Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet Spicy Turnips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet Spicy Turnips

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2003

      This should be ~Spicy~ Sweet Turnips.I did pull it out of the oven in 25 minutes they melted in my mouth while lighting it up with heat! I do make my own pepper flakes This year I grew Habenaro peppers so It may be why so hot but I did cut down on them. I know turnips have heat of there own.Thanks!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2003

      Deliciously sweet! I scaled the recipe down to serve 1, and very much enjoyed this tasty addition to my meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Wonderful flavor. This turned out a little dry for me. Next time I will add more butter and brown sugar. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      I loved these. Would have given 5 stars, but the rest of the family weren't fans. It was a tad spicy (I think my turnips were on the small side), but I thought it was a nice change of pace for boring old turnips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      OMG - these were soooo good. I didn't have any crushed red peppers so added a little ground red pepper. I've just started eating turnips - ate them mashed with carrots. That was good, but this was awesome. Will definitely be making again. Just made this again. One of the turnips I bought wasn't any good, so cooked two carrots with the two turnips. Didn't believe this could get any better, but was amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      DD1 (5 years old) and DD2 (15 months old) liked these with plain organic yogurt with a a little organic cane sugar mixed in. I did not make ours spicy as I had no red pepper flakes on hand. I used the same purple topped turnips and they were a little spicy by themselves as Rita~ mentioned. I think I would like it better with rutabaga (not such a spicy base). I used extra organic cane sugar, light tasting extra virgin olive oil to be dairy free, sea salt, to taste, dash of Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix instead of allspice as that is what I generally substitute and had on hand, plus the ground ginger. Made for Healthy Choices Tag Game 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      I didn't use all the spices listed and I used more brown sugar. I loved these! Thank you so much. This will get me to eating turnips again. I usually boil, mash and add sugar, butter, s&p and it just seems so blah. I can't wait to make these for my mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      This was my first time making turnips after trying them at a restaurant. I did modify the recipe a bit, but stuck with the basic concept. I left out the red pepper flakes since I don't like spicy. I also added a chopped onion, a few chopped carrots and a couple of small sweet potatoes chopped up...and went a little heavy on the brown sugar and added a tbsp of olive oil. I really liked the turnips, but I also liked how all of the favors went together. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I really wanted this to be good and the recipe certainly isn't flawed, but I didn't care for the dish. I am going to blame it on just not being a big turnip fan, I guess. In my opinion, if you aren't very fond of turnips to begin with, this recipe isn't going to change your mind. Sorry. UPDATE: My husband really liked this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Ok...I tried this first off with the turnips and we just didn't care for it. It clearly wasen't the recipe's fault,wejust decided we are never going to like turnips. So..I tried the seasonings with a sweet potato and it was really delicious! I used the one Tbsp of brown sugar, 1 Tbsp butter and doubled all the seasonings, mixed all that together and tossed with one really large sliced sweet potato. Baked in the same amount of time and turned out great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Different & delicious! I loved the new flavors & thought they complemented the turnips beautifully. I served them alongside Meatloaf (Ground Turkey). Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I wasn't sure what to expect, but these were way better than what I expected. Yum!! I hate to admit that I ate most of the turnips by myself. I only had 3 smallish turnips that I wanted to use up, so I decreased the spices a tiny bit. I didn't use cooking spray. I used plain old white sugar, about a teaspoon (I'm not too fond of sweetness if it's not a dessert.) Wonderful dish, low in calories. I truly enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      What a delicious preparation for turnips! We are trying to limit eating starchy foods, and this is a nice substitute. I may have added a little more butter and brown sugar, but overall the recipe is perfect as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Absolutely delicious!!! I've just recently discovered turnips and this recipe is fantastic! I cut my turnips into cubes rather than wedges, but stuck to the rest of the recipe/instructions exactly. You will not be disappointed with this recipe! The kids loved it so much, they complained that I didn't make enough. Next time I'll double the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Good and turnips don't go together in my book but these were fantastic! I didn't use the allspice and probably had a bit more melted butter. Took longer to cook too, but can't wait to make them agin, super, super good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      These are delicious! I omitted the allspice (didn't have any) and the ground ginger (too lazy to find it). A perfect balance of sweet and spicy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I'm giving this recipe 5 stars even though the turnips were a bit bitter (I'm pretty sure I used too much allspice.) Thank you for a new, yummy idea for turnips, we love them in our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I do believe this is the first time I've eaten turnips. Got 6 small ones (18 oz) in my organic coop share, so wanted to find a really good recipe. The sweet spicy flavor of this glaze paired nicely with the bite of the turnip and we quite enjoyed them. Really like Vicki's idea of throwing some carrots in, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Made this dish for a traditional turkey dinner in April and it was fabulous. I love turnip anyway but my family is not so fussy on them but these got gobbled up real fast despite the fact that my timing got all messed up and they ended up seriously overcooked. Will do this one again for sure. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I thought these were outstanding!! I didn't peel the turnips because I thought that it really wouldn't make a difference but it does. The skin is a little more bitter than the middle flesh so follow this one exactly and peel the turnips. It is still excellent even with the bitter skin on though!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet Spicy Turnips

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 55.9
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    32%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 224.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites