19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I read the reviews before making this and couldn't decide if I should use cake or brownies. So I used a combination, a layer of chocolate cake and a layer of brownies. I also used 1 1/2 recipes for the peanut butter sauce because a reviewer said they couldn't taste it. I used the chopped up peanut butter cups but also threw in a chopped up Reeses Nutrageous bar. I took it to work as part of a potluck lunch. I was totally surprised when my frosted sugar cookies were gone before this and that I didn't have an empty dish at the end of the day. But, we did enjoy the leftovers at home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom December 30, 2013

This was really good. I couldn't taste the peanut butter sauce real well so next time I might double the peanut butter sauce recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taxi Mom August 18, 2008

WOW! This is so wonderful! I also used brownies instead of cake, it was absoluely sinful! Everyone loved it at the party! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jayde700 June 08, 2008

This recipe is delicious! Instead of the cake, I added the extra 'oomph' of dark chocolate brownies. It was absolute chocolate overload, but totally worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scfl76 June 03, 2008

I doubled this recipe and put it in a large punch bowl. I carried it into the mother daughter banquet and started feeling like the pied Piper. I turned around and all the guys serving at the banquet were following me to see what it was. When I got through the line for the dessert the only thing left to do was to lick the bowl. I will have to make it again so I can have some. I heard comments all around me about how awesome this dessert was. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nascarmom May 03, 2008

Very rich, but VERY good! If you're a Reese's fan, you'll LOVE this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dessertgirl718 January 23, 2008

I brought this to a party last week and it was a real hit! I did try to trim the fat a little by using skim milk and ff cool whip. I made the cake mix as a soda cake (using diet soda in place of the oil and eggs, which is a weight watchers trick). It was so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dollsandroses December 19, 2007

I made this for thanksgiving and it was the belle of the ball! Everyone loved it, and won't let me make a different recipe for Christmas now!! I didn't use a boxed cake, I used the chocolate cake recipe on the back of my hersheys cocoa tin ( best cake ever) and it was so moist and fudgy in this. I also used cook and serve pudding for a richer taste. The only problem I had was with the peanut butter sauce. When it cooled it became really thick and hard to spread. Next time I will double it and also use it slightly warm. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberri_Skies November 30, 2007

We took this to church today and it was a big hit. Everyone ranted and raved at how good it was. What's not to like chocolate and peanut butter Yummy! When my husband was making this last night our 2 yr old was panting like a dog to get a bite. This was great Thanks Zoe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z November 04, 2007
Sweetheart Trifle