Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweetened Condensed Milk Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweetened Condensed Milk Substitute

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2011

      I love using this. It is a great substitute and so much cheaper than going to the store to get it. I use a lot of this during the Christmas season making my cookies and bars. I have this in a safe place so I know where it is at all times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      This is the one to use! I made it because I was in a pinch and didn't want to go to the store, but I will definately do it again...much less expensive than the canned version. Thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      Worked like a charm...Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      It definitely is super thin but the flavor is on point! Great job! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Went to make a key lime pie from the key limes abundance in my yard and was missing sweetened condensed milk. I was skeptical, however it worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      I used this recipe b/c the others I came across called for items I didn't have. I thought it turned out really well! So glad this substitute recipe was posted! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Thanks for saving the day. I had planned to make my own condensed milk but then realized I didn't have the ingredients for most of the recipes. This worked perfectly. I cooked it until it had a slightly caramel flavor which will add a great flavor to my Tres Leches Cake (Alton Brown). Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Thanks for posting. Like many others, I found myself making something that called for sweetened condensed milk only to find I didn't have any. This was quick, easy, and tastes great. Like andypandy, I made Iced Coffee with the Eagle Brand, and I think I would actually like it better with recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I agree with MommyMakes, this is far more superior in looks and taste to the one made with powdered milk. I used the 14 ounce can full fat evaporated milk with 1 7/8 cup white sugar, and I did cook it four or five minutes. Don't overcook as it will taste like brown sugar caramel flavour, which I did, but worked in my recipes just fine. leftovers in the fridge thickened upon cooling. I used this in Rice Pudding in a Rice Cooker and Iced Coffee Worked out cheaper than Eagle Brand and just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Used this in my recipe for brownie trifle, and then again when making iced coffee. Tastes just like the 'real' thing. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      This is as easy as can be and worked perfect... I didn't even wait for it to cool. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      A wonderful substitution! I never have powdered milk in the house, but I always have cans of evaporated milk. I used this in a recipe for five star squares and they turned out moister than ever! Thanks for an easy, delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      I really like that this recipe uses the evaporated milk. The others use powdered milk, something I don't usually have on hand. I only gave it four stars because even after following the directions it was still a bit grainy. However it tasted and worked just like the store bought. Going in my permanent collection. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I never knew you could make your own but I was wanting to make some Iced Coffee and didn't have a can of the real stuff and so I pulled up this recipe and it worked absolutely great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Thank you! I had an overwhelming need for some Iced Coffee and no car and no sweetened condensed milk! I tried one of the many powdered milk substitutes but it smelled and looked so gross I couldn't bear to add it to my delicious pitcher of coffee. I turned up this recipe in a desperate search for a substitute [i]not[/i] using powedered milk. I did have evaporated milk on hand so I whipped this up instead. It was far more appetizing and my coffee turned out delicious! I will use this recipe in the future, thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2014

      Needed this for a pie recipe, and it worked wonderfully! Great simple recipe for sweetened condensed milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      This what I've been searching for to make iced coffee with Splenda. The other recipes are really gross and I've thrown out at least three atempts before finding this recipe. It's not as thick but it's just as good without all that sugar. Thanks,thanks,and thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      Tastes good. Maybe cook to reduce and make it thicker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Great! Great! Great!!! I used this to make coffee creamer - which was wonderful!! http://www.sheknows.com/food-and-recipes/articles/951509/do-it-at-home-homemade-flavored-coffee-creamer-recipes

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      The taste was fine, but in my bar recipe it was a real flop. It Simply isn't thick enough, sorry:(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweetened Condensed Milk Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (502 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 870.1
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    13%
    Total Fat 12.7 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 48.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 179.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 183.5 g
    61%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 166.3 g
    665%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites