Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sweet & Sour Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet & Sour Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2012

      Terrific recipe! Tasty and the leftovers were even better! After reading the reviews, I substituted pineapple juice for 1/2 of the vinegar. When checking the meatballs though, I added the vinegar back to the mix. I also added a drained can of bamboo shoots because I had the extra liquid. We were very happy with the dish and it's a recipe I'll use again & again. The recipe makes tons and the meatballs are bathed in a lovely light colored sauce. It is a wee tart, but more than sweet enough to be pleasing. I served with Asian Inspired Rice #467378. Thank you for sharing the recipe ! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      This was good, but the vinegar was a lil "overwhelming". If I adjust the vinegar then it would be perfect! Thanks so much- made for ZWT6 Asia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      i'm not a huge sweet & sour person, but this was pretty good! had some homemade venison meatballs and some fresh pineapple i wanted to use up so i doubled the sauce recipe, omitting peppers and adding in onions and a little oj since i didn't have the pineapple juice. forgot to put in the margarine too but tasted good to me. 5yo DD said it's her "most favoritest dinner ever!" and requested the leftovers in her lunch for tomorrow! i think i'll make this into rice bowls, some w/ chicken and some w/ pork and freeze for quick lunches, thanks for a keeper that i'll be using often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Thumbs up on this one, it's a keeper. I think I'll play with this one and try cooked chicken breasts and maybe some other appropiate sauted veggies. This is gonna be fun to play with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      I took these to an office gathering and they were a huge hit. Everyone wanted the recipe! As a time saver, I used small frozen italian meatballs(defrosted). I also made my sauce the night before, got to work, put everything in my crockpot (including the green pepper), turned it on high and in an hour -great meatballs. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Really yummy, and brought back childhood recipes of a recipe I used to make from an old Betty Crocker cookbook. The sauce is a really good take on sweet and sour - with the worcestershire sauce and pepper adding a nice touch of savouriness. We all really enjoyed this. Thanks, Nimz, for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      This dish was sooo good and it was quick and easy to make. We loved the tangy sweet n sour sauce with the pineapple chunks and the tender meatballs. I served this over steamed jasmine rice. It was wonderful. I didn't have any green peppers so I subed with coarsley chopped sweet onion. Thanks so much for sharing ~Nimz~.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      These ended up tasting great but I had to make a few adjustments. The sauce had too much of a vinegary taste for me so added the juice from the pineapple and 2 tablespoons of plum sauce. Also, after 50 minutes at 300 the meatballs were still not cooked in the center. I finished by simmering on top of the stove for about 20 minutes. I was a little concerned because of the pork and wanted to be sure they were cooked. And I did brown them first. They ended up delicious but I think I might try them at a higher oven temp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      Great Sweet & Sour flavor-I made these a little larger (about golf ball size) to serve as my meat course but I"ll tell you these would be fabulous appetizers just 1" as the recipe says. One thing I thought was great - just add the green pepper 10 minutes before removing from the oven - I even did mine 5 minutes before-it allows the pepper to remain green and crisp I served hem with noodles, steamed green cabbage and Apple squash - great blend of flavores and a great meal thenks dcmac! — posted Sep 22, 2004 Addwd comments I forgot to mention that I used crushed pineapple. I think the chunks would look lovely but I didn't have any on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet & Sour Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.9
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    44%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 100.7 mg
    33%
    Sodium 501.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites