Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet & Sour Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet & Sour Pork

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2013

      This sauce is excellent! The best I have found on this site.<br/>I was using pork tenderloin so most of the cooking was done with the browning. I reduced the cook time with the sauce to 10 minutes. I also reduced the sugar by a couple of tbsp. but that was strictly personal preference. Great dish. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      yummy! we used stew meat pork that had been trimmed of fat. we brought all the ingredients for the sauce to a boil, minus the vegetable oil and sherry and cornstarch, and then added the meat and let it simmer for like 45 minutes with the lid on and another 5 - 10 without the lid. then added a little cornstarch to thicken it up. it had a very nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      The sauce for this was amazing! We are vegetarian, so we replaced the pork with firm tofu. I also added some additional vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, portobello mushrooms, carrots). The dish was really pretty because of all of the colors. I cooked the tofu in the pan, set it aside and then started on the vegetables. I cooked the onion and carrots first, then added the broccoli and cauliflower, added a few tablespoons of water and put a lid on it to steam them for about 5 minutes (still a bit crisp). Then I took them out of the pan and put in the mushrooms and bell peppers. After those were soft I added the first set of vegetables back in, then the sauce and then the tofu and pineapple. I did a lot of the prep ahead of time (cut up the veg the night before and made the sauce a few hours ahead of time) so it came together very easily. And it's seriously delicious. I'm very glad there are leftovers. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      I'm giving this a full pull with five stars. I've made this several times, and love it. I sub yellow or some other color of pepper besides green, and deep-fry the pork so it's crispy. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Loved this pork. The sauce has great flavors and the meat so tender. It is a little time consuming but easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was great. I made as written, except used 1/2 green and 1/2 red pepper and didn't have any pineapple. We ate every single bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Great flavor and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Great Sweet & Sour Pork. I have made this type of Sweet & Sour many times, but this one is different with the addition of ketchup in the sauce. I added sliced celery and carrot for additional vegies and also needed to thicken a liitle more before serving. Thanks for sharing this recipe, we all enjoyed it and will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

    • on March 25, 2006

      This was very good. I think it could have been a bit thicker. Thanks we enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      This is so Yummy. I think this deserves more than 5 stars. I made this without the sherry (I didn't have any)and I used powdered ginger, otherwise I followed the directions. And it turned out great! This is a real winner with us. I think I might try this with chicken next time. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      I'm going to give it a five - not because I think so, but because my wife and kids - intermediate eaters all - like it so much. Myself, I would render a solid 4, but I don't know why yet. Still way better than my local Chinese restaurant (way above average, by the way.) Still too much or too little of something..........

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      This did take me more time than I think it should have. Most of it was spent trying to figure out how to chop up Ginger... :) I'd never peeled one or anything before... It was absolutely delicious. We made it with Fried Rice (#8594) OH soooooo so so good! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      This turned out great...it smelled wonderful cooking...I added some sliced carrots and pea pods...will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Lovely dish that I'll certainly prepare again, next time with shrimp or chicken (although the pork was great!). I omitted the Essence seasoning, and added two sliced carrots. I'll make this again for sure. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      Excellent dish!! I did add 2 sliced carrots because we like carrot in our sweet and sour and didn't simmer for the 45 minutes - cut that back to about 20/25 for crisper veggies. The taste is wonderful. I won't buy the packets in the grocery store again - this has so much more flavor. The ginger really stands out and the seasoning on the meat is great too. So glad we tried this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2004

      Luby, this is wonderful. I played around a little with amounts to feed a family of 7, I used about one and a half kilos of pork pieces, had been sent some of Emerils spice essence in a zaar food swap so used it straight from a packet (I used 2 packets) used one can of pineapple pieces and also one of crushed pineapple, the sauce is delicious and when it was served the kids all shouted..10 STARS! Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

      Oh Luby! this is so good, I had frinds over for dinner and wanted to make something like this, after I saw your photo I knew this would be good and it was, I followed the recipe to the word, I also made some shrimp to have with the sauce and my dinner was wonderful, everyone loved it, thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet & Sour Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 531.9
     
    Calories from Fat 194
    36%
    Total Fat 21.6 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 66.9 mg
    22%
    Sodium 742.9 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 46.7 g
    187%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    spice essence

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites