20 Reviews

I just made this tonight for me and my girlfriend, and it was nothing short of absolutely awesome. Made the meatballs from scratch and followed the recipe to the letter, except I added the two optional ingredients, green peppers and rosemary, and I also added crushed red pepper. The meatballs had plenty of zip & zing and the sauce was to die for--we will definitely be having this again, thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EBacon November 29, 2011

Loved this recipe! I used very lean beef and left out the rosemary and the meatballs were very good, I don't care for the texture of pre-made ones. I wasn't sure of the can size in ml for the pineapple so I went with 2 large cans of chunked pineapple and doubled the sauce ingredients (I had made a double batch of meat balls.) The added green peppers are a nice touch and add good color. It took a little more thickener to get the consistancy I wanted. I re-heated the sauce and meatballs together on the cooktop and then put in a chaffing dish for the party - they were a huge success. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW February 06, 2009

I doubled this sauce and used pre-made meatballs. added garlic and chopped onions. used apple cider vinegar. let it cook for hours in the crockpot and it turned out perfectly! kids loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pondfrogs January 08, 2009

I used the fine bread crumbs vs. bread crumbs made from home. Made the meat balls doughy and bland. So sad due to the fact they are for a party. Hope everyone is drinking enough not to care!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindi R. December 06, 2014

Made these last night. I used ground sirloin and followed the meatball recipe exactly. The sauce I added a bit of apple juice because my pineapples weren't in syrup and they weren't a large enough can. Regardless, they turned out FANTASTIC! Even my super picky 3 year old who refuses meat ate 1/2 of one. Next time I'll probably add some more seasonings to the meatballs but I will definitely be making these again!!! And REAL meatballs that are quick and easy AND taste great beat out frozen meatballs any day. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cincygirl22 July 20, 2012

Used pre-made meatballs and is was very good! Nice alternative to the grape jelly meatballs. Only problem I had is that the pineapple tidbits were only sold with juice and not syrup so I had to add sugar to the sauce to cut down on the acidity from the vinegar. Will definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LivesForHim January 02, 2010

Made these for a potluck and they were a definite hit! I admit I used pre-made meatballs... only wonder how much better they would have been by following the recipe! These even beat out another "orange BBQ" meatball that was also there. Very good!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Travis H. February 10, 2008

mm this was yummy, I doubled the sauce, and used more peppers and forgot the worchestershire

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kel-Cie T May 24, 2007

What with our blizzards here in Colorado and working long hours I hadn't been to the store. I had been dying to try this recipe. Last night when I got home I knew this would be the time to make this because it looked so easy. I used frozen meatballs as suggested by a few other reviewers. Great flavor, loved the sauce. Thanks for such an easy and tasty recipe Canadian Pixie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slickchick December 30, 2006
Sweet & Sour Meatballs