9 Reviews

Wow, really tasty! After reading the other reviews I only added half the water, but still needed a tbs of corn flour to thicken it up. The result was extremely tasty. I used turkey leg instead of chicken breast, which gave it a lovely meaty flavour. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy December 18, 2008

A good easy midweek meal. I used a apple cider vinigar, crushed red chillies (1 teaspoon) and thickened at the end with cornflour/cornstarch and put in fresh vegetables (cauliflower, broccoli and carrot) and served over white rice. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to chop up raw chicken breast meat and seal it in the frypan before proceeding with the recipe. Thank you Michelle_My_Belle, made for ZAAR STARS TAG GAME.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 08, 2008

VERY NICE TASTING CHICKEN DISH, which I served over brown rice! I also used fresh veggies & steamed them before adding them (while still a little crisp) to the chicken & sauce for the last 5-8 minutes of cooking! Also cut back on the amount of water by almost half! Definitely a recipe I'll be making again! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 31, 2008

I used some left over roasted chicken and actually made this in the microwave, with a bit less of the liquid, stirring the sauce about every 30 seconds until it thickened and was heated to my liking. The flavor was great and this came together quite easily!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme August 16, 2008

We really enjoyed this dish! I thought it had wonderful flavor and the more red pepper flakes you add, the spicier it will be. I used about 1 t of the red pepper flakes and that suited our tastes well. I did just leave the lid off a little to thicken up the sauce, which worked great. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 July 17, 2008

We made this exactly as directed but without the vegetables and served it over white rice as suggested. As another reviewer stated, our palates did not know where to go with this dish, and the sauce did not thicken up so we would recommend using cornstarch as did another reviewers. It did have a wide range of flavors, but felt they did not compliment eachother. There were lots of ingredients, but none that made it spicy other than the crushed red pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu July 03, 2008

Wow, what a flavor combination, tasted very unique. I followed this nearly to a T, using low-sodium soy sauce for regular, and Herb Ox sodium-free beef seasoning for the beef granules. I used the 2 tsp jarred minced garlic, also, instead of fresh. Everything else was as written, and opted to use 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. I pan-sauteed the chicken pieces (2 large boneless, skinless breasts), drained on paper towels, then added to the sauce mixture, as indicated. I used 1/2 of a 12 oz. bag of frozen mixed brocolli, carrots, sugar snap peas, and water chestnuts. These veggies went really well with the sauce. Bf and I both thought the veggies got slightly overcooked though. My sauce didn't thicken up either, and I even added 1tbsp cornstarch/1tbsp cold water. I started off with 8 mins covered on med-high, 7 or so mins uncovered with the slurry mixed in. When the veggies were getting overcooked, but sauce didn't thicken, I just gave up and served. We had this with white rice. Bf said "pretty good and pretty spicy". I said "almost too spicy" and he said "no way!" Personally this was just on the verge of being too sweet/too spicy for me. We both did like this dish though, and bf's been looking forward to it since I showed him the recipe last night. :) Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game. Thanks for sharing Michelle!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage July 01, 2008

This is a outstanding recipe, full of flavor & easy to make. DH jokingly complained that his mouth was confused with all the flavors going on at once. I did have to leave out the apple juice because I didn't have any. I also added 1 tbsp of corn starch at the end to thicken up the sauce. Thanks Michelle for a fabulous recipe to add to my rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh June 30, 2008

Wow! This is packed full of great flavor. I mean GREAT! flavor. My sauce never did thicken up. I cooked it for at least an extra 15 minutes. But that was OK because we really enjoyed the sauce over the rice. Next time I plan to leave the lid off to help evaporate the liquid. I think it would be even more outstanding if the sauce was a bit more sticky. I prepared it as posted. My frozen veggies also had a few snap peas in it. I see no reason why you could not use fresh veggies if you wanted. Just add them a bit later in the process. I would have liked my broccoli to have been more firm and bright. So next time I'm using fresh. Thanks Michelle for posting this delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas June 20, 2008
Sweet & Spicy Chicken