, to me it is way too "rich". In other words, 5 or 6 mouthfuls is all one can eat comfortably. Next time I make it I will cut way back on the cheese. Instead of almost 3 lbs of cheese I will try cutting each back & only using 2. Also, I do think that 1 stick of butter (1/2 C) and not a full cup is plenty & there is no need for evaporated milk. Try using just plain 2% milk. I would rather be able to eat a greater quantity of this "less rich" version than just a few spoon fulls of the rich version.... P.S I did add the sour cream... just made it all the more richer!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffrey K. March 20, 2014

Thanks Chef #1800118644 - I added the sour cream like Sweetie Pie did and it was wonderful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda D. November 28, 2013

O M G. I don't care what anyone has said about velveeta cheese. My persnickety family absolutely said this was the best Mac and Cheese they have ever had.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie D. November 27, 2013
Sweetie Pie's Mac and Cheese